We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Hip”
Review of Vue Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vue Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay with this grand old lady. Very much enjoyed the view and sunset at the rooftop bar and then a few hours in the evening at the Vue St Bar. Tapas selection was great and the staff attentive. We stayed in a traditional room with lounge and comfortable king bed. Despite the website description saying there was no view of the water - there were views and we could see some water. The following day started with a big breakfast in the grand dining room. A nice quick getaway - recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrayKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 299 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed overnight at the hotel in a package that included dinner at their restaurant and breakfast. The whole experience was a pleasure from the start with a most friendly and efficient lady booking a room after after finding out our requirements. The room was a large corner room with spa bath and everything we needed. The hotel is an old traditional style hotel still looking quite stunning inside and out. We parked the car just around the corner on the side street.
Again the wait staff at our evening meal were most friendly and helpful. We chose the five course tasting menu for our meal and were served three entrees, a main course of rib eyed steak and a desssert. All of the courses were excellent although the desert which was not quite as interesting as the other courses. This did not really matter to us as the servings were quite generous and I could not eat all the dessert, and my wife could not even start it. The steak was the nicest I have had in a long time. We also had an excellent local wine with the meal. The buffet breakfast was also quite good.

The following day when checking out at reception I was handed my wallet which I had left in the dining room and had not even missed. The whole experience was delightful with the most friendly staff. We will return again soon as there is also more to see in the town than we managed in the time that we atyed in Queenscliff which was most interesting. Thank you Grand Vue Hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: If possible stay in one of the larger corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toadontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night on the 20th March. We only booked it the day before and after reading the reviews I was a little apprehensive of what we may find.
We arrived at the hotel after a dolphin swim in Sorrento so we were tired.
There isn't a main car park but there were some spaces round the side that were fine.
We entered the lobby and it was so beautiful. Definitely in keeping with the town and building; historical.
The receptionist was lovely. Very bubbly lady who had a big smile on her face.
We had a downstairs room and when we entered it was gorgeous. Definitely kept in theme with the rest of the building. Yes there was a modern fridge and Tele but if they hadn't been there people would've complained anyway.
The bathroom was beautiful with a huge spa bath. Better than I expected.
The bar downstairs near the grand dining hall was run by a very nice man who certainly knew his wine/beer. Very knowledgeable about them and knew exactly what we liked.
The breakfast was ok, plenty to pick from but it was a buffet so some things were a little cold. Other than that everything was good.
We did want to stay another night but unfortunately we couldn't (no fault of the hotel).
I would recommend staying here for a weekend/long weekend. I think the town itself may have been a little boring for new and partner though but the hotel was great.
Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally050189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We recently stayed of the night prior to a friend's wedding that was taking place the following day at the Vu Grand. The photo's on the website look lovely but most rooms are anything BUT. Our room was very small, broken tiles on the floor of the bathroom, hair in the spa, very small TV, and the air conditioner did not seem to work. Also, our sheets had visible stains on them- they were clean but needed a bleach!
Buffet breakfast? Hmmm. They tell you breakfast is served at 7.30am until 9am. As a couple of early risers, we made our way to the dining hall at exactly 7.30am, where we were greeted with an abrupt "You're early". Well no, we weren't. Had we been there at 7, yeah we would have been early. And the food wasn't ready, AND milk was warm, AND selection of food dismal.
They have no car park of their own so if you are planning on staying on a weekend where there will be high volumes of people in Queenscliff, get there early.
Most staff were all lovely and would do anything for you, they are seriously for us- the only redeeming feature of the stay. And for $200- a night, we have stayed in much nicer accommodation for less.
So in a nut shell- I have just advised friends who were planning on staying there in a couple of weeks to cancel, stay at the local caravan park! Much nicer! :( Big let down for us.

Room Tip: Either book the top suite (360 degree veiw room) or maybe room 1-4 or any floor room. These seemed l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here on Christmas eve. It was slightly weird as we turned up about 8pm I think or maybe slightly earlier and the place was deserted. There was a note at reception with a number to call and my boyfriend phoned up and they directed him to a drawer where the room key was. We were starving also and there was no food available at all so we headed out, we were a bit a annoyed as we thought we would have got food. We managed to get a good meal at another hotel thanks to very helpful people. I guess my own fault but I did not know what places would be like on Christmas Eve. After dinner we chilled out in the spa which was awesome and the room was very comfortable and the bed great. The hotel is dated but that adds to the charm I think. The next morning we had breakfast, was nice to see other people and know you were not the only ones in the hotel. Breakfast was good, nothing amazing but good enough. We left after breakfast to head to friends for Christmas so did not really get to see Queensciffe. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megmagsritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thanks so much for recommending us and hopefully next time you get a chance to spend more time in Queenscliff.
Next time you will have to get a balcony room so you can sit out and watch the world go by on Hesse St. Thats correct that we are not a 24 hour reception so the after hours number is always available for you if you ever need assistance.
Thanks for the rest of your feedback and it will be shared with all staff

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

There is much to like and much to query.
Got off to a bad start as it was the Australia Day weekend and there is no car park, and then we had to lug a few suitcases up the stairs.
Queenscliff is a wonderful old historic town and Vue Grand represents some of those qualities - it is a grand old hotel although looking a little tired in parts.
Breakfast was an experience - a very ordinary meal but in a wonderful old dining room - you can just imagine what dinners must have been held in the hotel's heyday.
I thought $285 for the room was expensive but then it was a public holiday and we had a room with a balcony.
A huge plus though was its central location - we were in town to experience the Blues Train (a wonderful night) and the station was only a block away.
It was similarly a quick walk to the park, beach, coffee lounges , lighthouse so it was good for a walking afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thanks for visiting us in Queenscliff and we appreciate your comments. Queenscliff is a lovely spot to visit with much to offer but yes it can be busy over the long weekends and at times make it harder to find a park. Usually though, the back car park will have space.
We do unfortunately have restrictions on putting in an elevator the hotel therefore luggage does need to be carried up to the first floor. If you do return and are unable to carry luggage up we are always more than happy to assist you.

Glad you also got to experience the Blues Train, a great night out in Queenscliff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved our stay in this Grand Old Hotel, The staff team are fantastic, the restaurant was excellent both for evening dining & also for breakfast however a coffee machine would have been appreciated as part of the buffet breakfast & machines are reasonably priced these days. The rooms were 'quiet' & we slept well,The car parking was not an issue in the very quiet side street.
I have already made a reservation for our return visit in a couple of months time!

Room Tip: Book early for the best room choice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed our staff service and dining experience.
Even better to hear that you have booked a return visit!

Thanks for your thoughts on the coffee machine, we have been discussing this so I will bring it up again with the team.

see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
3.0 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
118 reviews
2.0 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview House
Seaview House
#2 of 9 in Queenscliff
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vue Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue Grand Hotel

Address: 46 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range: $116 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vue Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Vue Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vue Grand Queenscliff
Vue Grand Hotel Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing