We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Portsea near the pier”
Review of Portsea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portsea Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Portsea B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location in Portsea near the pier”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Old style pub which is in very good condition and the rooms are fine. The one we had was smallish but had a view up the coast and an ensuite - all in good condition.

Having a drink outside in the beer garden as the sun goes down before moving in front of the fire inside as the evening chill sets in was a great experience. Food was good and staff were friendly and efficient. A dodgy glass of wine (bottle open too long?) was replaced speedily and without question.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a bit of a view of Port Phillip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    43
    46
    40
    48
See reviews for
52
68
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Anyone staying here should understand that this is budget accommodation so expect basic facilities. I've stayed here many times and whilst the accommodation isn't great it is exactly what you should expect for the money.

Downstairs the food, service and beer selection is great, never disappointed whether its the summer high season or the middle of winter.

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay, this is it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

When down at the end of The Mornington Peninsula and after walking around Point Nepean nothing better than a cold beer or a glass of wine at The Portsea Hotel looking out over Port Phillip Bay watching the Queenscliff to Sorrento ferry going back & forth or one of the many cargo ships entering and leaving the port of Melbourne. The Leader of The Opposition and myself sat out there last Saturday enjoying a meal and a beer or 2. The meals are good but not excellent by any means. My Swordfish ($28.00) must have had a rough life as it was a bit tough not a delicate fish by any means and the other meal was a Tabbouleh Salad ($20.00) describe as OK. There is not any table service you queue to order your meal then you queue again to order your drinks and carry them back to the table.I regard this Hotel as average food and service but the view is worth it on a sunny day

Room Tip: Its worth a try just don't expect any service and be prepared to queue for meals and drinks Tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visitors from Queensland "Lets go to Portsea Pub". As a local I had hear mixed reviews and read )on this site and others) some good/some not so good. Our experience - EXCELLENT friendly young guy found our table and greeted us in a friendly manner and explained ordering process. Also explained specials. Off to drinks and no problem with our order. Champers was a little flat so no issue about a replacement glass. Very friendly face at meals order counter and a quick seamless process there. Then out came our food - very generous serves all round (2x each dish for the four of us). The salt and pepper callimari was well presented with very tender pieces (plenty) and a very nice salad and aoli dressing. The traditional fish and chips was a generous servng with three large fish chips and salad. Positive comments from all at the table - great views on a lovely day. If others complain on one of these sites - why don't they have the internal fortitude to speak to management AT THE TIME??? We will be back. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: If dining, park in the 2 hr parks at shops across the road. Easy stroll to the Portsea Pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenandmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Location perfect - everything else terrible. Owners please take you have lots of room for improvement. Just booked a table of 10 to celebrate a family birthday. When we arrived and walked towards dining room the whole kitchen staff seemed to stop and watch us like we were in a zoo - surely they have seen people arrive before whats with that! Ordered food on two dockets, cashier knew we were on the same table, obviously we had same table number and all stayed together at the till. when the food arrived half the table got their food and had finished before the other 5 of us got ours - surely thats just not on! I wouldnt do that at home let alone expect it where I had just paid $40 for dips and bruschetta (and that was just one serve of each to nibble on before everyone arrived very exy). Food very very very average. Almost nil vegetarian food options available, salad options basically just a huge bowl of lettuce leaves - shocking. Steak so bad family member did not want to pay for it but decided not to make a fuss. This bistro is also taking itself sooooo seriously that it states that no menu variations are accepted - do you not take into account people's allergies and just plain dislikes of certain foods. Guys the choice is limited to start with how arrogant to make it uncomfortable for people to ask for a variation that suits THEM the overpaying customer. God forbid you have satisfied clients. Have you guys checked your rating on urban spoon only 32% like - that must be so embarrassing.
I have to say honestly I will never eat at the Portsea Hotel again and neither will the people with us on Sunday night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsea hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This weekend (16th March '13) my girlfriend and I attended a wedding in Portsea and stayed at the Hotel in a twin room on Saturday night....After reading reviews here I was very apprehensive about what it would be like.. I can't speak highly enough of the wonderful time we had here. Our room was small but beautifully clean, shared bathroom/toilet was spotless and a couple of steps from our room. The staff were very helpful, friendly and only too willing to accommodate us in anyway. Had a beautiful breakfast (inclusive of cost) and later, came back for lunch. The food was fabulous, although a little overpriced. Portions were huge and therefore a little wasteful, but that is not a criticism, more a personal observance. I have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Portsea pub is in a great location with an awesome beer garden over looking the ocean. I'd highly recommend it for a place to have a drink but that is where it stops. Each time I have eaten at the pub I swear never again but for some reason give it another shot. The owners take advantage of the location and the fact it is the only real place to get something to eat in the area. The menu is full of over priced food that is far from tasty. I'd be happy to pay the prices if the food was actually decent but it's far from it. Each meal I have had there (approx 5) has lacked flavour, been over cooked and slapped together on a plate. The staff must be over worked and under paid as a smile is few and far between. It'd be great to see something open up and give the pub some decent competition.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsea
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
294 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
13.7 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portsea Village Resort
Portsea Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Portsea
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsea Hotel

Property: Portsea Hotel
Address: 3746 Point Nepean Rd, Portsea, Victoria 3944, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Portsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Portsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portsea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing