We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellence in Rutherglen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Village Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 11, 2013

An excellent hotel for exploring the Rutherglen region and the wineries. The room was spacious and comfortable - the spa was an added bonus just great for relaxing after a hard days wine tasting. The hotel is situated at the quiet end of town but is still within walking distance of pubs, cafes and a winery. If desired you can also order a hot breakfast delivered to your room. The staff were friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend this little motel and will definately stay there again on the next visit to Rutherglen

Room Tip: All rooms face onto garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank de57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for recommending our motel and your wonderful review. The suite and spa suite are by far our most popular rooms with king size beds and the extra space. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Rutherglen. Jo & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 181 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

A good base for exploring Rutherglen and it's fantastic wineries and eateries. We wanted to show family from the UK a bit of Victoria, so the motel was the perfect spot to stay to explore Rutherglen. At the end of town it's quiet, the rooms were spacious and well set up. All the rooms open to the pool and gardens, which was a highlight of our stay. We had a young baby with us, so the venue was perfect for sitting outside, sipping wine, eating cheese and relaxing to the max!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equal, since they all open onto the garden and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks Lynn for your kind review. March is a great time of the year to stay at the motel and enjoy our spacious gardens and heated pool, followed by cool crisp nights to help you sleep. We are glad you and your friends had a relaxing time and we look forwards to seeing you should you visit our region again. Jo & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are going to taste wine in this area this motel is a very good value stop. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The people are very helpful and welcoming. It is in a very convenient location, although a few trucks go past it is only a few.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

The friendly winery staff was what first attracted us to move to Rutherglen, followed by the sunny weather. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our motel and thank you for your review. Kind regards Jo & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

En route to Melbourne and detoured in to Rutherglen to see some of the famous wineries where we stopped in at this little 60's style motel looking for accommodation. We were warmly welcomed by the family who manage and run the motel and efficiently checked in with some good tips about local restaurants. The room was really comfortable and scrupulously clean with a super quiet and efficient air conditioner. Had a lovely dinner with local wines at a beautiful restaurant just across the road and retired very content to our appointed lodgings for a peaceful night. Breakfast was just great with freshly cooked and hot dishes delivered right to our door. We really enjoyed the experience and will definitely be back again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks Paul for your wonderful review.

From what we can work out the motel was built in 1988 and we did a major refurbishment in 2010 and have continued to update an aspect of the motel each year since then.

Kind Regards Jo & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We thought the room was bigger, had better furniture and equipment than most motels we've been to in Australia. Motel grounds are well kept and the pool, while small, was very clean and seating was clean and comfy. The location, across the road from a great restaurant and just a short walk to town, is probably the greatest advantage.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redrosehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We take pride in keeping our rooms modern, clean and spacious and are pleased that you enjoyed our attention to detail. We have some exciting news to come about our pool, but all will be revealed in May. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had 2 nights staying here and found the owners really wonderful - nothing was too much trouble. When the airconditioner in our room started to play up they moved us into another room straightaway. Both rooms were scrupulously clean. The beds in both rooms were firm but very comfortable to sleep on and we had no issues with noise from the road keeping us awake.

The motel is easy walking distance to restaurants and pubs in Rutherglen. The rooms are well stocked with plates and utensils if you decide to bring dinner back to the room.

We would certainly stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbo_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for your kind review Rob and we are pleased to say that after resolving the problem with the a/c, we had the technician pressure clean and service all the units in the motel. We are glad you enjoyed our attention to detail and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Jo & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Room was very well presented and clean. Good value and Eco friendly. Friendly and helpful service makes this somewhere we will recommend and visit again. Thank you for doing everything to make our stay comfortable. Jodie Dean

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you Jodie for appreciating our environmental initiatives and our quest to make every guests stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again soon, Jo & Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.1 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Poacher's Paradise Motel
#4 of 6 in Rutherglen
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rutherglen Motor Inn
Rutherglen Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
0.3 mi away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#6 of 6 in Rutherglen
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Village Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Village Motor Inn

Address: 217 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Price Range: $109 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wine Village Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Chain Wine Village Motor Inn is your ideal accommodation venue to enjoy Rutherglen's famous wineries and surrounding areas like Corowa, Chiltern, Beechworth and Yackandandah. Relax in one of our 16 spacious ground floor rooms, by the salt water pool or have a BBQ in the gardens. We have several different room configurations to meet your needs which include a spa suite, disabled and family rooms. Indulge in the friendly country hospitality by visiting some of Rutherglen's 25 wineries, Olive groves and exquisite restaurants. We are conveniently located opposite Tuileries Restaurant and Rutherglen Estate Cellar door. A short stroll will take you to boutique shops, award winning Parkers Pies and many more restaurants & cafes.Enjoy facilities like quiet rooms facing the gardens, room service breakfast, Foxtel, LCD HD TV's,DVD Players, Mini-bar, Free Wifi & Tesla Car Chargers. Corporate travellers are well catered for and personalised tours can be arranged to suit your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Wine Village Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing