We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“....a rare find which takes you back to earlier times in the nicest way....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wine Village Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 7, 2013

En route to Melbourne and detoured in to Rutherglen to see some of the famous wineries where we stopped in at this little 60's style motel looking for accommodation. We were warmly welcomed by the family who manage and run the motel and efficiently checked in with some good tips about local restaurants. The room was really comfortable and scrupulously clean with a super quiet and efficient air conditioner. Had a lovely dinner with local wines at a beautiful restaurant just across the road and retired very content to our appointed lodgings for a peaceful night. Breakfast was just great with freshly cooked and hot dishes delivered right to our door. We really enjoyed the experience and will definitely be back again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks Paul for your wonderful review.

From what we can work out the motel was built in 1988 and we did a major refurbishment in 2010 and have continued to update an aspect of the motel each year since then.

Kind Regards Jo & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 188 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We thought the room was bigger, had better furniture and equipment than most motels we've been to in Australia. Motel grounds are well kept and the pool, while small, was very clean and seating was clean and comfy. The location, across the road from a great restaurant and just a short walk to town, is probably the greatest advantage.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redrosehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We take pride in keeping our rooms modern, clean and spacious and are pleased that you enjoyed our attention to detail. We have some exciting news to come about our pool, but all will be revealed in May. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had 2 nights staying here and found the owners really wonderful - nothing was too much trouble. When the airconditioner in our room started to play up they moved us into another room straightaway. Both rooms were scrupulously clean. The beds in both rooms were firm but very comfortable to sleep on and we had no issues with noise from the road keeping us awake.

The motel is easy walking distance to restaurants and pubs in Rutherglen. The rooms are well stocked with plates and utensils if you decide to bring dinner back to the room.

We would certainly stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbo_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for your kind review Rob and we are pleased to say that after resolving the problem with the a/c, we had the technician pressure clean and service all the units in the motel. We are glad you enjoyed our attention to detail and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Jo & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Room was very well presented and clean. Good value and Eco friendly. Friendly and helpful service makes this somewhere we will recommend and visit again. Thank you for doing everything to make our stay comfortable. Jodie Dean

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you Jodie for appreciating our environmental initiatives and our quest to make every guests stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again soon, Jo & Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed her a couple of years ago and had no desire to stay anyplace else this trip. The motel grounds and rooms are well kept and the owners are welcoming and helpful. You are literally across the street from one Rutherglen winery cellar door and restaurant, and it's a short walk into town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your repeat business and we really appreciate your positive review. At the start of January came the hot weather and we are working hard to ensure the gardens and grounds are kept looking fresh and alive. Our new 8mt umbrella in the BBQ area, shady trees and the pool provided a welcome relief for guests during these hot few days. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit, Jo and Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Wine Village Motor Inn is well located in Rutherglen, with the pubs and restaurants being a short walk away. The motel was clean and our room was quite spacious. The rates were very reasonable. The owners were enthusiastic and helpful, providing plenty of helpful tourist information.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our quest to provide clean, comfortable accommodation. Thank you for your review, Jo & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Wine Village Motel in order to tour local areas and visit the many wineries in the area.

Reception was brief but ok as the hosts were having a social afternoon with friends on lawn of property, no problems with that, everybody has to have time out. The motel is very well maintained, good grounds with seating and nice pool.

The rooms are a a little larger than normal 3.5 star motel rooms, well furnished, bed ok, good bathroom, nice LCD TV. All in good order, the owners have done a very good job. Very 'green' with water savings everywhere, even down to the shower water, but one expects that these days.

The motel is a bit noisy at night with truck traffic on Main St/Murray Valley Hwy, I think due to a Logistics Depot out of town, maybe some double glazing on windows would help.
Breakfast was good, although I had to go and purchase some gluten free bread for myself for breakfast, even though I asked for some on bookings form, a little peeved at that.

Motel is well situated to Tulleries Cafe, 100 metres away and to the delightful town with its Hotels providing good bistro dining, we tried all of them. Many wineries within 10 mins to 30 mins drive.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Reserve an executive room as it has a sofa to sit on. No 'quiet rooms' as motel has highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Some of the most enjoyable parts of running a 24 hour 7 day a week motel as a husband and wife team is being able to catch up with guests to hear about their day, as we did with you and many of our guests during their stay with us. We try to be generous with our time with all guests and we are sorry if we dropped the ball on this occasion.

We are lucky that our property is one of the few in Rutherglen that is set well back from the street and with the inclusion of our new fence that was being built during your stay we hope to further reduce this noise and hope to one day implement your suggestion.

We’ll keep you posted on some of your other suggestions and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rutherglen. Kind Regards Jo & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherglen
0.1 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
183 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
0 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Poacher's Paradise Motel
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#4 of 6 in Rutherglen
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rutherglen Motor Inn
Rutherglen Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Rutherglen
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Village Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Village Motor Inn

Address: 217 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Price Range: $102 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wine Village Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wine Village Motor Inn is your ideal accommodation venue to enjoy Rutherglen's famous wineries. Relax in one of our 16 spacious ground floor rooms, by the salt water pool or have a BBQ in the gardens. We have several different room configurations to meet your needs which include a spa suite, disabled and family rooms. Indulge in the friendly country hospitality by visiting some of Rutherglen's 25 wineries, Olive groves and exquisite restaurants. We are conveniently located opposite Tuileries Restaurant and Rutherglen Estate Cellar door. A short stroll will take you to boutique shops, award winning Parkers Pies and many more restaurants & cafes.Enjoy facilities like quiet rooms facing the gardens, room service breakfast, Foxtel, LCD HD TV's,DVD Players, Mini-bar, Free Wifi & Tesla Car Chargers. Corporate travellers are well catered for and personalised tours can be arranged to suit your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wine Village Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing