We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian meal in a very pleasant and homey settings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cucina Italian Kitchen

La Cucina Italian Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Cucina is a real Italian homey kitchen offering 28 seats. The dining room is situated inside of the kitchen. We cook entirely from scratch. Always ready to experiment new recipies, but strongly influenced by the traditional cuisine of Milan and Lombardy. From our passion for the art of eating well and from our family to yours, we hope you enjoy these delicious recipies from our Italian timeless tradition.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Italian meal in a very pleasant and homey settings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Chefs kitchen setting with comfy table settings. I had pasta and homemade sweet Italian sausage very good. My wife has ravioli stuffed with porcini mushrooms and truffle, super good. His was our first time and look forward to returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    14
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“I'm moving to Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

If real Italian is like the food at La Cucina, my husband and I will be on the next plane!

We were recommended this restaurant by the owners of a nearby winery (Watauga Lake Winery, also great), and we were completely blown away. You don't have to be a food connoisseur to know that Matteo is incredibly talented and is an artist in more than one way (his photography can be seen in the restaurant). I don't know what Mountain City, Tennessee did to deserve this amazing place, but availability is going to become scarce as they celebrate their first anniversary. Our only regret is that we didn't eat here earlier in our vacation week - we would have come back again! Southern Living and Bon Appetit would be wise to send their harshest critic. They will be welcomed by the sweetest Southern hospitality combined with simple, high quality ingredients that combine to make this little gem of the Tennessee High Country.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian is the word for this restraunt!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have been ther over 10 times and have tried every thing they have to offer. all is fresh and prepared with love!!
Matteo and Gracie are very welcoming of every one that comes in the door, a real touch of Italy.
A must go, more then once.
Jeff Albanese

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_NCPisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great little italian bistro, with VERY good food, hearty portions & reasonable prices! We had the caprese salad & lasange and it was wonderful. Even better they didn't care we were still in our hiking clothes!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Btrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“REAL Italian Dining in the Tennessee Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I were told by a friend that her Italian father and she had eaten in a small rural Tennessee restaurant that her father said was "truly authentic Italian food." We decided to try it when we were in that part of the country this last week and were amazed. The owner and chef, Matteo Torri, prepares every dish meticulously and the taste is incredible. We enjoyed a Saturday lunch there, our next to last day on vacation, and even returned the next day for Sunday lunch. Absolutely superb - both times ordering different items at each visit!! We are already making plans to return in the months ahead even though it is several hours from our home. Be sure to call for reservations as it is a small, comfortable, intimate, immaculately clean "Italian Kitchen" with meals that are beyond compare! If you enjoy Italian food that you know is authentic, this is a must dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to La Cucina Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing