We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is only for the Restaurant, not the retreat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Max's Retreat at Red Hill Estate
Ranked #2 of 6 Red Hill B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is only for the Restaurant, not the retreat!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I couldn't find Max's Restaurant alone on trip advisor so am writing this here as would like to highly recommend the dinner we had in celebration of my birthday there.

The wine tasting room was great- some of the best wine I've tasted in the area, and the staff were helpful and fun. They also had good quality wine related gifts.

The restaurant is in a phenomenal setting- panoramic views of Phillip island from every table. The staff were very attentive, and the food with matching wines was sensational. I had oysters with champagne, followed by steak with a lovely red wine and then a great chocolate dish with fortified sweet wine. My husband had calamari and then local fish followed by a very interesting sesame ice cream...he was driving, so didn't unfortunately partake in the wines!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This cottage is set in one of the most beautiful locations with views overlooking vineyards and the ocean. The kitchen was fully stocked with breakfast provisions including bacon, eggs, bread, yoghurt, fruit, coffee, juice and (perhaps not for breaky) a bottle of sparkling wine! We were provided with L'Occitane toiletries which was lovely. Highly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TanyaHall_AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The house is in a great location for visits to the wineries and peninsula area, it is in a lovely setting and the ambiance of the interior is warm and relaxing. There are really interesting ornaments and decorations in the house. Marcus is very welcoming, friendly and helpful providing advice about the area and what to do and where to go. Marcus started the fire one evening when we were late back and it was cold and wet - SO nice to come into a warm house. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. There was ample and varied food to cook. We would definitely recommend it and would like to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DarynP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Max's Retreat Cottage last weekend with friends and we had a memorable time. We had dined at Max's on a number of occasions, which is always fantastic, but this was the first time to use their accommodation. We were greeted by Marcus who is just so lovely; as you walk through the cottage you could tell just how much care he puts into the place. We were so excited to see how absolutely beautiful it was. The view from the cottage was just breathtaking - thanks to the perfect weather too - it was a perfect location to celebrate my friend's milestone birthday. Sipping a glass of Red Hill Estate's Blanc de Noir in the afternoon sun on the balcony was an absolute bliss. The amenities were very nice as well, with very nice cotton linens and towels. The kitchen is fully equipped - which was perfect as we brought some cheese to enjoy with the Red Hill wine (P&Q Chardonnay is amazing). We even had fresh fruits, eggs and bacon to enjoy the next morning!
The cottage is located at the top of the vineyards, just a short walk away from the restaurant so I highly recommend staying at the cottage for a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pumpkins0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Max's Retreat a couple of weeks ago. With four bedrooms and plenty of room to sprawl out it was the perfect location for our group of 4 couples. Since we had reservations at a couple of restaurants in the area for lunch we decided to stay in both evenings . The first night Max cooked a superb 5 course dinner with all locally sourced ingredients. This was expertly served by Marcus. The next night they supplied all the ingredients for us to cook a bbq at our leisure. All we had to supply was the wine which was a pretty easy task given the location being in the heart of the wineries of the Mornington Peninsula.
All the ingredients for a lazy breakfast are supplied. Max and Marcus were extremely generous hosts and we would love to return some time soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elmo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This review is for Max's Retreat, not the one at Red Hill Estate.
A wonderfully warm and charming house, filled with interesting decorations.
Great for a couple, or a group of friends.
Close to restaurants and wineries, we ate at "The Epicurean" one night, and "Max's the next, both very good.
Marcus made sure the place was nice and warm, by starting the fire well before we arrived, and he had the fridge and pantry full of goodies for breakfast.
Perhaps the only negative, was that on the first night, there was a lot of rain, and the sound on the roof above our bedroom (the one at the back) was quite loud. Next time we will make sure to have another bottle of wine:)
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandals246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent the 18th & 19th of April with friends at the retreat and the cottage, and had a most refreshing and relaxed time. The country style accdommodation was clean and cosy, and very adequate, the view the best in the area, Max cooked for us at the Retreat; the food was excellent the service faultless, and overall we could not have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: The cottage accomodates two couples and has THE view. It is airconditioned and one room has a spa ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hill
6.1 mi away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
40 reviews
7.8 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
477 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Lindenderry at Red Hill
#1 of 1 in Red Hill
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Woodman Estate
Woodman Estate
#1 of 1 in Moorooduc
143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Polperro Villas
Polperro Villas
#1 of 5 in Red Hill
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stony Creek Cottages
Stony Creek Cottages
#2 of 5 in Red Hill
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max's Retreat at Red Hill Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max's Retreat at Red Hill Estate

Property: Max's Retreat at Red Hill Estate
Address: 53 Shoreham Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max’s Retreat at Red Hill Estate is tucked away in the original estate farmhouse, overlooking the vines to Westernport Bay and Phillip Island. The renovated retreat accommodates two couples and is a gentle two minute stroll to Max’s Restaurant and the Red Hill Estate cellar door. The two queen sized bedrooms boast ensuites (one with a spa bath) Sheridan linens and L’Occitane amenities. Original wooden floorboards feature in the open plan kitchen, dining and living areas and a separate sitting room makes a lovely quiet reading area. Enjoy a quiet afternoon drink or barbeque on the front deck as you admire the stunning view and feel as if you are in your own private paradise. Max’s Retreat at Red Hill Estate is charged at $300 per couple per night. This rate includes generous breakfast provisions and a complimentary bottle of Red Hill Estate sparkling wine.A BBQ pack can be supplied for guests to cook price $45.00 per person. Please note a two night minimum stay applies on long weekends and during January. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing