We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Portsea B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for a getaway!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This one of the newest additions on the peninsula and nestled in the Portsea Golf Club. Everything is modern, clean and well appointed. The rooms are nicely decorated albeit on the snug side (they are European size). There was a small fridge, nice TV but the ensuite only had a shower. We had a room overlooking the golf course with bay glimpses and a balcony; it was pleasant to sit outside and read. We ate out due to the myriad of eateries in Portsea, Sorrento and elsewhere. Would recommend for both business and pleasure. PS staff were very pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivz_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, General Manager at Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort and your review. I am please you had an enjoyable stay. I have also past you feedback to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Duncan Mars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    85
    44
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
130
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly,efficient and helpful. They made our stay even more memorable, going above and beyond. Rooms were clean and decor nice, views from balcony in each room. Great golf destination. Restaurant prices reasonable for dinner. If Mercure adds a pool and gym this would be a fantastic resort.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, General Manager at Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding my staff, we are delighted you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Duncan Mars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times. Great location and knowledgable staff. Staff helped us with reservations at the mornington hot springs. Close to the beaches and the portsea pub. Simple rooms but it is all you need. The hotel is new with nice finishes. Parking is free and easy

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maersf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us and that my team have helped you with your hot springs reservation.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Duncan Mars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I want to give this spot a 4 but I just can't. It's new and there are some bugs to work out..We could not access a message left for us and the clerk could not explain how to work the phone...but it didn't work. But those issues will be solved and the property is pretty nice. However, due to its kind of remote location we opted to have breakfast at the hotel. They told us the price $26 Aus per person which is quite expensive even for Australia what they didn't say was that it was bad. An indifferent buffet with coffee from a machine...bad coffee. When I asked if they could make a real "flat white" they were happy to do so...for an extra fee. Outrageous. This was far and away the worst dining experience we had in a month in the Melbourne area.

So the property is nice, overlooking a beautiful golf course. The rooms are quite nice...but avoid the dining room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickkamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, General Manager at Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank-you for your review, based on your feedback, we have implemented training with staff on the operation of the telephone systems to ensure that we can assist with every guest query or request.

We are pleased to advise that our breakfast offering has been improved to offer a continental buffet and a la carte hot breakfast option which is receiving positive feedback from our guests, I welcome you to visit us for breakfast on your next stay to experience these improvements.

Kind regards
Dunacn Mars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
134 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was in Portsea for a friend's birthday and stayed only one night. My room was pleasant with a comfortable bed and a great shower (spacious and good water pressure). The staff were friendly but had only limited knowledge outside their specialist areas. I only had one meal (lunch) there and the food was good as was the view over the golf course.
What didn't I like about the Mercure?
1. The location - a short drive from the town but a longish, about 2km, walk. (Yes, I know that I should have checked this before booking!)
2. The lack of 'resort' facilities - apart from golf, there was nothing else, no pool, no fitness centre.
3. The price - I can get a 5 star hotel in Sydney's CBD (at corporate rate) for less than I paid for the Portsea Mercure.
Overall, if you are fixated on golf, the Portsea Mecure might suit you, otherwise, no.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, General Manager at Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

I am pleased that you enjoyed your room, meal and our spectacular views. The resort has been designed around golf and the Portsea Golf Club.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Duncan Mars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsea
13.8 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portsea Hotel
Portsea Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portsea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Portsea Village Resort
Portsea Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Portsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort

Property: Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort
Address: 46 London Bridge Rd, Portsea, Victoria 3944, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Portsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Portsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new multi-million dollar Mercure Portsea Golf Club & Resort is set alongside Portsea Golf Club as part of a fully integrated resort complex. The exclusive location along the Mornington Peninsula provides the perfect backdrop for a unique and memorable occasion. Set amongst rolling sand dunes and coastal vegetation with spectacular views across Port Phillip Bay, the 18 hole, and 5,747 meters par 71 layout is consistently ranked in the top 50 golf courses in Australia. A number of recent design improvements combined with strategic bunkering, undulating Santa Ana couch fairways and slick greens make Portsea an enjoyable challenge for golfers of all standards. Located a short 1.5 hours drive from Melbourne, Victoria, our Mercure Resort Portsea Accommodation is the perfect place for a holiday getaway. Within close proximity to beaches, national parks, shops, cafés & restaurants you will never be short of things to do. Relax on our restaurant balcony and soak in the views of the beautiful golf course surroundings. The Mercure Portsea Golf Club & Resort in Melbourne, Victoria has 24 boutique style accommodation rooms including a Bridal Suite all with a private balcony. We also offer “stay & play” packages if you are after a perfect golf getaway.Our Mercure Portsea Accommodation is the perfect place to host your next event or conference. Offering a variety of conference & events packages, catering for up to 130 guest's banquet style or 190 guests cocktail style. Our dedicated events team is happy to work with you to tailor one of our packages to meet your specific requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing