We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Pricey”
Review of BIG4 Beacon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BIG4 Beacon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Coogee WA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Too Pricey”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

On a trip around Australia with a caravan, we have stayed at many Big4 Caravan parks.
We pulled into Big4 Beacon Resort park, happy to have a look at the historic interesting area.
We were asked to pay $100.00 a night for a Long Weekend night. Powered Caravan Site.
This is too much.
We drove on to Geelong and stayed at the Big4 on the banks of the Barwon river.
We payed the usual $36-$38 a night for the same long weekend.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Geelong to all travellers and the Big4 Caravan park in Geelong ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank lejaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    92
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
205
111
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Black Rock, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Beacon Big4 using a midweek package they had available on their website. The unit we stayed in was like a house!! And was like no other caravan park cabin I've ever stayed at. Absolutely luxurious!! The facilities, including indoor heated pool, play centre style playground and free art and craft activities for the kids kept them entertained our entire stay and made for a relaxing holiday. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biancat1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My family regularly stay at Beacon Resort as it is great for the kids and therefore good for the parents. My kids love the pool, kids activities, tennis and basketball court and indoor games room. I enjoy the camp kitchen as it is always well maintained. Staff are friendly and courteous. Will keep coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Big4 Beacon Resort for a 4 day personal development retreat and was seriously impressed! The conference facilities were very good, and would work really well for a family reunion too. We had all meals provided as part of the package and the food was fabulous. For breakfast we had bacon, scrambled eggs, grilled tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms with spinach, toast, juice etc, the lunches were meat & salad or vegetarian wraps, and sushi; and dinners were lamb / salmon / steak with loads of beautiful vegetables or salad, with really fresh fruit platters. I was genuinely impressed by the catering team, who bent over backwards to put great meals in front of us. The villas we stayed in slept 4 - 6 people and (I think) all had 2 bathroom. The villas were large, new, spotlessly clean, with great natural light and really good living/cooking spaces. They were also really tastefully furnished, which just creates a lovely space to hand out in. There was a nice sized deck outside too. Even though the villas are in close proximity to each other, there is still a high degree of privacy through how each villa is positioned in relation to the others, and also through clever positioning of the windows. If you were there with several families, the shared BBQ space in between the villas would work beautifully. I was very impressed with the resort and would highly recommend it to families, as there seemed to be heaps of activities planned that kids could join in, as well as a pool etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Quite modern and very clean park with a slightly cramped feel. Many cabins and a fair number of very well-appointed sites, some of which are easy drive-throughs. Unfortunately there are relatively few trees for shade and screening, making the whole park seem very open and a bit exposed. Like most Big 4's, great for kids, especially with an indoor heated pool (which we didn't actually use!) However, for us as a middle aged caravanning couple with no kids, it wasn't quite the value for money that we usually look for. Never mind, it was quiet, the amenities were clean, the staff were great, and the location between Queenscliff and Point Lonsdale is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapientpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temora, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a well appointed and clean park in a reasonably quiet location. It is easy to monoeuvre caravans around and the sites are grassy with annex pads.

They have all facilities you need - kitchens, BBQ areas, pool and a spa. It is handy to Bellarine towns and tourist sites. TV and phone reception were both good.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and check-in was very quick.

I will be returning in March 2014.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnListon48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This BIG4 Resort is awesome, we were a group of 15 Mums & 35 kids with several visiting families over 6 days.
Most of us had the modern cabins close by the indoor heated pool and spa, shop, games room and communal kitchen. All facilities and cabins were very clean and they obviously take pride in keeping the gardens and park overall well maintained. There is plenty to do for all ages, a skate park for the bigger boys and even a free kids club daily which was a hit with the younger ones.
Some of us are pretty fussy and were very surprised on how well equipped the lovely modern cabins are and the friendly staff were great.
The sealed walk track by the beach which gets you right up to Point Lonsdale is a beautiful walk and only a couple of kms. Also good for bike rides and scootering.
We had average weather so fortunately the indoor pool and games room were a blessing!
Thanks for a great stay BIG4 Beacon Resort we hope to see you next September!!

Room Tip: There are both older style cabins and more modern cabins, so check out the website and make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
2.0 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
291 reviews
19.5 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
448 reviews
17.6 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Big4 Bellarine Holiday Park
Big4 Bellarine Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Marcus Hill
400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
158 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Beacon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Beacon Resort

Property: BIG4 Beacon Resort
Address: 78 Bellarine Highway, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Beacon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Resort, recipient of Victorian and Australian Tourism Awards in 2016, is located in Queenscliff, a coastal township 100km south-west of Melbourne. A holiday park resort set amongst native gardens opposite the beach, there are extensive year round facilities to suit a variety of holiday styles. Popular with families, children love the free daily activities and indoor playground, whilst adults appreciate the onsite day spa’s massage and beauty treatments, the indoor heated pool and function room for groups. Luxury one, two and three bedroom villas, contemporary self-contained cabins, apartments, hotel rooms plus caravan and camping sites provide the ideal base to explore Port Phillip Bay and the Bellarine Peninsula’s many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BIG4 Beacon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Beacon Resort Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing