We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Melb, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed over the weekend at Lindenderry at Red Hill - and after having heard about this exclusive homestead in the middle of the Red Hill Region, we were expecting a grand, majestic heritage home, all set out with old-world charm, décor, ambience, rustic settings and old-world rugs, lanterns, fire-lit ambience, beautiful décor, artwork on walls, and the like....

Instead the rooms are barron, with basic early 90's coloured pale baby blue painted walls, with a lemon and white checked couch, a big ( and comfortable) bed, but disappointingly it was two singles pushed together to make up for what we thought we had booked/bought which was meant to be a King bed... and a shared balcony.
We had upgraded to a Vineyard Suite when we booked, but were also disappointed to find that it had no views of any vineyard, nor any vista - just a gravelled courtyard and tall trees!
And as much as the room was spacious and very warm, it had no "feeling" and no décor and nothing to encapsulate that this room was part of what we expected to be a grand old house and a grand experience staying there...
Reception was a basic marone painted walled area and upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, but there was no big grand entrance!
The lounges to the left are old and tired, there are no rugs, artwork, vases with flowers, plants nor ambience, and the vista from the shared balcony here was also of the same gravelled courtyard and trees... no rolling hills nor vineyards.
You are right in the middle of the Red Hill wine region, yet there is no-where to sit and enjoy a glass of red and watch the sun set over hills after a day exploring wineries and bringing them back to enjoy at this grand old home!
We enjoyed the Red Hill region, and this hotel is very convenient for it's location and the rooms are comfortable, large, private and warm ( it was 4 degrees the other night and we were toasty) but we would love to see this tired old hotel taken back to what we expected when we arrived....... which is a beautiful old heritage homestead and a special place to stay!

Room Tip: note that balconies are shared, and vineyard suites don't look at vineyards. Rooms are basic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Noodlesam

I am sorry our stay did not live up to your expectations.
I thank you for your feedback and will take this on board as we move forward.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    89
    63
    32
    18
See reviews for
41
203
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had our wedding at the beautiful property of Lindenderry @ Red Hill April 2013.

We had the entire wedding at this venue. From spending the night before with family having a lovely dinner and getting ready before the wedding (both the Bride and Groom) through to majority of our guests staying overnight and enjoying a relaxed brunch with them the next morning. Because of this, we were able to enjoy time with our families and enjoy our special day without stress!

The grounds are beautiful and look fantastic in our photos and the food was amazing! All of our guests enjoyed their meals and we enjoyed our tasting in which we were able to taste 4 options of each course which was great.

There is a back up option for the ceremony if needed if rainy weather occurs, which took a lot of stress out of planning the wedding.

The rooms were comfortable and spacious and our guests were very grateful to have such comfortable accomodation. More than half our guests were from interstate. One of the main reasons we chose Lindenderry was because of the large number of rooms available for our guests to stay. Our elderly guests were pleased to be able to head off to their rooms during our reception for an early night if they wished to.

Sharon Wyatt, Lindenderry's wedding coordinator was always accessible and approachable, replying to emails quickly and always willing to help us with decisions to be made and providing information. This also took a lot of stress out of planning our wedding.

Overall a fantastic wedding venue for all of or any aspect of your special day which we could highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Beck M,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We were blessed to be apart of your special day and I am so pleased that we could play such a wonderful part in your day.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindenderry as a married couple.
Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

More than ten years after my first visit I am drawn back by a business meeting. The gardens are wonderful. Set amidst autumnal vineyards and trees and surrounded by "secret" gardens, it would be lovely in nice weather (and if one did not have to attend all-day meetings!). My room was large and immaculate. The restaurant is excellent. Some of the staff bright and cheerful, a few not.
But there's something not-quite-right about such an expensive establishment (although the room rates are "dynamic" - so do ask). The driveway is a goat track. Little things surprise - like the aircon not working, a soap dispenser not dispensing, and a feeling (for me anyway) that the place is getting a bit tired.

Room Tip: Mid week room rates are much lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear PhilipH1,

Thank you for your kind review,
You will need to return for a weekend escape, without all of the work meetings and enjoy the gardens and surrounds!

We look forward to welcoming you back for a weekend getaway.

Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome from the concierge and was offered tea and scones. After exploring the breathtaking grounds and scenery, we enjoyed a complimentary bottle of Lindenderry Chardonnay in front of the open fire place. Time flew by and a few hours later we fell into our comfy bed for a good nights sleep.
We enjoyed our stay immensely and can not recommend the hotel highly enough. A wonderful place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aracasfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Aracasfamily,

Thank you for your kind review.

Sounds like you enjoyed your escape with us - what better way to relax then a wine in front of the open fire!
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Lindenderry last month for a long weekend away with my partner, the room was immaculately presented and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had made some last minute changes to our booking and the staff were more than accommodating.

Fantastic breakfast each morning and having dinner in the restaurant on the first night, we returned the second night too as the food was delicious and too good to pass up an opportunity!

Will be definitely be recommending Lindenderry to my boss for our upcoming work conference!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samwise_1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Samwise_1187

Thank you for your kind review, I hope you talked your boss into a conference down here with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed all that Lindenderry has to offer and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent a saturday night at the hotel and it was great. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The restaurant was nothing short of amazing, the wine list, the waiters and waitresses and the food.
The hotel room was what we had expected and the bathroom spacious and very clean.

Breakfast in the morning was a perfect end to a great stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Matthew P,

Thank you for your kind review.
AND CONGRATULATIONS!!! We feel so special to be part of this big moment!

We hope to welcome you back soon - maybe even for your wedding!
Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Lindenderry we felt relaxed. The gardens were beautiful and a wonderful way to start the day with a stroll around them. We were looking to escape the rush of the city and found this a warm and calm escape. The staff were fantastic and made sure we felt welcome and special as soon as we arrived and looked after us well while we were there. Our room was comfortable and allowed us to well and truly unwind and re-charge our batteries. We are already planning our return in a couple of months!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatoL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear CateL13,
Thank you for your kind review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had an opportunity to relax and recharge!

I look forward to welcoming you back
Regards,
Emma B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hill
4.8 mi away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
39 reviews
9.3 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
476 reviews
10.6 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Flinders Hotel
Flinders Hotel
#1 of 2 in Flinders
214 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
15.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenderry at Red Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenderry at Red Hill

Property: Lindenderry at Red Hill
Address: 142 Arthurs Seat Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindenderry at Red Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Victoria's most spectacular region, the Mornington Peninsula, you will find Lindenderry. The region's premier boutique hotel, Lindenderry is set on 30 acres of natural beauty. English inspired gardens surround the hotel, extending to a vineyard and a private lake, all framed by an iconic Australian landscape. As you arrive at the property, meandering through the peaceful grounds, you feel a sense of escape that stays with you till you are back in your car and travelling home. After a recent soft refurbishment to all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge areas, this country estate offers accommodation that is perfect for couples or groups looking for an elegant retreat whilst indulging on the Mornington Peninsula. There are 40 modern rooms available at Lindenderry, each with its own unique design that stylishly captures the regional landscape. Relax in the many inviting guest lounges that feature open fireplaces and, with floor to ceiling windows, flood with soft natural light, making the perfect nook to escape with a good book, a glass of wine, or quiet conversation. Adding to the indulgence of the property is our onsite restaurant, Linden Tree, with a newly appointed head chef who hails from some of the world's best restaurants, the dining experience at Lindenderry has become a must-do experience when visiting the Mornington Peninsula. Also featuring a cellar-door offering a more informal dining experience, why not stop by for a tipple? Following a recent recognition from Australia's leading wine authority, James Halliday, as a Five Star Winery and with nearly all of our wines receiving a remarkable score of 95 or above, Lindenderry is proving itself to be one of the leading wineries of the region also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindenderry at Red Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenderry At Red Hill Hotel Red Hill
Lindenderry At Red Hill Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing