We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queenscliff catastrophe”
Review of Vue Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vue Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The wedding magazines on every table should have been a giveaway that this place makes its money from the wedding racquet and not from a reputation for quality accommodation.

The building is beautiful, historic and lovely to look at from the lobby but that's where it ends. We were supposedly 'upgraded' to room 35. Yes it was chintzy. I can forgive that given it is an historical building and they want to keep in theme with the era. BUT! Threadbare carpet, dirty, old and very dusty room with the cheapest, nastiest bathroom I've seen in a hotel in Australia does not equal a trip down memory lane.

This room cost us $250 but was worth half the price if that, even with breakfast.

As for the wardrobe, it looked like something rescued from the Salvos, as did the rest of the furniture. There's a difference between vintage and crap.

There is a wedding on tonight, so we cannot try the restaurant and we pray the wedding party do not keep us up tonight as we cannot get a refund on the room.

Beware before you book online.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank obi9602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear obi9602, we regret your visit to the Vue Grand was tainted as per your review. We do understand that the age of some of our rooms seem a little outdated but we try to be upfront as possible about the style of our rooms in our photos, in particular, our new website shows the rooms really well. We do offer a variety of rooms for people wanting to step up to a modern suite or balcony/spa. We are glad that you thought the hotel overall was beautiful and historic.
Weddings are a large part of our business due to the granduer of the building and the award wining food we deliver and wedding season has just started to kick in. It was a shame that you were not aware of the wedding booking and we understand your dissapointment in not being able to dine with us. We do usually block out all rooms when there is a wedding to on line bookings, and only allow phone bookings so that we can explain the situation and give people a choice to book or not. This is the reason we moved you upstairs upon your arrival so that you did not have to deal with the wedding traffic.
We do apologise for the overall experience you had and understand that you actually vacated the hotel on the evening and decided to seek a refund through the booking site you dealt with.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 312 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

my husband and i really loved staying in this beautiful victorian building and will definitely be back!!!!

stayed at the vue for two nights. it is in a fabulous location. sure the bathroom is a bit small and outdated but lets be honest do people really go away and spend all their time in the bathroom!!!!!! i think not. our king size bed was soooooo comfortable as were the pillows. we had a balcony room and the curtains in the room blocked out all the light from outside which was wonderful. all i can say is that the balcony was a great size with very comfortable furniture on it.

the breakfast was delicious which was included in the price!!!

all in all a fabulous place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear KarenT,

It's a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay and spending time at our "lovely old dame"
We always appreciate our guests feedback and take joy in knowing that your experience was a positive one.
All the best with your future travels and we look forward to welcoming you back again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The facade for the Vue dominates the surroundings - a big, confident-looking building. We were only planning an overnight stay so were after a comfortable bed and not much more.

We had a room on the street side, but the town is so quiet that there was no traffic noise to disturb us. The dimensions of the room were interesting. It was probably taller than it was wide, with wonderful 15 foot ceilings. The room was 'cosy' and the bathroom was 'compact' - but as I said, we were only overnighters so did not mind.

Breakfast was served in a large dining room, where the food was good and the service was better than good. (We did note that a 'Fawlty Towers' show was coming soon - we couldn't think of a more appropriate physical setting.)

The only minor negative was the absence of parking, which meant a bit of a walk with luggage.

All in all, the Vue is a very good base from which to see the town.

Room Tip: We were on the street side - at least the walk with the luggage was less of a hassle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you gdpo for your stop over and quick stay with us at the Vue Grand.
Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and service even more!

We will make a note to point out all the parking options a bit better in future, as there is a car park out the back of the hotel for guests and other visitors to Queenscliff.
There is also some parking on the side street with no time limits which is also very handy.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for two days this weekend in a two bedroom room. The hotel itself is a lovely historic old building but the room was not worth the $230 a night we paid. The worst thing was the really uncomfortable bed and dust everywhere. The bathroom was also outdated and the curtains were torn. I agree with other users in that it needs a bit of TLC.

The fine dining dinner was good too, service was fantastic. The food however is not up to Melbourne fine dining standards.

Overall it was an enjoyable trip, but we wouldn't pay that much to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thanks hannah c,

We are glad you enjoyed your getaway in Queenscliff for 2 days and managed to dine with us on one of those nights. We are certainly proud of the service standards we offer in the restaurant. We will certainly follow up with the standard of cleanliness based on your feedback and we are attending to the curtains today as well.
We do hope you were charged correctly as the rate we have on record is actually less than $230 per night. Please do not hesistate to contact us if you believe there is an error there.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights May 2012, we had the Balcony Room which was very nice, if there was a comment that could be made, the bathroom was very dated but the whole room was very clean, staff very pleasant, breakfast included in cost. Unfortunately the dining room at this time of year is only open Thurs to Sat so missed out on that experience, we ate over the road at the Queenscliff Inn which was really good. Must admit I was irked when I saw standby rate on their board out front for $89 when we paid $195. Ok it was not the same room that was the $150 a night room and they do not have that many as it is usually fully booked.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dotanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you for your response Dotanddave

We are glad you to the chance to enjoy our Balcony Room. We agree the best feature of that room is the balcony space and we hope the weather allowed you to enjoy that a little with the cover that is provided. Its a real shame you missed out on dining with us in our Award Wining Restaurant. It is in fact open Wed night to Sun lunch so maybe next time. Regarding the rate or $89 per person, again you are correct, this is a standby rate on our standard rooms. I am not sure if you booked on line or not but always feel free to call us up and ask about our best rates and any possibly complimentary upgrades we might be offering at the time.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here last week for work and it was quite nice, very beautiful as far as the architecture and apart from being a bit on the older side of things it was good value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravellingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear The Travelling Aussie,

Thanks so much for your helpful and clear review. Our history and beauty of the building is always an attraction but we like to know that our ability to service business guests for conferences & meetings is also a positive feature of our services. Look forward to welcoming you here again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay here for our 25th wedding anniversary. What a beautiful historic place. We would like to say thank you to the amazing staff, not only for upgrading our room to the bay view room, but for there professionalism and warmth. The room was amazing. The food was excellent, the service was impeccable and the waiters were charming. Its the only restaurant we have ever been to where the side of bread just keeps on coming. they could not have done anymore to make our stay more memorable.. This hotel has a very historic feel to it, learn about it and appreciate the history of it. Thank you very much to the staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: Stay in the bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
3 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
123 reviews
11.2 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
2 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
185 reviews
14.3 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
6.9 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vue Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue Grand Hotel

Address: 46 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range: $120 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vue Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vue Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vue Grand Queenscliff
Vue Grand Hotel Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing