We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Experience at The Vue Grand”
Review of Vue Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vue Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
“A Grand Experience at The Vue Grand”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I would just like to say that we had a fantastic time over the weekend and that the staff from the moment we arrived to the time we checked out were nothing short of fantastic.

We had dinner in the dining room on Saturday night and had the tasting menu with the matched wines, the waitress (Nakita) that attended to us was knowledgeable, engaging, helpful and one of the most pleasant people I and my wife had the pleasure of dealing with.

Nakita went over and above even to the point of pointing out a couple of the local wineries for us to visit while we were in the area.

Nakita is certainly an asset to your business!

We will certainly be back to enjoy the hospitality of your fantastic hotel and the staff that you employ!

Kind Regards

Jeff Fain and Tracey Cox

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    102
    61
    32
    19
See reviews for
27
196
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a lovely old world feel with some lovely period features.
Located on the Main Street in Queenscliff
Check in is quick- warm & friendly.
Staff are friend & very helpful.
The rooms are spacious & comfortable.
There is tea & coffee making facilities in room, a fridge, air conditioning & heating and an iron & iron board.
If you ate on the ground floor- as we were you also get noise from the rooms above- which is annoying.
The bathroom could do with a good clean - there is a spa in the bathroom- which we did not use as the bathroom needs a good clean - please see pics.
The hot breakfast buffet - is cold & greasy.
The hotel has complimentary wi-fi.
Overall this was an ok experience- the big let down was the bathroom cleanliness, noise from above floor & cold breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank IAmAGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay with this grand old lady. Very much enjoyed the view and sunset at the rooftop bar and then a few hours in the evening at the Vue St Bar. Tapas selection was great and the staff attentive. We stayed in a traditional room with lounge and comfortable king bed. Despite the website description saying there was no view of the water - there were views and we could see some water. The following day started with a big breakfast in the grand dining room. A nice quick getaway - recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrayKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed overnight at the hotel in a package that included dinner at their restaurant and breakfast. The whole experience was a pleasure from the start with a most friendly and efficient lady booking a room after after finding out our requirements. The room was a large corner room with spa bath and everything we needed. The hotel is an old traditional style hotel still looking quite stunning inside and out. We parked the car just around the corner on the side street.
Again the wait staff at our evening meal were most friendly and helpful. We chose the five course tasting menu for our meal and were served three entrees, a main course of rib eyed steak and a desssert. All of the courses were excellent although the desert which was not quite as interesting as the other courses. This did not really matter to us as the servings were quite generous and I could not eat all the dessert, and my wife could not even start it. The steak was the nicest I have had in a long time. We also had an excellent local wine with the meal. The buffet breakfast was also quite good.

The following day when checking out at reception I was handed my wallet which I had left in the dining room and had not even missed. The whole experience was delightful with the most friendly staff. We will return again soon as there is also more to see in the town than we managed in the time that we atyed in Queenscliff which was most interesting. Thank you Grand Vue Hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: If possible stay in one of the larger corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toadontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night on the 20th March. We only booked it the day before and after reading the reviews I was a little apprehensive of what we may find.
We arrived at the hotel after a dolphin swim in Sorrento so we were tired.
There isn't a main car park but there were some spaces round the side that were fine.
We entered the lobby and it was so beautiful. Definitely in keeping with the town and building; historical.
The receptionist was lovely. Very bubbly lady who had a big smile on her face.
We had a downstairs room and when we entered it was gorgeous. Definitely kept in theme with the rest of the building. Yes there was a modern fridge and Tele but if they hadn't been there people would've complained anyway.
The bathroom was beautiful with a huge spa bath. Better than I expected.
The bar downstairs near the grand dining hall was run by a very nice man who certainly knew his wine/beer. Very knowledgeable about them and knew exactly what we liked.
The breakfast was ok, plenty to pick from but it was a buffet so some things were a little cold. Other than that everything was good.
We did want to stay another night but unfortunately we couldn't (no fault of the hotel).
I would recommend staying here for a weekend/long weekend. I think the town itself may have been a little boring for new and partner though but the hotel was great.
Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally050189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We recently stayed of the night prior to a friend's wedding that was taking place the following day at the Vu Grand. The photo's on the website look lovely but most rooms are anything BUT. Our room was very small, broken tiles on the floor of the bathroom, hair in the spa, very small TV, and the air conditioner did not seem to work. Also, our sheets had visible stains on them- they were clean but needed a bleach!
Buffet breakfast? Hmmm. They tell you breakfast is served at 7.30am until 9am. As a couple of early risers, we made our way to the dining hall at exactly 7.30am, where we were greeted with an abrupt "You're early". Well no, we weren't. Had we been there at 7, yeah we would have been early. And the food wasn't ready, AND milk was warm, AND selection of food dismal.
They have no car park of their own so if you are planning on staying on a weekend where there will be high volumes of people in Queenscliff, get there early.
Most staff were all lovely and would do anything for you, they are seriously for us- the only redeeming feature of the stay. And for $200- a night, we have stayed in much nicer accommodation for less.
So in a nut shell- I have just advised friends who were planning on staying there in a couple of weeks to cancel, stay at the local caravan park! Much nicer! :( Big let down for us.

Room Tip: Either book the top suite (360 degree veiw room) or maybe room 1-4 or any floor room. These seemed l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenscliff hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here on Christmas eve. It was slightly weird as we turned up about 8pm I think or maybe slightly earlier and the place was deserted. There was a note at reception with a number to call and my boyfriend phoned up and they directed him to a drawer where the room key was. We were starving also and there was no food available at all so we headed out, we were a bit a annoyed as we thought we would have got food. We managed to get a good meal at another hotel thanks to very helpful people. I guess my own fault but I did not know what places would be like on Christmas Eve. After dinner we chilled out in the spa which was awesome and the room was very comfortable and the bed great. The hotel is dated but that adds to the charm I think. The next morning we had breakfast, was nice to see other people and know you were not the only ones in the hotel. Breakfast was good, nothing amazing but good enough. We left after breakfast to head to friends for Christmas so did not really get to see Queensciffe. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megmagsritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks so much for recommending us and hopefully next time you get a chance to spend more time in Queenscliff.
Next time you will have to get a balcony room so you can sit out and watch the world go by on Hesse St. Thats correct that we are not a 24 hour reception so the after hours number is always available for you if you ever need assistance.
Thanks for the rest of your feedback and it will be shared with all staff

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
3.0 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
110 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
304 reviews
9.5 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
476 reviews
11.3 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
0.0 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vue Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue Grand Hotel

Property: Vue Grand Hotel
Address: 46 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vue Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Vue Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vue Grand Queenscliff
Vue Grand Hotel Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing