We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Aurora Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurora Cottages
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Totally Loved the experience at Aurora Cottages
We stayed in the Mountain View House which was more than we expected.
Full kitchen features, complimentary wine, bread & MIlk.
Spa was great. Open shower, fireplace, banana lounge chairs outside, 50inch TV, Blu-ray (also DVDs & Blu-Ray movies were provided),Surround Sound, NIce couch, amazingly comfy King sized bed!!
Wildlife around the property was also quite a delight
The service was great.
We actually found it difficult to participate in all the activities we wanted to do at the Grampians considering how great it was to stay at Aurora!
Thanks Again
Stan

Room Tip: Just relax and take it all in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed recently at Aurora Cottages(The Mountain View). Was exactly as the pictures looked, Very luxurious. I preferred these cottages as opposed to any five star hotel room because I had wanted to cook for her. and it came with almost everything you could possibly think of to use for any such meal.

All the extras you get with this from the widescreen tv for watching movies from either the lounge area, or the sleeping area, when you want to just relax after a day of taking in the sites. To the spa bath surrounded in candles.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the Grampians area, Halls Gap only minutes by car, have quite a few nice scenic walks.

I would also recommend to drive slowly along the dirt road known as Tunnel Road that the property is situated on, for there are around a hundred kangaroos just hopping around!

Would gladly visit again around the same time next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the Aurora Cottages(Six Seasons) for three nights. We were after a relaxing, quiet time in close proximity to the Grampians. We were certainly not disappointed, Six Seasons is perfect for a couples retreat. The setting surrounding the cottages is tranquil, peaceful and beautiful. From waking up early and walking through bushland, reading on the hammock or deck to nights in front of the fire, we were very happy with our stay.

The cottage itself had everything you could want, it was spotless on entry and each night we had firewood prepared for us. The open living works nicely in this cottage and the rotating widescreen TV was a winner, being able to watch the Olympics in front of the fire in the evening and at night in bed on the TV was a pleasant surprise.

Despite their being two other cottages on the land it feels very much like your own private getaway, surrounded by nature, kangaroos and silence. The outdoor decking with relaxing deck chairs is the perfect way to spend a lazy afternoon. At night the spa/fire and entertainment system are ideal.

Would recommend Aurora Cottages to anyone seeking a peaceful and stylish time within close proximity to the Grampians.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2012. The property is nice but the cottage (six seasons) is built very poorly with fittings falling off here and there. There is no insulation and despite having the fire and the reverse cycle aircon going it was still extremely cold in the mornings. At the end of a day hiking we returned to have a spa only to find there was NO hot water! It had run out because the hot water is only connected off peak. For the price of this place you should be able to have hot water when ever you want it. In saying this the location is lovely, the place was immaculately clean and the kitchen is great. Just very disappointing they failed in the execution of a property with such potential.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank BNic_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were so impressed with the location, the setting and the property itself. The facilities are excellent and the peace was unnerving at first but welcome. The owner is responsive and accommodating. The area is a great place to go with great views, vineyards and Mackenzie's Falls were fantastic. The people in the area are friendly. We didn't want to leave Aurora Cottages and would have retired there if we could. We will be back!

Room Tip: Just book it quickly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have a lovely stay in the remote location that the cottage was located and yet it is very quick to get to Halls Gap and the other wonderful sites that the Grampians have to offer. As the other reviews have said, there is plenty of opportunity to kick back and watch wildlife from the veranda or to enjoy all the mod cons inside the cottage. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

It was an amazing 5 nights stay during Easter and everything was perfect. The remote location, the little pond where kangaroos came for water or even for a ...swim, the sky watching at night, wildlife every morning...
About the house itself, the only word that comes to mind is Excellence. It has everything you need and everything works, from the coffee machine to the aircon and spa.Also, the spa, firplace and the huge bedroom window with remote controlled blinds just made our stay excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucianMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pomonal
4.0 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
4.4 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Blaze Rock Retreat
Blaze Rock Retreat
#1 of 1 in Pomonal
17 reviews
5.4 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
154 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grampians Chalets
Grampians Chalets
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Cottages

Address: 300 Tunnel Rd, Pomonal, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap > Pomonal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pomonal
Price Range: $112 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aurora Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Cottages Pomonal, Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing