We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel room in Victoria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vue Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vue Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best hotel room in Victoria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The turret suite cannot be beaten! The spa and view is the second best I've experienced so far, the other Victorian spa and view is in the Otways ;) and the best ever, well that's in the pacific somewhere, you'll have to read my other reviews for clues.
Room, bed, facilities are divine.
Am coming back for my 25th wedding anniversary and can't wait. Queenscliff is so quaint and beautiful, and the Turret suite takes advantage of the location.

Room Tip: For a special occasion, the Turret suite! Pricey but definitely worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    99
    59
    30
    18
See reviews for
23
190
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

An old hotel in poor repair, with bad service, not clean, terrible room, broken equipment and unpleasant staff. Wouldn't recommend nor return. So sad to see a good location in such poor conditions. Very overpriced and unfair.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenscliff hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This fine old hotel is a bit musty and shabby but still grand in parts.Our Turret Room (just below the ultimate top room and luckily the one facing the sea) has been renovated in a simple modern severe fashion without any of the elegance or style (modern or old) we expected. It has everything you need but the large oval white bath in the bedroom is an unattractive oddity. Does anyone ever use it? There's a lovely view over the main street to the bay and Arthurs Seat.
The dinner in the former ballroom (a little dingy and overpowering but mainly because of the few diners) was superb and memorable - really fine dining, beautiful presentation, friendly knowledgeable service and well priced for the quality. Choose the slightly more expensive 5-course degustation menu because the a la carte courses are the same size. Breakfast was also very good, including housemade muesli, breads and yogurt with berries.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

No smiles from reception staff.
Upgraded room - from one you could just swing a cat in to one you could just swing a cat in......
Outlook from both windows over internal bar area.....bad news. Wondering if should have paid $60 for upgrade.
Peeling paint and outdated decor..dismal. Some serious money needs to be spent on refurbishment at this grand old lady who is suffering from severe frailty.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 254BHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Vue Grand for a night recently and found it to be a slightly different experience. It's a huge place of a different era and we were in a standard room.


Admittedly it was a Thursday night but we were annoyed the rooftop bar was closed. The room we had was pretty tight and quite cold. We had the heat on all night to maintain the temperature. All the vines across the window didn't help light get in!


We were also told they managed to squeeze us in to the restaurant which was full. It turns out they only had one staff member on so we were the only ones in the dining room for a spell before 2 other couples came in. In fairness the service was great and the food was really amazing but it added to the oddness of the experience.

We had a decent sleep and the room was clean but I won't be rushing back

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flyingkiwi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were guests at a Wedding in February 2014 that was held at the Vue Grand.
Food was excellent, alongside the staff service (from a guest's perspective).
I was a little disappointed that we didn't get a chance to go back there the following day for lunch.
Wanted to try some other dishes off their menu, given the previous nights food quality, however we were so full from breakfast (after dining at a nearby cafe).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleSunshine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a lovely old building with much period charm. However our stay was marred by an error the reception staff made that was poorly handled. We arrived a little earlier than expected but were told this was not a problem and were checked in. We unpacked, plugged in all our electrical equipment and left to explore the town. Some hours later the receptionist called and asked if we had unpacked. When I confirmed that we had unpacked she explained that she had given us the wrong room and we needed to change rooms. She said they would move our luggage for us as they needed us to move. I said no, that we would move our own luggage and as she was in a flap, we left the cafe immediately and returned to the hotel. The receptionist was very apologetic and offered us a complimentary bottle of wine, which we were too embarrassed to refuse (we returned it later). We then had a mad scramble to move all our stuff, including the food in the fridge to a room down the corridor. It wasn't until later that night when I had a shower that I realised that I had left some toiletry items behind! I noted that another couple had been checked into the initial room and as there were minimal staff on hand (it was along weekend) I wondered whether anyone bothered to clean it beforehand, possibly not! The window in our new room opened onto the bar and had a table against it. There was a group of people sitting at a table eating and drinking and the area stayed busy until 10 pm despite assurances that patrons would be moved to the other end of the bar and last orders were at 6.30pm. We had to keep the curtains closed to have some privacy and could hear the conversations of the patrons sitting outside our window. Not impressed and at $178 for 1 nights accommodation we certainly won't be back. Breakfast was just OK, but at least we got to see the lovely grand dining room, which had been closed for dinner.

Room Tip: Check that you have a room away from the bar or go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaHXZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
3.0 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.0 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Queenscliff Inn
The Queenscliff Inn
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview House
Seaview House
#2 of 9 in Queenscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vue Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue Grand Hotel

Property: Vue Grand Hotel
Address: 46 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vue Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vue Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vue Grand Queenscliff
Vue Grand Hotel Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing