We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So very disappointed!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Arranged a very special 50th birthday celebration only to find ourselves in a white motel box with badly scarred furniture, dented, chiped lamps with aging shades and a bed that you could feel the springs through. Total nightmare! The staff were wonderful but a couple of them admitted to being embarrassed by what they were selling -- a vastly overpriced stay at a once lovely property that has been let go. However, they appear to have a great marketing team that can sell anything. We will never get back the opportunity for a special celebration but am warning others to avoid -- you would be better off at a motel off the highway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jallukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    87
    62
    32
    18
See reviews for
41
200
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

When I read the menu I was excited. Unfortunately the food didn't live up to expectations. Beautifully presented but didn't deliver on flavour. The rabbit tastes like salty tuna, the bug dumplings were dry, the wallaby was tough and the sticky date was average. If I'd paid average prices it would be ok but it was expensive!
The receptionist was crabby and rude and although the rooms were large and comfortable they were pretty ugly. I also couldn't believe the potholed gravel driveway! The fluffy robes were lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagginsBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

There was nothing charming, bright or warm about Lindenderry. Lots of vacant space. The gardens are lovely of course, but inside the nicest areas are the corridors?! The breakfast (food, service and ambience) is reminiscent of a 1960s seaside hotel. My room was next to a generator that switched on and off all night - and no apology given for this by staff. For more than $400 per night I want a lot more!

Room Tip: A garden facing room is better but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flurry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

the garden is unkempt, the driveway potholed, the interior of the building tired, and the staff untrained; this was a big disappointment, as I had been years before and it was great, but time has not been kind. Drinks were served unchilled, air conditioning broke down, and the coup de gras, i was overcgahred and it wasnt easy to get my money back. Avoid.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, AUSTRALIA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

very nice spot for a quiet weekend.very helpful staff, nice food, comfy rooms. only downside was finding how to get into our room, having to go out and down a dirt road after a long day was a bit hard. maybe better signs would be a good idea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb04t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear deb04t,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a landscape - ah the serenity. LindenDerry Red Hill delivered my husband and I an amazing evening. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out we were treated like we were the only ones there.
The friendly and informed staff, the beautiful Garden facing room with it's high ceilings and clean, neat decor and the beautiful surroundings made our Wedding Anniversary just perfect.
The icing on the cake was the Linden Tree restaurant located on site. The menu was gorgeous and after choosing the Beef and Duck dishes with the available sides - we were very impressed. The meals were just beautiful and our sincere compliments got to the Chef/s.
Then there was Lauren - our waitress - what a delight! So professional, knowledgeable and efficient. She was brilliant.
All in all a really gorgeous place to stay and if you love a good robust walk - the early morning walk around the property was terrific. Pool was terrific too! Just what the doctor ordered really!
Also
Speaking from experience - fantastic work function facilities also.

Room Tip: Garden View Room was HUGE and the view just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Samantha H,

Thank you for your kind review.
I am pleased you took the time to enjoy all that Lindenderry has to offer.

Linden Tree is certainly wonderful, and the chef will love to hear your rave reviews!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at Lindenderry this week for 2 nights and the service by everyone who worked there was 5*! (can't say that of a 5* hotel where we stayed the following night in Melbourne!). Location is absolutely stunning with vineyards, a lake and tennis court etc etc. Only minus would be the rooms that are dated but I guess it's all part of the rustic charm. The standard studio where we stayed was very large in size and couldn't believe they had Molton Brown products in the bathroom!!!! Last time I saw them in a hotel was at the Ritz in London where I worked!
Definately would stay again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILLEMAR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear ILLEMAR K

Thank you for your kind review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had such wonderful things to say about our staff - they certainly are a wonderful asset to the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hill
9.3 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
465 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
31 reviews
10.6 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
15.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
300 reviews
8.3 mi away
Woodman Estate
Woodman Estate
#1 of 1 in Moorooduc
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenderry at Red Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenderry at Red Hill

Property: Lindenderry at Red Hill
Address: 142 Arthurs Seat Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindenderry at Red Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Victoria's most spectacular region, the Mornington Peninsula, you will find Lindenderry. The region's premier boutique hotel, Lindenderry is set on 30 acres of natural beauty. English inspired gardens surround the hotel, extending to a vineyard and a private lake, all framed by an iconic Australian landscape. As you arrive at the property, meandering through the peaceful grounds, you feel a sense of escape that stays with you till you are back in your car and travelling home. After a recent soft refurbishment to all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge areas, this country estate offers accommodation that is perfect for couples or groups looking for an elegant retreat whilst indulging on the Mornington Peninsula. There are 40 modern rooms available at Lindenderry, each with its own unique design that stylishly captures the regional landscape. Relax in the many inviting guest lounges that feature open fireplaces and, with floor to ceiling windows, flood with soft natural light, making the perfect nook to escape with a good book, a glass of wine, or quiet conversation. Adding to the indulgence of the property is our onsite restaurant, Linden Tree, with a newly appointed head chef who hails from some of the world's best restaurants, the dining experience at Lindenderry has become a must-do experience when visiting the Mornington Peninsula. Also featuring a cellar-door offering a more informal dining experience, why not stop by for a tipple? Following a recent recognition from Australia's leading wine authority, James Halliday, as a Five Star Winery and with nearly all of our wines receiving a remarkable score of 95 or above, Lindenderry is proving itself to be one of the leading wineries of the region also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindenderry at Red Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenderry At Red Hill Hotel Red Hill
Lindenderry At Red Hill Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing