We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood.”
Review of Fed-Up Fish Cafe - CLOSED

Fed-Up Fish Cafe
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great seafood.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Terrible looking place from the inside, looks like it has not had a change since the eighties.
But then surprisingly your hit with fantastic seafood.
Amazing garlic prawns and soft shell crab.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
You do have to wait patiently for the specials board to be displayed on your table as they carry a blackboard from table to table and we did have to wait before we where displayed and we could place our order.
Great spot, great food.
Place needs some work though, with design and decor.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    14
    3
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
“Old Vics Fish & Chips is better”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We tried Old Vics Fish and Chips on Broad St in Downtown Victoria BC and it the fish was much better than at Barbs. I think Barbs is to hyped up. Not to mention the food was very spendy and we had to wait 20 minutes or more to get it, then fight for a table to sit and eat. And this was on a weekday.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncurry, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

While looking for something close to where we were staying we passed the cafe a couple of times
nothing really invited us in but it was close so ue poped in and it was a great surprise the staff were very friendly and obliging as we did not have a booking and the food was excellent garlic prawns to die for very nice poched salmon we will return on our next visit to Rosebud it would be wise to book as it was packed

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 377Carollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
“worst service ever!”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We tried this restraurant for first time and were really disappointed. Main course took 1 hour and 45 mins after we arrived.. And our waiter was so RUDE. Fast food or a cheap restaurant can do better service and no hospitality at all! He threw our plates down on the table, didn't provide us with cutlery and didn't responsd to us when we asked for something: water, cutlery, etc. Really disappointed and shocked!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank echidna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Awesome location, good value and food”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Fisherman's Wharf is a have to do when in Victoria, the houses are so cool.

After reading mixed reviews I had to try Barbs, we were early so there was no line up.
The haddock fish and chips were $12.95 but easily fed two of us.
They were well cooked, nice big pieces with not too much batter.
The chips were . . well . . .probably McCains, no big deal really
Coleslaw was homemade and tasty.

Great location, we will go back

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldtiredandretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fed-Up Fish Cafe also viewed

Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
 
Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing