We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good property... but where was the Chef ??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Travellers, couples or business groups will find this property a beautiful retreat in a quiet corner of the Mornington Peninsula. With about 40 or so rooms, Lindenderry has lots of quiet nooks, retreat areas, games rooms. a library (most with open fireplaces) together with an indoor pool. Would be a fantastic spot for a group or business team get together! It presents as a charming country property, basically single-storey and nestling into its garden/vineyard surrounds

We had a Garden Room (so called for its lovely views through floor-to-ceiling windows over the rolling, spacious garden with mature trees, and a pond, replete with two white geese). the room was a massive 60m2, so even with a king-sized bed, there was stacks of space. Décor was a modern black and silver theme, tastefully done. The Garden rooms certainly would be preferred to the Vineyard rooms which, not surprisingly, overlooked the vineyards.

We had an accommodation/meals package which came with a complimentary welcoming bottle of Moet & Chandon bubbly, most welcome on a very hot day

Their vineyards are beautifully maintained (unlike some of the scruffy-looking ones about) and their separate cellar door building offers wine tastings and some basic fare such as pizzas. Dan behind the counter there ( studying to be a wine-maker, himself) was a friendly soul, who after seven years in the job, offers good advice on the estate's (excellent but not inexpensive) wines.

BUT, in addition to the positive reviews of the facilities, we were attracted to Lindenderry because of the very complimentary reviews accorded to its decorated chef. It was a special birthday treat for my wife, and we looked forward to the prospect of being able to walk, suitably warmed by the Moet, just a few metres to the much-vaunted restaurant, have a memorable meal and stroll back to out room.

Well, the meal WAS memorable, but for the wrong reasons !

After satisfactory entrees we looked forward to the main dishes - my wife to a lamb dish and me to a waygu fillet steak. The lamb came as two huge-boned chops with a meat : fat ratio of about 20:80 - greasy looking and quite off-putting. My steak (ordered to be medium, came as a chewy, rare, odd-shaped blob of a cut and quite inedible. We were offered replacements, but rejected that offer given the chef's performance at the first attempt, but were offered our drinks at no charge - a reasonable attempt at damage control.

I guess we were unlucky to get the B grade chef on the Sunday evening we were there... but some quality control of the sous chef personnel is certainly called for.

Also a little quality control of a few elements of the surroundings is also called for - dead plants, paint needing retouching, some tidying up of verandas (the outdoor furniture was covered in dust) and so on. There is new management in place we heard, so some of the above might be looked at soon

Given all of that, we would still recommend Lindenderry as a lovely retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi gaad
I am please you enjoyed your stay at Lindenderry and my thanks for taking the time to write a review. Lindenderry is a beautiful place to visit and stay where one can enjoy the fabulous rooms and extensive gardens - plus our vineyard of course!
Your feedback regarding your meal at Linden Tree on the Sunday night I am surprised about as we regularly have nothing but overwhelming praise for the menu and kitchen. However I have most definitely discussed this with our Executive Chef who assures me there ought not to have been (or will be) any concerns with his dishes.
Lindenderry is in the final throes of a refurbishment whereby all rooms, public areas and grounds will be presented to a superb standard, reflecting our commitment to giving all our guests a wonderful experience.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindenderry!
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 355 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here when I proposed to my girlfriend some time ago. Was nothing short of amazing and the staff went out of their way to make our stay special. All staff encountered were pleasant and helpful. On our first anniversary we stayed again in the same room, big room overlooking the gardens on the ground floor. Nothing has changed in this time, the staff are still happy and pleasant and very good at what they do. Have a walk around the property and drink in the surroundings. Especially good over spring when stuff is in bloom.

Room Tip: Overlooking the gardens you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Clinton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi ClintonT
I am delighted you and your wife returned to Lindenderry for your anniversary!
It is great to return to a place that obviously meant a lot previously for all the right reasons to then find it as good as ever. Our team at Lindenderry always go out of their way to ensure an exemplary guest experience where nothing is too much trouble.
Many thanks for writing this review - I hope we see you both back for your second anniversary!
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is advertised as a boutique hotel but in fact is a conference/wedding venue. As leisure guests we were felt very secondclass. The staff were very helpful but the room was very bland, no pictures on the wall, no drawers or shelves for clothes and the bathroom unimaginative. The spa was not open, and swimming pool unusable as the windows were all open letting in the extreme heat.We were shunted into a small dining room where the wine and highchairs were stored as the main dining room was occupied by conference guests. It was extremely hot and the a/c couldn't cope, so the red wine was too warm. The nicely appointed lounges and games room were all unavailable to us in the afternoons as they were full of workshop attendees. The second day there were no biscuits in the room, apparently they had run out, though the conference guests had tea and cakes laid out in the games room there was nothing for us despite requests.
Food was excellent and service from staff in reception and dining room good. The hotel itself and the grounds are beautiful, but it is not a boutique hotel as they advertise - disappointing!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms soulless - no pictures on walls, no drawers or shelves for clothes, tv doesn't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison57Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi Alison57Perth
My thanks for writing this review and expressing your disappointment with your stay at Lindenderry.
We certainly promote ourselves as a boutique country estate given the extensive grounds, gardens and varying facilities we have at Lindenderry, which we find the majority of our leisure guests are attracted to.
Certainly having a smaller conference in-house can change the dynamic, though it ought not to have impacted your own experience and I am sorry it apparently did - the beauty of Lindenderry is its space which comfortably separates all guests to ensure their privacy. Whilst it was hot when you stayed I am unaware of any air conditioning issues which if there were, we would have been able to immediately rectify at the time.
I do hope you consider returning to Lindenderry another time - we would enjoy welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Takes a bit of finding,wondered if it was worth the hassle for one night...weather poor , wet and cold,was persuaded by welcome and comfortable room that it was. Although its a wine estate, did not buy a bottle , as it was way beyond what is reasonable back home in England,made do with a glass each.Handy parking, and also good for Ferry Sorrento across to Queenscliff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobNewcastleOnTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi bobNewcastleOnT
I am pleased you took time out from your travels to stay with us at Lindenderry. Yes, Lindenderry is a most interesting place, a very beautiful one at that and of course our Award Winning wines speak for themselves.
Appreciate your review and do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I would like to thank the wonderful staff at Lindenderry Hotel at Red Hill for their kindness on Saturday the 18th of January

I was caring for three children. Two babies 9 months and 3 months and a child two and a half years. One of the staff (Jennifer) bought a cot into the room. Sometime later, she heard the babies crying and knocked on the door to ask if she could help. I was so relieved and thankful and Jennifer helped to control one of the babies crying. She was so supportive.

Later in the night I had trouble again and dialled 9 to ask for assistance. A few minutes later Sharon from the wedding group came to my assistance. Sharon soothed one of the babies off to sleep, so the other baby finally went to sleep too. The 2 year old slept through this

These young ladies are a credit to Lindenderry and to themselves. Working over and above their duties. How do you ever know how to thank them?

Lindenerry is a beautiful picturesque property. With very caring staff in all areas. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi SueM
I am delighted with your recent experience at Lindenderry - thank you for taking the time to write this review. I have passed your kind words to Jennifer and Sharon who simply state "they are doing their job". All the team here at Lindenderry go out of their way to do that little bit extra as far as the guest experience is concerned.
Many thanks for your comments and recommendation - I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindenderry!
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Travelling to lindenderry for a conference last week we found a picturesque property with quite well appointed rooms, Beautiful grounds and lots of potential. The conference set up was fine but the AC did struggle in the 44 degree heat last week. Food and beverages what let the experience down. No catering for dietary requirements at all on the first night despite these being communicated well in advance. The vegetarians and gluten free guests were forgotten it would seem and something had to be prepared, not good enough. A quiet word to the FB manager meant breakfast and lunchtime the next day were better but we should not have to beg for some service. Average food in an environment with so much potential is a shame.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank froggyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi froggyMelbourne
Many thanks for your recent review and I am sorry there were some aspects of the conference you attended which did not live up to your expectations. Clearly the dietary requirements were an inexcusable oversight, however understood this to be quickly rectified and to the satisfaction of all. It was an especially hot week when you were here with all systems under pressure.
I appreciate your comments and do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lindenderry at another time.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was embarrassed by our experience at Lindenberry turning up at 3.20 on Saturday afternoon. The setting is amazing and we were hoping for an afternoon tea but unfortunately arrived after the chef had finished and despite some lovely looking deserts on display, were told very firmly that everything had finished. Now I know we've all had a big week of hot weather and we should have check the opening times, but a little more pleasant customer service wouldn't have gone amiss when we are trying to show off the delights of the Mornington Peninsula to our American guests.
It appears from the Trip Advisor reviews that Customer Service needs tackling at Lindenberry. There are plenty of lovely places to choose from on the Pen - like the Eldridge Estate next door, we generally love always trying somewhere different each time but won't be back... Sadly you had your moment Lindenberry and you blew it big time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Little W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi Little W
I am extremely disappointed to learn of what was clearly a most unsatisfactory experience for which I do apologise. Certainly there is no instance whatsoever where such service is condoned, to the contrary. That particular issue has since been rectified.
I do hope you in fact do return to Lindenderry and experience the level of service that we expect here and work hard to provide. My thanks for your review as it essential we are fully aware of any shortfalls.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hill
4.8 mi away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
69 reviews
7.4 mi away
Flinders Hotel
Flinders Hotel
#1 of 2 in Flinders
247 reviews
9.3 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
10.6 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenderry at Red Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenderry at Red Hill

Address: 142 Arthurs Seat Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Price Range: $168 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindenderry at Red Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Victoria's most spectacular region, the Mornington Peninsula, you will find Lindenderry. The region's premier boutique hotel, Lindenderry is set on 30 acres of natural beauty. English inspired gardens surround the hotel, extending to a vineyard and a private lake, all framed by an iconic Australian landscape. As you arrive at the property, meandering through the peaceful grounds, you feel a sense of escape that stays with you till you are back in your car and travelling home. After a recent soft refurbishment to all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge areas, this country estate offers accommodation that is perfect for couples or groups looking for an elegant retreat whilst indulging on the Mornington Peninsula. There are 40 modern rooms available at Lindenderry, each with its own unique design that stylishly captures the regional landscape. Relax in the many inviting guest lounges that feature open fireplaces and, with floor to ceiling windows, flood with soft natural light, making the perfect nook to escape with a good book, a glass of wine, or quiet conversation. Adding to the indulgence of the property is our onsite restaurant, Linden Tree, with a newly appointed head chef who hails from some of the world's best restaurants, the dining experience at Lindenderry has become a must-do experience when visiting the Mornington Peninsula. Also featuring a cellar-door offering a more informal dining experience, why not stop by for a tipple? Following a recent recognition from Australia's leading wine authority, James Halliday, as a Five Star Winery and with nearly all of our wines receiving a remarkable score of 95 or above, Lindenderry is proving itself to be one of the leading wineries of the region also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindenderry at Red Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenderry At Red Hill Hotel Red Hill
Lindenderry At Red Hill Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing