We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location but lots of issues”
Review of Vue Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vue Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Positives:
-Great location
-Beautiful building
-Lovely staff

Negatives:
-We were told a date was being held for us and when we called back to confirm it wasnt held
-The window in the traditional room lookec out onto the bar and people were sitting right up against it so was noisy
-When we paid extra to upgrade the room for peace and quiet the heater was broken and the spa shorted out the power for half of the room
- We were not offered a refund for the amount we paid to upgrade just some pizzas which we declined as we had dinner plans

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amyh1986_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 301 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at the Vue Grand for 1 night for our 1st anniversary. Every single staff member we encountered were friendly and helpful. The facilities were lovely in an old world kind of way, with the service to match. Knowing it was our anniversary, they did everything to make our stay special such as a bottle of sparkling wine, and getting us a last minute booking into their restaurant for dinner even though we hadn't booked in advance. A special mention to Lucinda & Aaron, who did everything to make this experience exceptional. Good staff are hard to find, these ones are definitely keepers! We'll see you all again! :) - Sara & Dave

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Psychokitten333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked for Mothers day lunch, and were treated like Royalty. Service was exceptional, unlike anywhere else in the area. The Food was excellent and very high standard, and they even had a live pianist. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordanM160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a bed,breakfast and dining package. We had a large spa room, the room was a little dark but everything else was fine. All the staff we encountered were really happy and friendly. But dinner in the dining room was an experience I cant stop talking about, the food was 10/10. Everything from the service, presentation and of course the taste was something we will most definitely go back for. Breakfast the next morning was buffet style and it was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights but could only get a tower room for first night. This renovated room was lovely and if I went back would be the only room I would stay in, but being moved to the traditional suite room on the second night was a big let down. Rooms were too small, bathrooms terrible- barely fit a person in the shower, furniture in bad need of repair. All still at a cost of $275/night.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. Service generally attentive and a lot more helpful than front desk.
Reception staff were terrible- felt you were inconveniencing them by checking in. Barely looked up from the computer as they checked you in and gave the key. Had to ask for directions to our room.
The building and business is for sale and it was a case of no one really cared and were just marching time til new owners take over.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The turret suite cannot be beaten! The spa and view is the second best I've experienced so far, the other Victorian spa and view is in the Otways ;) and the best ever, well that's in the pacific somewhere, you'll have to read my other reviews for clues.
Room, bed, facilities are divine.
Am coming back for my 25th wedding anniversary and can't wait. Queenscliff is so quaint and beautiful, and the Turret suite takes advantage of the location.

Room Tip: For a special occasion, the Turret suite! Pricey but definitely worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

An old hotel in poor repair, with bad service, not clean, terrible room, broken equipment and unpleasant staff. Wouldn't recommend nor return. So sad to see a good location in such poor conditions. Very overpriced and unfair.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
11.2 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
18.3 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#3 of 19 in Geelong
755 reviews
2.0 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview House
Seaview House
#2 of 9 in Queenscliff
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vue Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue Grand Hotel

Address: 46 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range: $115 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vue Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vue Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vue Grand Queenscliff
Vue Grand Hotel Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing