We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprising gourmet in a charming mountain town..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Mountain city was a pleasant surpise, and Prospect Hill was the icing on the cake! Very Charmimg and updated Victorian B & b with a gorgeous English style garden with
great mountain views. We especially enjoyed our breakfast of Oatmeal pancakes with
homemade Cinnamon Syrup, a fresh fruit cup served in a punch cup. (we love unique!)...
The reason we enjoy Bed & Breakfasts is for (hopefully) a great breakfast, and
Prospect hill met and exceeded our expectations! Bravo to the couple!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Prospect Hill B&B in Mountain City and it was wonderful. We had stand in caretakers, Jim and Susan. They provided a great meal and clean room. Also were a pleasure to sit and chat with. They gave us great info on the area as well as an easy way to get to and from Bristol Motor Speedway.

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We've stayed at several B&B's, but this was our first stay at Prospect Hill. We don't think it will be our last. Although the exterior was going through a renovation, it was not hard at all to see the beauty of both the house itself and the gardens. Inside, a warm welcome, a beautiful room and a delicious breakfast combined to make our 25th anniversary getaway a wonderful experience. Because the owners were away at a seminar, we were privileged to meet interim innkeepers, Jim and Susan. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience with them. The only thing that would have improved our stay is if we had been able to extend it! Thanks for an incredible experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PastorMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I just spent two days in Mountain City. This was out first visit and we loved the area. Prospect Hill is a lovely inn, and the innkeepers were wonderful! They went out of their way to make our stay relaxing. I have a gluten allergy, and they made sure that I had gluten free pancakes and muffins for breakfast so that I could experience the same incredible breakfast that everyone else enjoyed. Words can not express my gratitude. We stayed in Room #4 and thoroughly enjoyed the jetted tub and amazing rain shower.

At first you think you are in the middle of no where but soon realize you are in the middle of everything. The inn was just 20-25 min from everything. We were able to spend a day exploring Boone, NC. We then rode the Virginia Creeper the next day, and watched the sun set over Watauga Lake. The whole area I breath taking. I highly recommend
Prospect Hill Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumillee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first-ever stay in a B&B, and it won't be the last. Everything was excellent at Prospect Hill. The inn is beautiful, our room immaculate, food was excellent and the innkeepers were helpful and accommodating. Robert and Judy went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. The sheets were so comfortable that I ordered two sets, thanks to a recommendation from Judy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GirlFriendTN, Owner at Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We hope you are enjoying your Comphy brand sheets at home. Know that IF you need another set you can buy them from the Comphy website by mentioning our inn by name. Or, contact us directly and we will order them for you. They have a great "hand" and have been described as "a heavenly sleep." We currently use them on our king bed in Mountain Romance Room #1 so anyone else interested may try them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My fiancé and I was heading back home from North Carolina and we had reservations to stay here. Once we got there, it was ok...nothing special. When the inn keeper asked us if we had anything planned for activities, we told him that we would like to check out the local wineries and the look that we got from him was not expected. He then said that today probably wouldn't be a good day because they close early around here but Ill talk to you about that more in the morning for breakfast. I was kind of in shock because I felt like he was disappointed in us for wanting to go to a winery and the look and body language that we got sounded like he was going to talk to us like a parent. Right off the bat after that, we felt uncomfortable there. It was super quiet. You felt like you had to tip-toe through the house because you would be making too much noise. You couldn't have a conversation without the whole house hearing.

We had done research on the area on activities to do before we made reservations, and when we asked the inn keeper where some these locations were at, almost every single thing that we wanted to do was at least 1 to 2 hour drive. We didn't want to do that because we had just drove 6 hours from North Carolina and we was only staying 2 nights and then we was heading back home which was another 10 hour drive. So, now we are thinking of stuff on the fly. Mountain City did just so happen to be having fireworks that night, so we went to the park where people were gathering. We asked the local cops and numerous people that lived in the area on things to do...Their responses was a chuckle. Everyone of them said that this town has absolutely nothing to do. Nothing to see, nowhere to go, nothing. They told us that if we wanted to drive a little bit, there was plenty but, every location that they told us was at least 2 hour drive. Now we are like oh well, might as well just relax and watch fireworks tonight and think of something to do tomorrow. So, we went to the local restaurant located on the main street and it was some GOOD food. While we was there, we was asking people there why the wineries closed so early because our wineries around where we live usually stay open till atleast 8 or 9 during the week and this was on a Saturday evening. We was then informed that it was a dry county! We are not big drinkers but we do like to have a few drinks here and there and be able to mingle with people.

So, if your an active person or couple, this is probably not the place to go. Nothing at all to do, its a dry county and your looking at a few hour drive to any attractions...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GirlFriendTN, Owner at Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

We are sorry our inn's location did not meet this couple's expectations. Not every B&B is right for every guest. We do our best to describe our area and our inn so guests will have accurate information before choosing us for their romantic and relaxing mountain getaway.
Our top-of-the-home-page slide show demonstrates in photos things to do while visiting, both active (such as fishing and hiking) or restful, such as enjoying rockers on the front porch. We have posted 12 website pages organized by topic and centered on activities in the area. Each of them is no more than 1 hour 25 min. away--the farthest being part of a day long loop trips we consider the "best of the best" (or a good intro if you are new to the area). These day trips cover nearby Tennessee, North Carolina and Virginia.
We work to learn what guests enjoy so we can offer targeted what-to-do suggestions based on their interests as well as the weather, road issues, crowds, and seasonality (such as "where to find the best fall leaves this week"). Breakfast conversation often involves guests swapping info on places they have visited as well.
These guests were able to enjoy one of our town's biggest annual celebration-- July 4th --with free fireworks viewed from our porch and lawn as well as our once-a-year snack party. We regret they missed other interesting and mostly outdoors-oriented activities available in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this b and b for a night on our way to Memphis. Although it was a little off of our path (in the Cherokee National Forest area just over the border of Virginia and not far from North Carolina), I was excited to get to know the mountain-ringed Mountain City from what I had read about its beauty. After an extremely long day of driving and bands of rain, I called and let the hosts know and that we were trying to get to the Tributary restaurant before it closed. They said not to worry and the next thing you know, we were at the restaurant which was held open because they owners called ahead to let them know we were coming!

When we got to the b and b, albeit on the late side, the hosts still gave us a tour of the house and beautiful property. We were not disappointed in our stay! The scenery was magnificent and the stay was delightful. We enjoyed a hearty, tasty breakfast with good conversation. The views from the house and the roads were breathtaking for us 'city folk.' It was difficult to move onto our next destination.

If we get back that way next summer, I will be contacting Prospect Hill once again, excitingly awaiting our return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with its own little balcony- the back/side, and a little more isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulalois99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain City
18.5 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.8 mi away
Americourt Hotel Mountain City
Americourt Hotel Mountain City
#1 of 2 in Mountain City
72 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lodges at RedTail Mountain
Lodges at RedTail Mountain
#1 of 2 in Mountain City
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 801 W. Main Street/Highway 67, Mountain City, TN 37683-1219
Location: United States > Tennessee > Mountain City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain City
Price Range: $171 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1889 country mansion has been turned into a luxurious, private, comfortable and relaxed 5-room B&B. Mountain views. Fire flies. Sunsets. Places to relax; amenities to match the mood: whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, comfortable king or queen beds, tasty full breakfasts and lots of extras such as robes, candles and free snacks. Stay connected (free wifi & TV). Get away from the rat race! Featured today: Fresh air, peace, quiet. Getaway now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing