We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good day out.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Bay Eco Adventures

South Bay Eco Adventures
Ranked #2 of 9 Tours in Queenscliff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: South Bay Eco Adventures is an award-winning ecotourism company specialising in guided sightseeing boat tours of Southern Port Phillip Bay, the Rip and Port Phillip Heads. View the spectacular Rip, the stretch of water connecting the Bay and Bass Strait, and discover the wildlife that calls Port Phillip Bay home, including dolphins, seals, penguins and sea birds. Explore areas only accessible by boat, on an up close nature-based adventure highlighting the unique history, wildlife and coastal landscape of Southern Port Phillip Bay. The purpose-built eco boat offers exceptional visibility for everyone on board, with a design that ensures a smooth, stable and comfortable ride. We offer a range of tours to suit all ages and interests. Tours operate between September and May.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good day out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Great tour. Friendly knowledgeable staff. Interesting. Recommend.
Will do the other tours also at some time.

Helpful?
1 Thank 0-YEAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Owner at South Bay Eco Adventures, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for coming! We look forward to showcasing a different area of Southern Port Phillip Bay to you on another of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“South Bay Eco Adventure around the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have visited Mud Island, The Fort, the seals. Watched the pilot board an incoming vessel and passed by Pt Nepean. Al this to give us an overview of various possible trips to watch birds and sealife.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naomi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Manager at South Bay Eco Adventures, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Naomi. We are pleased we got to cover so much ground with your private group. We look forward to showcasing the area to more Mornington Peninsula guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Viewing the tall ships”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just the best afternoon seeing the tall ships on Port Phillip complete with dolphins. Coats, hats and gloves provided and even hot chocolate! Skipper - Michael was a mine of information about the Bay, the other trips the company runs would be just as good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Owner at South Bay Eco Adventures, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
What a great trip it was Jane. It was certainly up there as one of my most enjoyable trips - the ships were just magnificent. And what a great group to do it with. Thank you for your most valuable feedback. We do hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience, Tall Ships up close with dolphins a bonus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

An spur of the moment decision led to a memorable trip to view the Tall Ships in Port Phillip Bay.
The trip from Queenscliff was surprisingly fast but also very cold so rug up, even under the coats that are provided. We were very grateful for the beanies and gloves that were thoughtfully provided and also the hot chocolate and bikies.
We spent a couple of hours sailing around the ships with plenty of great photo opportunities. Mike was happy to oblige all requests for manoeuvring his boat into the right place for a good shot.
The staff were all great.
We will look forward to our next trip with Eco Boat Tours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ros859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Owner at South Bay Eco Adventures, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review Rosalie. What a fabulous Spring day - sun out with a fresh breeze. A hot chocolate and bikkies were definitely in order to keep the camera trigger fingers working.
We are so glad you decided to join us for the rare treat of the International Tall Ship fleet leaving Port Phillip Heads, and we hope you decided to submit some of your images for our photo of the month competition in our newsletter. We look forward to seeing you perhaps on one of the many other tours we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ocean trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed this trip, with my wife we have to do refresher mind by looking at wide ocean, the birds fly. If I have children later, I take a boat tour here, because we can learn a lot, especially for young children.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Austin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Owner at South Bay Eco Adventures, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself aboard a tour with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Bay Eco Adventures also viewed

 
Queenscliff, Victoria
Queenscliff, Victoria
 

Been to South Bay Eco Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing