We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old building with ambiance”
Review of Vue Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vue Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the “Turret Suite” for our wedding anniversary. We really enjoyed the space, privacy and views afforded by this suite, once we got over the stair climb! The room’s housekeeping could have been improved a tad…

Our stay package included dinner and breakfast in the dining room. The dinner was absolutely lovely. Beautifully presented dishes, and we chose to have wines matched to each course (which was very well done). The service at dinner was also very good, and we enjoyed the atmosphere in the grand old ball room. Overall, dinner - whether part of a package or not - represents very good value at this establishment. The breakfast, however, was average hotel fare – absolutely nothing more.

I’d recommend a stay if you love a grand old building. Otherwise, there are probably better value places in Queenscliff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 302 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a very pleasant overnight stay at the Vue Grande on 29 December. While the old lady does need a little sprucing up it is a very charming and comfortable place to stay with the loveliest staff who really want you to enjoy your stay. Marvellous breakfast and I loved the feeling of stepping back into the past. Only downside was that the free wifi didn't work but that didn't spoil our stay as everything else was lovely. It's not luxurious but comfy and charming - my kind of place! An especially big tick for the lovely tall blonde lady on reception on 29 dec who was so helpful and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Room 22 had a nice private balcony and only one flight of stairs. Very spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Lovely period hotel in historic Queenscliff Victoria. Being a late booking for a family wedding I was graciously upgraded to a suite. The downside is that, as a well presented period establishment the only ascendence was by stairs to the top of the hotel. Beautiful timber staircase but with arthritic knees, not so exciting. That aside, the room was well presented with nice accessories. The dining area is similar to a "great hall" with a 30 - 40 foot ceiling. Clearly the hotel is well represented with restaurant awards backed up with quality casual food service. Staff are very friendly making the whole experience memorable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner & I stayed at this gracious hotel 25 to 26 december, 2013.
Our request was honoured, in that we required a quiet room with comfy bed, which was great!
Our room was clean and tidy - well done Housekeeping Staff!!
Breakfast next morning was very adequate, no fault there.
Just as a sideline, the grand old Lady does need a re-vamp. Whilst housekeeping did a great job, its not their job to dust decorative lighting, which did need attention, together with the quite dangerous "thread-bare" carpet on the staircase. This a job for the big guns!!
All-in-all our stay was a very pleasant one, but please take note (Manager), that the grand old Lady really needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Our room was No 35 and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margieMmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Loved the Vue Grand. Lovely majestic old building well maintained and staff were great. Rooms were clean and bed was big. Slept in way past our wake time even though we had plans for an early morning walk. Still did the walk after a lovely breakfast as part of the accommodation deal. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Cannot advise but room 33 was great. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanboff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed in the "Turett Suite" for three nights over Xmas. The view is nearly worth the price of the room - but be warned... you have to negotiate seven flights of stairs to get there, including carrying your luggage !!! Also be advised that there is no hotel car park so parking is in the street or a public car park at the rear. Couldn't understand why no bars and the resaurant are not open on a Monday and Tuesday night at this time of the year when other hotels are open..we had a fantastic meal at the Athelston Hotel across the road (highly recommended). Our suite was clean on the surface but not spotless e.g mould in the corners of the shower base. Xmas lunch in the dining room was excellent - both food and staff could not be faulted and the ambience of the dining room was unique. It would appear that the hotel itself is being run on a shoestring and a great deal of extra effort by the owners is needed to bring the place up to scratch..it cannot survive by its facade and by resting on its laurels. A fairly good place but there are better in Queenscliff.

Room Tip: Beware of the stairs if choosing the Turret Suite !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan6933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Whilst down in Queenscliff with 8 girls for a Hens weekend, we decided to have dinner at the Vue Grand. Booking into the Vue Bar was a great idea, we chose a selection of goodies for the table to share and they were all delicious. Dishes to note were the Pulled Pork Sliders, Calamari and Cajun Chicken Pizza. The Wine list is limited, but there are some great local wines available. The staff were amazing and were happy for the hens to have a little bit of fun which was great. Also helped that the building is awesome! We will definitely be visiting again when we are next in Queenscliff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
3 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
120 reviews
18.3 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#3 of 19 in Geelong
760 reviews
11.2 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
462 reviews
0 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vue Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue Grand Hotel

Address: 46 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range: $114 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vue Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vue Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vue Grand Queenscliff
Vue Grand Hotel Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing