We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, dirty and depressing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queenscliff Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tired, dirty and depressing!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Let's start with the good.

Hotel is perched impressively on a small hill retaining the grandiose of it's hey day.... You can see glimpses of a bygone era and splendor as you walk up to the building with guests casually having drinks on the porch. You enter to parlor rooms filled with a mis mash of quaint furniture and the corridors withbperiod curtains, carpeting and wallpaper (a bit past it's used by date).

Now, let's start with the 2 reasons that make stay here challenging...
1) She's dirty! The shower had "various types" of hair belonging neither to my partner nor I, not to mention hair on the "clean" towels and the bathroom smelled foul. Urgh!
2) this poor old Grande Dame is a bit tired. The ambience is somber, the atmosphere "fed-up" and to a degree, the owners have given up on this once jewel of the Bellarine.

So.... Should you go? Sure... It's quirky fun. Is it worth the price? Only to the extent that you are paying to live in a living museum (which it is). If you do stay... Ask for a room with a working fireplace!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    15
    10
    15
See reviews for
10
36
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Last time we stayed here was in the Mietta heydays! Alas what a disappointment now in comparison. From our first step in the doors the warmth and welcoming was missing. All furnishings looked tired and drab. The owner has no personality and rarely acknowledges you. We stayed here for a wedding. Our friends who also stayed here at first were reluctant to state their disappointment but once the subject was initiated we compared our rooms and pointed out things like grubby rugs,torn eider downs. The rooms were clean but shabby. It was nice to see en suites.We also had the misfortune to be near a room were a staff member resided with a blaring tv. Absolute no regard for guests with a tv going until 2a.m. The breakfast was ok but you felt that as soon as you finished with a plate it was whisked away, giving you the feeling that you were in the way. This is a lovely old building but really that is all I can say. Probably better options value for money in town.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roamers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We ate very very well when having dinner one night at the Queennscliff Hotel when visiting ovet the new year period

The pork belly was at good as had anywhere

Service also good. Special mention to young guy John for his work on the floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tim2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had a weekend to celebrate a friends 50th. The dinner party of 35 people was booked in the same restaurant. There are still fantastic touches of the grand old days, and there is no doubt the building and rooms are of historic significance. That's what we liked. the service at breakfast was also exceptional, as there was genuine warm conversation.

Dislikes: Overall service and room standard is very disappointing. There is no air of hospitality or celebration, this is a place that is run purely to give people a bed for the night. Rooms are creaky, there is no facility for tea and coffee, and when asked for tea at the bar, not only were we charged, we were also given the impression that requesting this at 5,30pm on Saturday evening is very inconvenient.

Common areas were musty and unlived in. Not a place to linger or share a cozy drink. A 12 midnight when the dinner party disbanded, a few of us were keen to stay on for a chat and drink but the bar was compleletly closed, and no offer for any lights or facilities for us in the front rooms.

Generally we would not mind older places, with some signs of wear and tear, however, it appears that Queenscliff hotel has now just lost all of it's edge, and there are no remnants of the Mietta days.

Would not be going back.

Room Tip: Aything less than standard is small and pokey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenscliff hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Having read some of the tripadvisor reviews, we almost didn't book the Queenscliff Hotel - we decided at the last minute to risk it. And what a good decision. After a delightful bike ride from Geelong, we walked into the glorious foyer, and within minutes it was clear it would be a lovely place to stay. The building itself is wonderful (is there a more beautiful entrance in such an affordable hotel in the state?), the location is great, Queencliff is beautiful, and the staff were hospitable and solicitous - eg we hadn't let them know we were coming by bike, but they quickly gave us somewhere to park them. And we had a great dinner - the service is relaxed, but the food was good, and hey, this isn't Melbourne's CBD, so what's the rush?

Bemused by the angsty reviews, we've decided they must be by regulars who want to scare the rest of us away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We paid for through the nose for our daughter to have at last, the best day of her life for her wedding. We as parents got a room overlooking nextdoors roof with a smelly blocked sink. Calling the staff produced an over the top snotty employee who apparently as we found out later was the owner/manager!

He wiggled a brush about the ---- did not go away and it still smelt --- awful, it was evidently too beneath him to supply a service and therefore we had to lump it and except it. The wedding was more of a Whitehall farce with music played at the wrong place and the wrong time and after the whole evening I felt that I could have demolished a big Mac.

The service, the wedding breakfast and the whole do was not worth what we paid and I did not find out the price until after we left as my wife thought I might take it out on the objectionable little runt. I had wanted to change hotels prior to the do but I did not wish to upset my wife!

A very sorry experience of Australia and am not persuaded that others are necessarily different. I am not returning!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank usandthem36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide hills
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We arrived at the hotel to be met by the owner., Johann. He was very hospitable and upgraded us to a beautiful room at the front of the hotel with a balcony and ensuite bathroom. The room was very clean and full of beautiful old furniture. The restaurant was closed so we had a very enjoyable meal at Lombardi's in the main street . We returned to the hotel to enjoy a quiet evening in the library where a fire had been lit for our return. Breakfast was served overlooking the rear courtyard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return. The hotel has a grandness and old world charm that is rarely found these days and we would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmacAdelaideHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
0.1 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
9.6 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queenscliff Inn
The Queenscliff Inn
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queenscliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queenscliff Hotel

Property: The Queenscliff Hotel
Address: 16 Gellibrand St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queenscliff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queenscliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queenscliff Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing