We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High rough and narrow fairways”

Red Tail Mountain Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: RedTail Mountain is located just a quick 20 minute drive from Boone North Carolina on 421N. Designed by Dan and Ellis Maples RedTail Mountain has some of the Finest Mountain golf in the High Country. Offering a challenge to all level of golfers with over 400 feet in elevation change you will discover great mountain vistas and abundant wildlife . The Lodges at RedTail Mountain offer one, two or three bedroom condos that will satisfy the most discriminating traveler. For your dining pleasure enjoy great food using the finest and freshest organic ingredients at either of our restaurants , The Hub for lighter fare, and Vistas for a more upscale dining experience. (see restaurant hours). Both venues offer excellent service and unparalleled views.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High rough and narrow fairways”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are going to play red tail golf course, you better bring a lot of golf balls. I have played this course for 20 years and I have never witnessed the rough so high. The fairways are very narrow and always has clumps of grass lying everywhere. Overall, the facilities are really nice. As for the golf course, I would suggest you call and find out if the course had been mowed, espically the rough. If it has, come on and play, you will enjoy yourself. But if the course has not been mowed, I would suggest you not waste your money or time. Why pay for something you are not going to enjoy?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hitemhatd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    15
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best views, food, staff, and golf in the area!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Redtail is the best course in the area that I have played hands down. The greens are immaculate and every hole is stunning. The only downfall of the course is the bunkers which I am happy to hear are being replaced. The staff at the course is very friendly and knowledgeable. The lunch I had at the new restaurant was absolutely delicious! I would definitely eat there again. Redtail Mountain is defiantly a course I would recommend to everybody I know! Play this course!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfer2297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B, Manager at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and good words about RedTail. Glad you like the course. We will be working to refurbish all the bunkers like the one you see on hole one with the white sand. There are some other exciting things coming to RedTail soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tops in the High Country”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautiful and challenging with a staff second to none. I have never felt more welcomed, and the food is exquisite. Best value around! I will be back soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wlw1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Golf Course with Mountains Views and Huge Elevation Drops!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I enjoyed a round of golf with brothers and father over Fathers day weekend and then an incredible brunch at the new Vistas Restaurant. New ownership has put this course on notice to be one of the best in the Boone/Blowing Rock/Mountain City area. The course has always been challenging and fun but with new ownership comes more love and they have already started healing this golf course. It looks like new white sand which is evident on the first hole will eventually replace the dirt like clay sand on the remainder of the course. Now that the clubhouse has a fully functional bar/restaurant it will be a pleasure to enjoy the 19th hole at this incredibly scenic golf course. Only a short drive from Boone/NC/Appalachian State Univ. Look forward to many more rounds of golf at this very affordable mountain golf course!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank camist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mountain Golf at its Best”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

You will not forget your experience at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club. It is mountain golf at its best. I played there today for the fourth or fifth time in the past two years. Starts off nice and easy, but changes dramatically at hole No. 5. (Pray that the pin is not on the ridge in the green.) From there to No. 15, it is one dramatic test after another. No. 14 is the best, though not the hardest. New management is improving the facilities. Take the time to go there. You will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Tail Mountain Golf Club also viewed

Been to Red Tail Mountain Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing