We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Must Stay' in Queenscliff”
Review of Vue Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vue Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Gippsland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A 'Must Stay' in Queenscliff”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved our stay in this Grand Old Hotel, The staff team are fantastic, the restaurant was excellent both for evening dining & also for breakfast however a coffee machine would have been appreciated as part of the buffet breakfast & machines are reasonably priced these days. The rooms were 'quiet' & we slept well,The car parking was not an issue in the very quiet side street.
I have already made a reservation for our return visit in a couple of months time!

Room Tip: Book early for the best room choice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our staff service and dining experience.
Even better to hear that you have booked a return visit!

Thanks for your thoughts on the coffee machine, we have been discussing this so I will bring it up again with the team.

see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    101
    61
    32
    19
See reviews for
26
192
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Vue Grand last November and were pleased we'd chosen to do so.

It is a nice hotel - showing a few signs of wear and tear but with old world charm. Check in staff were friendly and helpful - no problems checking in and out. Unfortunately, there isn't a private car park for guests so we had to park in the side street but as Queenscliff is a small seaside town this proved quite OK.

Our room - the Bayview Tower - was lovely. Spacious, clean and comfortable with a large freestanding bath in the middle of the room, separate shower and hand basin on one side of room and toilet with hand basin on the other. Nice views over the main street and bay beyond.

We had a delicious "Tasting Menu" meal in the restaurant at night - enjoyed both the food and the wines. Staff were professional, knowledgeable, attentive and very friendly.

Buffet breakfast next morning had quite a good selection - certainly enough to choose from for a substantial breakfast if you so desired.

We enjoyed very much our overnight stay at the Vue Grand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tembomamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are glad you had a nice stay and look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Its great that you took the opportunity to experiece the whole Vue Grand by enjoying your stay in the Bayview Tower, one of our modern suites, plus selecting our Bellarine Tasting menu in the dining room. Our staff are passionate about their service so we are happy to read how impressed you were.

The car parking is something we cant change unfortunately but you can almost always find a car park though in the large public car park out the back or in our side street. We hope you found a suitable space for your car.

Thanks again for taking your time to provide your feedback and all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Vue Grand is a spectacular and historic Hotel in Queenscliff. We married there and had our reception in the Grand dining room. The staff are amazing and always willing to help in any way. Being local to there area we dine there occasionally as a treat. They have won many awards which is not surprising. Great Chef's, great staff, especially Connie and Caleb. They also run 'Fawlty Towers' dinners where actors playing the parts of Basil, Sybil and Manuel act as your hosts and waiters throughout the evening. I was a little dubious at first, but was soon in stitches with laughter. It was real fantastic evening and a must for Fawlty Towers fans. We also attended a lunch where about 40 of us were given instruction by the chef on how to butcher quail, then invited to try our skills, we were shown how to make sausages, also followed by hands on and finally how to butcher an entire pig. Each demonstration was followed by a small meal from the previous demonstration, each matched with a beautiful wine. And at the end they awarded prizes of knives and aprons. It was a truly unique and wonderful experience. My wife and I highly recommend the Vue Grand for anything and everything. Everything they do has a professional approach. A BIG Thumbs up from us. Andrew & Janet Smith

Room Tip: The Turret room on the roof top has amazing views and is 5 star. We had mixed reports from some of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Andrew & Janet, what can we say? Thank you so much for your comments and praise and for taking the time to do so. We do love seeing our guests come back and visit us and we hope to continue to offer variety of events to enjoy. If you haven't yet been to see our Vue Street Bar please pop in and say hello. Special regards from Connie & Caleb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We loved our stay here. The hotel was great and the staff were lovely, especially the poor barman who stayed on the rooftop bar to serve us in the near gale force conditions!!!! We didnt eat in the restaurant, but did have breakfast, which had a lot of choice and was very good. For us the location was great, perfect for getting the ferry over from Mornington and then starting on the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestravelling162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and we hope the rest of your trip down the Great Ocean Road was just as wonderful. We love your comment about the roof top barman, that gave us all a good laugh!
Thanks for chosing to stay with us and enjoy Queenscliff on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. We were very lucky in scoring an amazing room with a spa, king size bed and simply an enormous room. Other guests were not so lucky.
Make sure you get up to the rooftop bar to see the view and also see the pictures on the staircase telling the story of the history of the hotel.
Good breakfast and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight your comfortable room, roof top and breakfast. We hope you had a great time at the wedding and all the best to the family and friends that attended!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have to agree with many of the reviews here. We stayed 1 night for our wedding anniversary - just a quick get away. I was very disappointed in the overall experience. In opening the door to our room (Room 5), the musty, stale smell was very evident. Not wanting to complain, I thought I would just see how I went. It really was disgusting. I decided to purchase Glen 20 & a Lavender Plug In to see if this would remove the smell. Obviously this is partly caused to the fact that you cannot open the one window. I appreciate the beauty and the architecture of this 1880's building, together with some of the original fixtures, but you do not expect that the fittings, being carpet & curtains, are from this era as well. Definitely where the smell was coming from. I'm into antique furniture & some of which I own is from the late 1800's. Yes, some of these items smell. However, there seems to be no attempt to mask the stench. The bathroom was extremely out dated. It would appear that Management really do not appreciate feed back because in reading all of the reviews here, the responses appear to be similar & some what condescending. Why acknowledge people's feedback if your not actually going to do anything about it? Attending the breakfast, we arrived at 9.30. There was actually nothing left worth eating, and the tables were not maintained. Having owned successful wedding reception venue, 250 seater restaurants etc, I would say that the overall service was lacking. When I checked out, I was not asked if I enjoyed my stay. This is a clear sign that possibly staff are too afraid to actually know your answer. It's a bitter pill to swallow when you pay $200 for the night for a very average room, and there is a sign out the front offering $99 per night stay. Every person that walks through that door offers this hotel the possibility of positive advertising. It's a shame. I won't be going back.

Room Tip: Read Reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Us2Exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We always appreciate feedback and do try our best to address any concerns of our customers. All staff are made aware of each response and action is taken to address the issues where possible. It is a shame that you chose not to speak to us about the room while you were here, we may have been able to rectify that for you instead of you having to put up with it. It is always hard to respond to a complaint on Tripadvisor once our guests have left. Please dont ever hesitate to speak to us at the time of your visit. We are sorry that your breakfast experience let you down and it is something we try to work on improving all the time. If we may address the $99 special, the special is $99 per person, $198 in total, therefore, the same as what you paid for your Spa room. We hope that clarifys that you were not spending anymore than other guests at the time of stay. Although we understand you may not visit us again, we do hope that you return to Queenscliff and enjoy what the town has on offer. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenscliff hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We knew the Vue Grand was an old hotel and we found it delightful. We received an upgrade to a larger room which was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent in the beautiful old dining room. All the staff were very polite and helpful. John's only complaint was that they only sold boutique beer, on dear! Queenscliff is beautiful and this hotel was great.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are so glad you had an enjoyable time with us and in Queenscliff. We are always happy when we can offer a complimentary upgrade where possible.
We hope John found something suitable to drink from our extensive wine & beer list. All the best and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
3.0 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
109 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
294 reviews
9.5 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vue Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue Grand Hotel

Property: Vue Grand Hotel
Address: 46 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vue Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vue Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vue Grand Queenscliff
Vue Grand Hotel Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing