We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaview House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaview House
Ranked #2 of 9 Queenscliff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a great weekend. We went in May and that weekend the weather was very cold but the hotel made it a pleasurable stay. The hotel was lovely and cosy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful towards all our needs. The hotel had good heating and a there was a fire place in the lounge. It was very clean and comfortable. The rooms have character with the old style furniture. It is located centrally in a lovely old-town and the shops and restaurants are just down the road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
30
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Your visit starts with a friendly greeting from Helen and John. Then up the creaky steps to the charming old-time rooms. I was in number 7 with a claw-foot bath (bathroom otherwise very modern), a little kitchenette, and a charming sitting room/bedroom. There are lounges and a huge dining room, and open fire in winter, plenty of cups of tea, lots of books in the bookshelf -- just the way to while away a winter weekend by the sea. Centrally located in a lovely old-fashioned coastal village, Seaview House was nice and restful for me on my own, but just as welcoming to the large family party that was also there. The lack of soundproofing and elevator might bother some, but if you want to visit a seaside guesthouse just like in the novels, this one is for you.

Room Tip: Number 7 is roomy and looks out over the street with its own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Seaview House, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Many thanks for writing your review of our property here in Queenscliff - Seaview House - we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate the charm & character of our seaside guesthouse. All our guests love out central location in the main street of Queenscliff; so handy to all the attractions; beach, shops, galleries & harbour.

Regards,
Office Manager
Seaview House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Seaview House was an ideal weekend away for our large group of 9 couples. The large, friendly lounge areas were a comfy haven when the weather was not suitable for venturing outside.Helen and John provided our group with delicious and generous breakfasts, tea/coffee made available anytime throughout the day. Seaview House is conveniently located for walking and eating - the friendly staff helpful with suggestions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Spent a Saturday night here to attend a wedding. Reception staff were not very friendly, but adequate. We stayed in room 17 which was tight for space, very small bathroom with nowhere to put toiletries really. All a bit dated but comfortable enough. Overall ok, much more reasonably priced than a lot of the other places in queenscliff. $150 for the night, breakfast not included.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We chose Seaview House after a long flight and drive, just by the quaint appearance. Even though it was late on a Sunday afternoon, Helen was very friendly and helpful, gave us tips for our evening meal. We loved the atmosphere of the House, very quaint furnishings. Our bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom adequate. Everything was very clean. The guest lounge is fantastic with open fire and big comfy sofas. We felt like we were guests in someone's home. We have wonderful memories of our stay and could not have been made more welcome. Rates were excellent for 3 adults.

Room Tip: There are stairs and our room at the back was down a lot of corridors but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had a great weekend at Seaview Guest House so much going for it... adequate sized room, separate clean bathroom, coffee/tea available anytime, large friendly common lounge areas with fireplace huge tv, books newspapers & games, dining areas to enjoy our fish n chips. Casual, friendly & helpful staff especially Helen & John - thanks for a great relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I went with a group of friends. Location is great, close to restaurants and cafes.
The building itself is appealing with great character. We noticed upon entering the front door, the cob webs on the eaves and around the light above were very thick had been there a very long time! Not a good start!
Our greeting was friendly and we were quickly sorted and shown to our room. The room was very tired indeed, in need of a full makeover and freshen up.
We met up with our friends in the large lounge which was well furnished and had a wonderful fireplace. It was a great meeting place with a group of friends.
Upon returning to our room to retire for the night, we removed the quilt to discover a cream blanket which had numerous long hairs on it! The sheets had small stains of ink or the like, but the sheets seemed clean and fresh however.
I had intended to have a cup of tea before going to bed, but after discovering the kettle was kept in the bathroom vanity which was right next to the toilet bowl in the bathroom, I quickly decided against that idea!
The bed was ok, but we did roll into the middle a bit,
The bathroom had mouldy bits, the vinyl floor was long overdue for replacement, and there were long hairs stuck to the wall up above the door height, along with dust and fluff. These had not been cleaned in a long time. The shower had an old showerhead that leaked profusely, but gave a nice shower.
The ceiling fan in the bedroom also had lots of built up dust, not very appealing.
On our second night's stay, a number of new guests arrived. They were extemely noisy until well after 2 in the morning, yelling up and down the corridor outside our doors. If I hadn't have been awake watching the rugby, there may have been stern words over their inconsiderate behaviour. We were disappointed that there was no effort made to ask them to consider the other guests staying that night.
The noisy guests departed early the following morning, ensuring we all knew they were up and leaving! Very thoughtful on a Sunday morning - NOT!
We eventually started to get ready for our own departure, only to find there was absolutely no hot water for a showers. None of our group had a hot shower that morning.
The manager did apologise about the hot water issue, saying it was perhaps a pilot light that had gone out, but we certainly did have a 'fresh' start to our morning.
It was nice to catch up with our old friends, but I wouldn't return to this establishment for another stay.

Room Tip: Very disappointing for the price. A few cleanliness issues. Definitely try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MysteryGuest61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewproprietor, Manager at Seaview House, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for all your comments and feedback we are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We endeavour to provide excellent value for money to all our guests and as such receive positive feedback often & repeat bookings generally. We have taken action to remedy all noted faults.

Thank you.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
0.1 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.8 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queenscliff Inn
The Queenscliff Inn
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.0 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview House

Property: Seaview House
Address: 86 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1875, Seaview House offers a warm and friendly environment with traditional guesthouse charm and ambience. There are 14 guest rooms each with ensuite, television and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview House Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing