We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50 payed got 50 worth! It's a deal.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“50 payed got 50 worth! It's a deal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights in one of the single rooms, it was clean, bed was comfortable and thank goodness had an electric blanket. Shared shower and toilet facilities. Sitting room upstairs and downstairs. Ironing facilities in men's ablutions. I payed 50 dollars a night and got 50 dollars a night worth. Sean the owner is a very pleasant chap and offered friendly down to earth service. If you are on a budget, or travelling to the area and only really going to sleep and wash in your accommodation then the Vic is all you need. Overall I am happy given the price.

Room Tip: If you aren't prepared to share bathroom facilities you need to book an ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisey29226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahPilgrim, Owner at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, yes the room you stayed in - one of the "maids "rooms from when the hotel was built in 1868 - is very simple and a great way to stay if you are looking for just a bed and are happy with shared facilities, leaving more money for your food and drink while you explore Rutherglen.

Other rooms offer a variety of different bed set ups and some have their own bathrooms, a great way to experience an older style of travelling and hospitality.

We are very glad our product met your expectations for the price

Thanks again Sean and Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    7
    7
    11
See reviews for
13
36
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

6 lovely ladies travelled for WA , in search of fun and fitness and a lil bit of food and wine ! Sarah our hostess was welcoming and prepared us for the following day ! Bikes were organised and we set off to a divine lunch at Pickled Sisters !! And bubbles to taste at Cofields wine ! Of course our map reading led us up and down a garden path, or two ! Between two states and back again ! A ride home via another winery ! Then free champagne before our hearty pub meal ! A yummy cooked breakfast before a simply divine massage the next day set us on track for the continuing journey . All in all a lovely 2 days at the Victoria Hotel ! Thank you Sarah :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahPilgrim, Owner at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Girls

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your boobs, bikes and bubbles package, it certainly is a great way to spend time connecting with your girlfriends.

The 4 businesses involved in the package aim to provide a seamless weekend of food wine shopping and relaxation and we are so glad this hit the spot with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the east in the future

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

On the surface a lovely federation hotel in the main street of Ruthglen. However when we opened the door to the Stables Suite we were bitterly disappointed. The fittings and furniature were old and tired. Although the room had obviously been cleaned, the shabby and old decor made it feel dirty. The attached photos tell the story.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank laguna27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsBrown1868, Owner at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Laguna

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay in the stables suite. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and we will keep your comments in mind as we continue the renovation works on the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I first stayed here in 1998 or 1999 and it was just a tumble-down country pub back then. Sean and Sarah took it over about 6 years ago and have been restoring and renovating ever since. Although there's still a long way to go, they have made terrific progress. It is now a very cosy and charming place to stay.

I didn't book one of the cycle packages but stayed a couple of nights and did my own thing. They were all very friendly and welcoming to cyclists. When I arrived (by bike), I was invited to wheel my bike through the front bar and dining room to the storage shed behind the pub? Where else does that happen?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsBrown1868, Owner at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear John
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We cater as well as we can for the cycling market which is ever growing with the great facility of the Murray to the Mountains rail trail nearby.
I am glad you enjoyed the renovations this is certainly an ongoing process in such an old building but it is great to see the results, We look forward to welcoming you again on your next cycling tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have just returned from a girls weekend in Rutherglen. Three of my best friends and I stayed at The Victoria Hotel - the Boobs, Bikes and Bubbles package.
The package was great value:
2 nights accommodation in a cosy hotel room with shared bathroom - breakfast included
2 course dinner at the hotel bistro
A flight of bubbles at Cofield's winery followed by lunch at The Pickled Sister
$30 gift voucher at Passion Flora
A B,B,B t-shirt
A 30min massage
$10 donated to breast cancer research.

After checking in and dinner at the bistro we rented a DVD from the IGA across the road and watched our chick flick in the guest lounge.
The next day after breaky we took off on our bike ride. You can rent a bike and helmet from the Tourist Info Centre. The rail trail is easy going (I haven't ridden a bike for many years) and the scenery is very peaceful, passing vineyards and lots of newly born lambs.
Our flight of Cofield's champagne and lunch at Pickled Sisters was to die for and the service extremely friendly. In fact everyone was very friendly and wanting to chat to us to find out about our bright pink t-shirts.
The icing on the cake was the massage from Petra.
We would like to thank Sarah and her staff at The Vic for a memorable weekend. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevorsttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsBrown1868, Owner at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Girls

We are glad you enjoyed your weekend away on our Boobs Bikes and Bubbles package. We certainly find girls really enjoying all the inclusions, especially the massages! With such approachable cycling Rutherglen is a great place to try an active weekend, with plenty of fine food and wine and a little retail therapy thrown in!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Victoria Hotel

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a fantastic weekend we had at the Victoria Hotel. Sarah and her staff were wonderful. The weekend is filled with great food and experiences. The hotel is very quirky, don't expect 5 star but expect country warmth! The chef is fantastic and the local wines were excellent.
The bike ride was very easy, so even if you are not a bike rider you can cope.
Lunch at Pickled Sisters was also great....we were met by the lovely Bec and tried their sparkling wines before lunch and then were ready for the gentle ride home.
Also included in the package is a tee shirt, $30 gift voucher at one of the local shops and a 30 minute remedial massage at the hotel.
If you are looking for a great value relaxing girls weekend...this is the one.
Well done Sarah & co....we'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was part of the first cycling package specifically for guys, to complement the popular "Booze Bikes and Bubbles" package for the girls. I thought that the package Sarah put together for us was tremendous, and really good value.

The deal included dinner (excellent local rib-eye steak), accommodation, breakfasts, lunch at Pickled Sisters at Cofield, Beechworh Beer tastings, shopping vouchers etc etc etc. We felt very well looked after indeed. Add a range of picturesque ride routes to suit any level of fitness, together with the opportunity to taste some of the best wine in the country and you have pretty much the perfect boys' weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adie_Gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.4 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
#7 of 12 in Rutherglen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Poacher's Paradise Motel
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#4 of 12 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 90 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage listed building has changed little over the past 140 years and is currently being renovated to reflect its former grandeur. Think lofty ceilings, open fireplaces, gracious verandas, beautiful stained glass windows and a traditional Australian front bar with tap and boutique beers and an impressive list of wines. We offer accommodation, an award winning cycle concierge service and quality pub dining as well as more upmarket dining offer in the newly renovated dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing