We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful estate let down by ordinary rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful estate let down by ordinary rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My girlfriend & I had a weekend escape here earlier this year and generally loved it:
- The complementary afternoon tea service was great
- The breakfast was good (although it closed too early - for romantic getaway destinations couples really appreciate a really late (city folk love a sleep-in!) closing time for breakfast!)
- Helpful front desk
- Amazing estate - access to tennis court, pool area, lovely surrounds, reading room, vineyards etc

However I personally thought the rooms (we stayed in whatever the basic room was) were a let down:
- Small and generally 'bland' room with no distinctive decor
- Bed was small and mattress was very uncomfortable for two people - I'm very broad & tall and often judge hotels based on bed quality and I felt these felt smaller than usual and there was a bit of a slope
- Small TV
- Paper thin walls - maybe we just had bad luck, but we heard every word of the argument of the family behind us into the early hours of the morning and every moan of intimacy of the couple in the room in front of us the following morning. Make sure you ask front desk for earplugs if you have noisy numbers.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    85
    60
    32
    18
See reviews for
39
190
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Traveled with my wife to Lindenderry and stayed in a courtyard room. The room was of decent and appropriately sized, very clean and well appointed with lovely bed linen and Molton Brown toiletries. It was a very comfortable one night stay as my wife and I were exploring the Mornington region.

We took a midweek package which was pretty affordable considering the luxury of the resort and included a full english breakfast at the linden tree restaurant. Not to mention, the night before we drove a short distance to The Long Table where we had a lovely, romantic dinner.

All in all a luxurious property on beautifully manicured grounds which would make a perfect getaway from busy Melbourne. Highly would recommend it to anyone looking for a 5 star resort stay in the Mornington region

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Happy to have revisited this good establishment again two years later. We took a B & B styled package for the convenience of having breakfast before heading out to explore the Mornington vineyards and surrounds. Breakfast was very good with plenty on offer, buffet/hot meals etc. We had a comfortable room with plenty of space and an area to sit outside on the verandah. The decor is not to everyone's taste and a little bland. The place could do with some work, some art, a general uplift all round. The grounds are lovely which includes their own vines. There is also a wine tasting shed (not open during our stay). We stayed mid week at the beginning of spring so it was quiet and we got a good value deal from the hotel on which I base my rating. Worth noting, Lindenderry can be on the expensive side in peak times. A very good location to visit the surrounding vineyards from - Eldridge Estate, Port Phillip Estate, Paringa Estate, Ten Minutes By Tractor etc.

Room Tip: For those who can, visit mid week to get a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at Lindenderry for my birthday.

Lindenderry is a beautiful establishment surrounded by stunning grounds. We stayed in a ‘Vineyard’ room which was large, very clean and quite. The room had a very comfortable king sized bed, sitting area, kitchenette area with tea and coffee making facilities and opened onto a shared courtyard with lovely garden and paddock views. The bathroom was also meticulously clean with a huge shower and Molten Brown toiletries provided.

The restaurant was lovely – we had dinner on our first night and our meals were lovely. Breakfast on both mornings was delicious with a plenty of variety.

The large lounge areas with roaring open fires were the perfect spot to sit and enjoy a wine - although the mark-up on a bottle of wine from the bar compared to buying the same bottle from the cellar door was a little excessive, but I suppose to be expected.

All staff were extremely polite and went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay.

Lindenderry is the perfect location for relaxing and for exploring the Mornington Peninsula and we certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the time to enjoy our beautiful facilities.

I hope to welcome you back to Lindenderry at Red Hill in the near future.

Warm Regards
John Johansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lindenderry is a beautiful property set on beautiful grounds. The staff will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, clean and comfortable. It is the perfect place to stay to experience the beautiful Mornington Pensinsula.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased you took the time to enjoy all that Lindenderry has to offer and enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
John Johansen General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night for a work conference with about 50 people. This is a large sprawling venue, and markets itself as a conference venue, as well as a get away location for couples, surrounded by lovely gardens, and vines.

Rooms are nicely decorated in what I would describe a classic style, well appointed, and on arrival at my room I found a heater had been turned on to take the chill off. I thought that this was a nice touch.

Good sized conference rooms, and a huge number of other rooms styled as lounge, dining, library type spaces. All very useful for group activities. There is also a large lodge style lounge area with an open fire, and daily newspapers ready and waiting for me when I got up @ 5:30am

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Fantastic customer service!
Damian and his team were wonderful!
The property is surrouned by stunning gardens, and wildlife - it was just glorious!
Hotel facilities were perfect! The meals and hotel layout was superb!
The open fireplace was divine!
The property is perfectly positioned, and conveniently located to attractions around the area.
Thank you for a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hill
9.3 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington
15.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
8.3 mi away
Woodman Estate
Woodman Estate
#1 of 1 in Moorooduc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
9.3 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenderry at Red Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenderry at Red Hill

Property: Lindenderry at Red Hill
Address: 142 Arthurs Seat Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindenderry at Red Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Victoria's most spectacular region, the Mornington Peninsula, you will find Lindenderry. The region's premier boutique hotel, Lindenderry is set on 30 acres of natural beauty. English inspired gardens surround the hotel, extending to a vineyard and a private lake, all framed by an iconic Australian landscape. As you arrive at the property, meandering through the peaceful grounds, you feel a sense of escape that stays with you till you are back in your car and travelling home. After a recent soft refurbishment to all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge areas, this country estate offers accommodation that is perfect for couples or groups looking for an elegant retreat whilst indulging on the Mornington Peninsula. There are 40 modern rooms available at Lindenderry, each with its own unique design that stylishly captures the regional landscape. Relax in the many inviting guest lounges that feature open fireplaces and, with floor to ceiling windows, flood with soft natural light, making the perfect nook to escape with a good book, a glass of wine, or quiet conversation. Adding to the indulgence of the property is our onsite restaurant, Linden Tree, with a newly appointed head chef who hails from some of the world's best restaurants, the dining experience at Lindenderry has become a must-do experience when visiting the Mornington Peninsula. Also featuring a cellar-door offering a more informal dining experience, why not stop by for a tipple? Following a recent recognition from Australia's leading wine authority, James Halliday, as a Five Star Winery and with nearly all of our wines receiving a remarkable score of 95 or above, Lindenderry is proving itself to be one of the leading wineries of the region also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindenderry at Red Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenderry At Red Hill Hotel Red Hill
Lindenderry At Red Hill Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing