We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot, nice place, food ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portsea Hotel Bistro

Portsea Hotel Bistro
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Portsea
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open air and undercover dining overlooking Poert Philip Bay in the historic Portsea Hotel
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice spot, nice place, food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Is it just me or is it getting really expensive to eat and drink at the portsea pub? Still the venue and location are great. Food is ok, nothing to rave about but it's always ok. The fireplaces inside are a treat in winter.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mdje2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    122
    74
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yea, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I have been to the Portsea pub a few times and have not been disappointed. On a Sunday afternoon it is buzzing and the live music gives it atmosphere. The sun was shining so my friends and I sat outside and enjoyed the view. On a weeknight it is quieter and more intimate. The food is of good pub quality.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarzcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caulfield, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a disappointment.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Maybe it was just that it was a Wednesday night, but my group of eight felt like we were an imposition on the few staff actually working. How an a pub with such a good reputation take a booking for 7.30pm, and then tell you as you are being shown to your table, that the kitchen is going to close at 8.00pm. The food itself was ok; certainly not special. The variety of beers was good though.
And don't ask for a taxi. We did. Booking taken, and half an hour later when we went back into the pub to see what was happening, we were told "oh, it could take hours for a taxi". Why didn't they mention that when we booked the cab in the first place.
The Portsea Pub has a great reputation, and it may have been well deserved in the past. Not any more!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Meals !!??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Don't eat here!!.. it used to be good but now we just had a meal here and discovered "flies" in the process of dying and falling onto our tables whilst we were waiting for our meals to be served!!
The meals themselves we rate at a 2 out 10 as the meals were served on overused chopping boards with a dry spicy salad just tonged onto the chopping block and meals were served pretty much cold. Steak was only 5mm thick and still raw in the middle, hamburger was $25 had NO egg, had too much chilly sauce and appeared to be just slapped together . The next day we tried our luck at the Rye RSL and could not fault the cleanliness and the quality of the food there and at a third of the price for your family and meals were nice and hot too.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great spot to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Food very tood and excellent value. Loved the view from deck. Jugs of sangria - great !! Busy but service good

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank riverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsea Hotel Bistro also viewed

Sorrento, Mornington Peninsula
 
Sorrento, Mornington Peninsula
Sorrento, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Portsea Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing