We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaways at Red Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hideaways at Red Hill
Macclesfield, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a great location to visit the Red Hill area wineries. Good size spa and good size cottage for two people. The place was warm and cosy and very comfortable. Could do with more information on local area, such as walking trails. Not sure on open plan toilet setup, even with partition in place. This property has great potential.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The perfect setting for our weekend away, to start with the gorgeous cottage has every possible detail arranged for your arrival. The décor was traditional and considerate for the period and setting was warm and very inviting.
Our hosts Alex & Renee were warm, friendly and very helpful and the weekend away was well worth the experience and affordability. Overall a very pleasant setting with an easy 10min stroll to Red Hill Township to pick up the supplies and spend the rest of the time in front of the fire and a bottle of Pinot from a local winery. Well worth the effort for a relaxing weekend away, highly recommended. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We recently stayed in the Hannoy Cottage for 2 nights . The cottage is an attractive two storey building attached to a bigger main house. It is nicely furnished inside, with quasi-Victorian style furniture and hangings, and a comfortable double bed upstairs with an open-plan bathroom attached. The downstairs was fairly cosy and warm with both a split-system aircon/heater and a gas fire available. Upstairs was a bit cooler as the heater did not work. The furnishings were a little dark however, so the cottage was not particularly well lit on the dim, wet, gloomy weekend we were there. There was a flat screen TV.

The cottage is well located if you want to visit the wineries, the Red Hill market and the various eateries in the vicinity. As it is set on the fairly busy Shoreham Road however there was a fair bit of road noise.
The kitchen was small, but quite sufficient. The bathroom was fairly big with a good shower over a huge spa and plenty of hot water.

Plusses: the location, the cottage charm, the comfy bed, good shower, big spa, plenty of hot water, attractive little back garden, reasonable price for the area,

Minusses: road noise, extremely noisy birds on the balcony in the early mornings, noise from adjoining house, open plan bathroom where the shower and toilet can be viewed from the bedroom, some appliances not working while we were there, fairly limited breakfast provisions, poor quality and slippery steps leading up to the cottage, housekeeping not very efficient (no hand or tea towels provided), very small and not very comfortable sofa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenBowker, Owner at Hideaways at Red Hill, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thanks for the review cazzascorp - a very thorough overview. We took your comments regarding the steps very seriously and have remedied them immediately by giving them a good high-pressure hose and applied some anti-moss solution. Further to your comments, we have also fixed the heater (flat batteries) and added a screen to the bathroom to create extra privacy. Thanks for the heads up on these matters. Regards, Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Accommodation in Red Hill is generally overpriced and so we were pleased to come across Jane's Hideaways offering a rate of less than $200 a night and ticking our winter weekend retreat boxes of an open fire (gas not wood but still toasty), spa and flat-screen tv and dvd .
We chose Granger cottage and had a lovely two-night stay. The cottage features period details such as warm burgundy-coloured walls, ornate gold picture frames, a wrought iron bed and an antique-looking dresser. The lounge area was warm and cosy with the gas fire and comfortable sofa and was lovely to come back to after a day exploring the area. The cottage is walking distance to The Long Table which we also ventured out to and recommend. It's also walking distance from Red Hill Brewery and the Red Hill shops.
Breakfast supplies are provided - orange juice, cereal, bacon, eggs, bread - and, whilst not of the gourmet variety from local suppliers, were of a decent quality and enjoyable. Generous supplies of body wash, moisturiser, shampoo and conditioner were provided in the bathroom.
The only downside, and not a major one, was that the cottage is close to some excellent wineries yet there were only two small and mismatched wine glasses in the kitchen cupboard.
Overall, the cottage was well worth the very reasonable price and we had a relaxing, comfortable stay. We'd have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenBowker, Owner at Hideaways at Red Hill, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thanks for the review Michelle_Darren. The Long Table is a wonderful restaurant - and so handy to have within 5 minutes walk. Apologies for the mismatched glasses - we had a run on breakages, and have now restocked with both stemmed and stemless wine glasses. Thanks again - Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Red Hill. We booked out the main house and the 2 cottages for my wedding party so that we could all stay together. The properties are really charming, clean and well fitted, each with parking, gardens and lovely big baths. The spas were lovely to relax in the night before the big day with some champagne. It was good that we could all be together and yet still have private spaces to retreat to. All of the bridal party were impressed with the accommodation and my husband and I would love to come back again in winter. Thanks again for helping make my special day easy and lovely for me and my friends.

Room Tip: I slept in the Hannoy cottage and loved the little Juliet balcony off the bedroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjs55255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenBowker, Owner at Hideaways at Red Hill, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thanks for the review CJS. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that Hideaways could be part of your special day. If you do make it back again, make sure you mention that you've stayed before, as we have a 10% discount for return visitors. Thanks again - Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

A lovely decorated, peacefull bed and breakfast perfect for a romantic getaway. Near to vineyards and shops. Red Ill is a ovely area. Staff were very helpfull. The breakfast package (cook your self) was ample. Would definetly recomend.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronza83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hill
8.3 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Lindenderry at Red Hill
#1 of 1 in Red Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stony Creek Cottages
Stony Creek Cottages
#2 of 5 in Red Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Polperro Villas
Polperro Villas
#1 of 5 in Red Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mantons Creek Estate and Lodge
8.9 mi away
Woodman Estate
Woodman Estate
#1 of 1 in Moorooduc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Red Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Red Hill

Property: Hideaways at Red Hill
Address: 114 Shoreham Rd | Red Hill South, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia (Formerly Jane's Hide Aways)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Red Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hideaways at Red Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaways at Red Hill is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you're looking for a romantic escape, a gourmet weekend with friends, or simply a place to rest after a local wedding, you will be delighted with one of our private cottages.We have cosy spa cottages for two with an open gas fire & private courtyard, or a 3 bedroom house with wood heater, two living areas and a large kitchen. Hideaways is a short stroll to Red Hill shops, cafes and brewery, and surrounded by gourmet vineyards. And all this, just 10 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hideaways at Red Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing