We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Queenscliff Accommodation”
Review of Athelstane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athelstane House
Ranked #1 of 9 Queenscliff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Queenscliff Accommodation”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

For anyone planning a few days getaway in Queenscliff this is a great option. The hotel is situated just 1 min off the main street so a casual stroll to any of the eating options. Most of the hotel is from the late 1800's but has been completely refurbished. We stayed in Room 5 which had a spacious private terrace with timber chairs and table. The room itself was spacious with plenty of hanging space and the bathroom has a spa bath for 2.The only peeve (and it is a small one) is that there is no room around the basin to place your toiletries so they ended up being balanced on the toilet seat or the side of the spa. Perhaps a couple of shelves would remove this issue. All the staff we encountered we found were very efficient and helpful, this included a quite long discussion about the relative merits of local wineries. Breakfast is included in the tariff and the choice is extensive so all tastes will be catered for. We ate in for one night and while the menu is limited the prices were very competitive. All in all a very nice 2 day break and will be happy to return next time we are in Queenscliff.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private terrace well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawkerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    42
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
105
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
420 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This boutique hotel is a fabulous experience. The hotel has charm presumably dating from 20's or 30's. Lovely public spaces including wonderful, wide verandas where you can happily lose yourself in a book for the afternoon or enjoy a drink. Rooms are very smart, completely refurbished with great bathrooms attached. Ours was indeed small (we chose a small room) and probably not recommended for more than one night. The breakfast (included) was excellent. The complimentary pre dinner drink was appreciated. Staff are so friendly and welcoming. And, a great dinner - not an extensive menu but great options.

Room Tip: Room 4 is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My now fiance and I stayed here for the long weekend in January (Australia Day). When we arrived we were blown away with how welcoming staff were, we were walked to our room and given complimentary drinks! The hotel is located pretty much in the centre of town! Perfect location, we walked everywhere! The food was amazing!! Beyond amazing! We will definitely be back as my partner proposed to me on the balcony, will be a special place for us for years to come! We had such a relaxing weekend and cannot wait to visit again! Special thanks to Richard for your hospitality!
Kirsty Balcombe

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My fiance and I truly enjoyed our stay at Athelstane House. The service was so warm and genuine and we were made to feel right at home in this boutique accommodation. We took the smallest room, yet didn't feel cramped. Having access to a cosy common room downstairs and a balcony area upstairs where you can enjoy the seabreeze on deck chairs made us feel we were staying at a home, rather than a hotel. The bed was comfy, the linen crisp and clean and the bathroom nice and spacious. A delicious a la carte breakfast in the lovely dining area and complimentary drinks were included in the price of the room. We stayed there two nights and my fiance had the eggs benedict (on toasted brioche) twice, it was so good. The decor was just right too - simple and tasteful; no gawdy beach art and paraphernalia that you tend to find at many seaside accommodations. So many reasons to go back if the management keeps all this up, especially the wonderful attitude to service. Kudos! Thank you, Athelstane House.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deliasayang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just before Christmas my daughter and I had 2 nights at Althelstane House. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Noisy children at such a venue are unfortunate. The rooms vary in size and worth choosing a more expensive one. The restaurant and service were very good.

Room Tip: The more expensive the better the rooms.Back rooms are quieter I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJG1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I finished a week long tour of the Great Ocean Road by spending 2 nights at the Athelstane Hotel in Queenscliff. This small hotel is a absolute delight, with great character and a real air of relaxation. If you are looking for a 5 star setup with polished marble bathrooms and all the bells and whistles-this isn't the place for you. Rather if you are looking for a very laid back, relaxing environment with clean comfortable rooms and access to a restaurant that serves outstanding meals, then visit the Athelstane. Richard and his staff are extremely friendly and helpful and this is by far one of the best hotel experiences I have enjoyed. We'll be coming back.

Our second night was briefly interrupted by the fire alarm activating, due to the sensitive nature of the detectors. False alarm so no need to worry. As a result the staff of Athelstane House declared breakfast to be a champagne breakfast with bubbly complimentary to those who felt like a glass or two.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A wonderful little hotel with the best customer service l have come across in a long time. Thank you Richard for being so attentive and friendly. As soon as we walked in we knew we had chosen well. Relaxed straight away.
We stayed in the court yard room and it was perfect size, cosy and bright and all the furnishings are nicely put together. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. Unfortuanately we could only stay one night but we are planning to go back soon. Breakfast was delicious in their very nice restaurant.
We highly recommend Athelstane House.
Your kind of customer service makes the biggest difference. Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
0.0 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
109 reviews
2.1 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaview House
Seaview House
#2 of 9 in Queenscliff
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athelstane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athelstane House

Property: Athelstane House
Address: 4 Hobson St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athelstane House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Athelstane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athelstane House Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing