We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great challenging course!!”

Red Tail Mountain Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: RedTail Mountain is located just a quick 20 minute drive from Boone North Carolina on 421N. Designed by Dan and Ellis Maples RedTail Mountain has some of the Finest Mountain golf in the High Country. Offering a challenge to all level of golfers with over 400 feet in elevation change you will discover great mountain vistas and abundant wildlife . The Lodges at RedTail Mountain offer one, two or three bedroom condos that will satisfy the most discriminating traveler. For your dining pleasure enjoy great food using the finest and freshest organic ingredients at either of our restaurants , The Hub for lighter fare, and Vistas for a more upscale dining experience. (see restaurant hours). Both venues offer excellent service and unparalleled views.
West Jefferson, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great challenging course!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Excellent well cared for course, difficulty is great and the views amazing!!! I would recommend anyone to try it at least once, because more than likely you will return again and again and again! Very Friendly staff

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LifesATripSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Alfred, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“IMMACULATE COURSE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Seeing the great condition of this layout proves to me that the members who brag about Redtail are NOT exagerating!" Best kept secret in Tennessee"
I'll be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

What a great place!! My wife and I spent the weekend at Red Tail Resort. The service and accomodations were outstanding. The rooms were spacious with granite countertops in the kitchen overlooking the golf course. WHAT A VIEW. The staff was courteous and freindly and treated us with up most respect. As for the restaurant, the food was excellent and priced reasonably. First time playing golf in the mountains. Very challenging but will do it again. Heard from the staff that they are expanding the ammenities to be more kid friendly.I would recommend this place and come back again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B, Manager at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, the food and golf. We are busy working on projects this winter including an indoor pool, tennis courts and rebuilding all the bunkers on the course. Look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Must firstly say that the food is extremely good and good value.The surroundings are great and the views beautiful.
Now though have to add a note:
Ordered Gin and Tonics as an aperitif .........tasted odd and asked what was in it......was told definitely G&T. Eventually manager came over and said...sorry didn't have tonic so put in soda!
Obviously hoped we would not notice.

Then went forSunday Brunch..........forgot to put our booking in so didn't get a table...however sat outside and still greatly enjoyed it as food really good and again great value.

Have now learnt that because of the religious backlash and the reduction in numbers for Sunday Brunch you
have stopped serving cocktails and wine on a Sunday. So sorry to see that they have given in to the religious bigots in Mountain City and stopped serving alcohol .

We can only hope that they shape up and stand up for themselves and continue to be a good restaurant , good bar and continue to be a great place to visit in Mountain City.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmhghr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B, Manager at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed. Not sure where you gathered your info but there is a misunderstanding and some statements are wrong!

Concerning the statement of "religious backlash and the reduction in numbers for Sunday Brunch you have stopped serving cocktails and wine on a Sunday. So sorry to see that they have given in to the religious bigots in Mountain City and stopped serving alcohol."
There has been NO RELIGIOUS BACKLASH, NO reduction in numbers and I don't understand the statement of giving in to religious bigots. Our Sunday brunch is very popular, continues to grow and is supported by the whole community ... church goers and non church goers alike. They are all welcome!

"We can only hope that they shape up and stand up for themselves and continue to be a good restaurant , good bar and continue to be a great place to visit in Mountain City". There is also some wrong information here! We are fully licensed and permitted by the state to serve alcohol in fact the only place in our county that has a full license! BUT WE ARE NOT A BAR. We are a good restaurant that serves alcohol. No one has told us what to do. We applied to the state and got the license. We put up the $10,000 bond with the state for the privilege and we decide how we will use it in our restaurant.

You can get alcohol on Sunday after 12:00 (thats the law)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountain golf and more at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Scheduled a tee time for 4 on a friday. Arrived and was treated with utmost respect. Great deal on-line. Course is spectacular with more tough but fair holes to mention. Views are jawdropping. Greens are perfect, roll true, and are a joy to putt on. As Arnold once said, I'll be back. New restaurant in clubhouse named Vistas looked good but underused by the public. Try it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank edwinandrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B, Manager at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the course! Next season you will see the improvements of the NEW bunkers! We are busy this winter digging them out and rebuilding them. You will also see other improvements when we reopen in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Tail Mountain Golf Club also viewed

Been to Red Tail Mountain Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing