We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and homely”
Review of Seaview House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seaview House
Ranked #2 of 9 Queenscliff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
1 review
“Very comfortable and homely”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great central location in Queenscliff and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Booked a two night midweek stay on Cudo website making it great value. Seaview House has old world charm about it and we enjoyed the quiet and comfortable environment which was very relaxing. It felt like home away from home.

Room Tip: We were offered a twin room which is a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewproprietor, Front Office Manager at Seaview House, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Seaview House; we are so pleased you had a lovely relaxing time with us. We like to make all our guests feel at home and provide every comfort for them during their stay. Midweek is a very peaceful time to visit Queenscliff and perfect if you need to getaway from the hustle and bustle and just relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
30
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We saw Seaview House on wotif.com after needing an alternate holiday destination. We were planning to go to apollo bay on the bus from geelong, but when we arrived in geelong, there were apparently no more buses. small inconvenience, but a quick look at where we could go, I decided Queenscliff. We arrived down there at 9pm, and Helen was still up to greet us. She promptly showed us around the building, the downstairs lounge, and bar, and then a small lounge room upstairs on our way to our room. She let us pick from two rooms which one we would like to stay in, and when we headed downstairs to get a couple of beers from the bar, my friend asked if she had any food or snacks. She came back a few minutes later with a plate of crisps, nuts and cheese and crackers. We felt very welcomed here, and it was so nice that Helen went out of her way. We slept well and left in the morning for Torquay. If I visit Queenscliff again, I will surely stay here, and recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A pleasant hotel in a great location. Used as a base to explore in and around Queenscliff. Owners very friendly and welcoming (thank you, Helen!) This deal was made through the Cudo website, making it great value! Breakfast down the road each morning at Beaches was fabulous. Dinner at Lombardys was sensational. The squid salad would be one of the best I have ever enjoyed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_piper1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewproprietor, Front Office Manager at Seaview House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Seaview House. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review - we really appreciate the great feedback. Beaches Cafe provide a delicious & hearty cooked breakfast and are only 2 doors away from us - we like to give our guests a full experience of their stay in Queenscliff; including a really good breakfast to start the day. So lovely to hear you loved your dinner at Lombardys & so handy for our guests to have such great dining options all within walking distance from us.

We hope to welcome you back some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Seaview was recommended to us by a friend and it turned out to be perfect for a weekend away. Helen was friendly and welcoming. The house was wonderful with an old world feel. Rooms perfect for a couples weekend away, lounge comfortable if you wanted to have a tea and sit back and relax. Very reasonably priced and central to everything in Queenscliff. Could not fault it and will certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for the claw foot bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidaysOnMyMind_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewproprietor, Front Office Manager at Seaview House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Seaview House; we really appreciate the lovely feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We like all our guests to feel like V.I.P's and at the same time provide excellent value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a great weekend. We went in May and that weekend the weather was very cold but the hotel made it a pleasurable stay. The hotel was lovely and cosy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful towards all our needs. The hotel had good heating and a there was a fire place in the lounge. It was very clean and comfortable. The rooms have character with the old style furniture. It is located centrally in a lovely old-town and the shops and restaurants are just down the road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Your visit starts with a friendly greeting from Helen and John. Then up the creaky steps to the charming old-time rooms. I was in number 7 with a claw-foot bath (bathroom otherwise very modern), a little kitchenette, and a charming sitting room/bedroom. There are lounges and a huge dining room, and open fire in winter, plenty of cups of tea, lots of books in the bookshelf -- just the way to while away a winter weekend by the sea. Centrally located in a lovely old-fashioned coastal village, Seaview House was nice and restful for me on my own, but just as welcoming to the large family party that was also there. The lack of soundproofing and elevator might bother some, but if you want to visit a seaside guesthouse just like in the novels, this one is for you.

Room Tip: Number 7 is roomy and looks out over the street with its own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Seaview House, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Many thanks for writing your review of our property here in Queenscliff - Seaview House - we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate the charm & character of our seaside guesthouse. All our guests love out central location in the main street of Queenscliff; so handy to all the attractions; beach, shops, galleries & harbour.

Regards,
Office Manager
Seaview House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Seaview House was an ideal weekend away for our large group of 9 couples. The large, friendly lounge areas were a comfy haven when the weather was not suitable for venturing outside.Helen and John provided our group with delicious and generous breakfasts, tea/coffee made available anytime throughout the day. Seaview House is conveniently located for walking and eating - the friendly staff helpful with suggestions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
0.1 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queenscliff Inn
The Queenscliff Inn
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.0 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview House

Property: Seaview House
Address: 86 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1875, Seaview House offers a warm and friendly environment with traditional guesthouse charm and ambience. There are 14 guest rooms each with ensuite, television and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Seaview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview House Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing