We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience!”
Review of Portsea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portsea Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Portsea B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2012

So looked forward to coming here. Meal was ok but service,seating and atmosphere was the worst. The staff weren't interested in making your night important,they didn't seem to care about anything. Rote questions with no response to anything you asked. I would not comehereagain and I would not recommend! Ever!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jojouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Portsea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 220 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently had some family from Overseas, and we took them to the very well-known Portsea pub for lunch; as they were on holiday we arrived at approx. 2.35. We walked in and were yelled at from behind the bar as to where to sit etc., We found a seat and went to order our food to be told we couldn’t order that as it was 5 minutes after the official lunch time; as there was a sign out the front stating 'specials' we were appalled to discover we were not within the correct time bracket - Which as NOT listed on the sign out the front. We should have left at this point. But we stayed, we got our mains with Entree's, staff yelling at us from behind the bar - common courtesy is free!! When errors were pointed out staff simply signed and walked away. This place is a national icon on the Peninsula and we have a large Family; None of us will go back after that day. This place will be closed down in a few years, because all the people I’ve told about this day – also have a horror story relating to the same venue. Management needs lessons in well…. managing. Look else where.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ciaraMUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed recently, bedroom with ensuite was overpriced, bouncers and bar staff were pushy and rude. The hotel relies to much on its location and scenery to get by but this is not enough. Will not be stayin there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Not only was the food good but they were massive. Looking for a lazy day out with amazing views the I would highly recommend this hotel. The service couldn't have been better

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The rooms are old, no toilet or basin, saturday nights the hotel is a nightclub so you can hear all the music up stairs as if you were in the night club. The beds were uncomfortable and there is no air conditioning. I've slept in some cheap hotels before and not complained but for the price you pay I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljurczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We paid extra and got a room with the lounge and ensuite. Not cheap. The biggest disappoinment with this historic hotel is that it seems now to be designed purely to get large numbers of customers in for a meal and get them out again. There is food seating for hundreds but yet there is almost nothing in the way of comfortable bars lounges to have drinks and look out to the wonderful vista of the bay . The vacuuming of the accommodation corridors starts at 7am which is a bit rude. The breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: If you want an ensuite then you need to pay extra.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Short stay here during January with the family, weekend break from Melbourne. For the rates which we got you cant really complain, the room was clean, and location was very good. Buffet breakfast is excellent value and perfect way to start the day with the fantastic views overlooking the beach, Golf was just up the road within walking distance, perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SfamilyMleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsea
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
307 reviews
13.7 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
493 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Portsea Golf Club and Resort
2.2 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portsea Village Resort
Portsea Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Portsea
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsea Hotel

Address: 3746 Point Nepean Rd, Portsea, Victoria 3944, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Portsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Portsea
Price Range: $97 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portsea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Portsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing