We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Johnny Ripe

Johnny Ripe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Red Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Johnny Ripe is a boutique bakery located in Red Hill on the Mornington Peninsula. We specialise in apple and savoury pies, sweet tarts, cakes, pastries and takeaway meals.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I could not recommend this fabulous restaurant highly enough. Run by a lovely young couple with a wonderful vision.Three course set menu decided on each week depending on the fresh produce available, much of it grown on the property once an apple orchid then gallery.Very tastefully decorated with a casual but intimate feel and a big open fire which must be lovely in the winter. The booking was made by friends who mentioned my husbands food allergies and very soon after I had a phone call from Alice to confirm the exact details. The food was delicious, packed with flavour but with a slightly home cooked feel, almost like dining at friends (that are fantastic cooks) there is a small selection of wines so BYO is recommended which made the evening very reasonably priced, around $60 per head for three courses which is almost unheard of. On certain days of the week they have a little shop open with baked goods that look nothing short of scrumptious, I can't wait to try some. We will be back again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peninsula65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    36
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering, homemade goodness ...”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Johnny Ripe is a fabulous little bakery store, with an adjacent dining area, amid the wineries and cheeseries of the Red Hill area on the Mornington Peninsula.
They have 3 weekly meal sittings - Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday lunch. Unfortunately, despite ringing in advance, all were fully booked for the weekend we were staying locally.
However, we decided we would visit the shop and purchase some goodies for a meal to eat back at our accommodation. Good decision.
It's a popular place, and there were several other people purchasing their wares at the same time ... Meat pies (family and individual), apple pies, savoury tarts, banana cake, lasagne, terrine, croissants and many, many other delights. It was difficult to choose, everything looked so delicious!
The taste certainly lived up to expectation and we returned the next day to buy up more to bring home with us!

If you are in the area any weekend, you should definitely drop in, you'll be hooked! We will certainly be signing up for dinner the next time we have an excuse for a weekend in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh home cooking”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Varied dishes with generous helpings. Three courses for approximately $70. Can bring own wine.
Good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCrae, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant and produce store has become a favourite among Peninsula locals. The restaurant is only open for dinner on Fridays (fish night) and Saturdays (meat night) and lunch on Sundays. The wonderful produce store is open Friday through Sunday. The menu for lunch and dinner is fixed although dietary requirements are catered for. The produce store features amazing pasties, pies, quiches, pastries and desserts among other delicious things. Alice and George are wonderful hosts and Michelle, Scott and Adam produce the amazing food. The whole experience is charming but bookings are essential. We could not recommend a visit more highly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Ripe also viewed

Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
 
Merricks, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Johnny Ripe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing