We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well-managed park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Fyans Holiday Park
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great location, well-managed park”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We took a powered site during a school holiday week. Surprised there were so few in the park, but maybe they come the next week for Easter and the nearby Stawell Gift. The lake is beautifully backdropped by the Grampian mountain range and there is a wide sandy beach between the park and the water. Fantastic for warm, sunny days, but we only had one of those and we went to the Zoo (excellent too). Abundant and vocal bird life. Big grassy sites with power, water and sullage. Modern dump point. Good clean amenities, although some not open during low season. Tip: hot water slow to come through if you're first to the showers, but when it does come it's hot and strong. Top Tourist Park discounts for members.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    12
    8
    12
See reviews for
60
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Lake Fyans Holiday park on a powered site for 5 days we had a great stay.The Park was excellent, facilities very clean the only thing was when we first arrived the only amenities that were open were the unisex toilets with only 2 toilets and 2 showers they opened the normal amenities block when extra campers arrived.The owner/manager and staff were very helpful and friendly, we had a meal at the Bistro which was great. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater on Loddon, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our family (13 persons) - stayed 3-5 nights, the park in an excellent locations, facilities fairly clean, not fully serviced daily just a make over. The owner/ manager is very arrogant and has poor combination skills. Be aware of not receiving park rules, then be rudely approached and accused of not abiding by firewood sizes/ regulations. There seems to be different rules for permanents to visitors. i recommend visitors bring own cooking facilities as most park BBQ's are either free or 20 cent slot type, but this park has $1 minimum and it cost our family $8.00 to cook a basic BBQ. One member of our family was charged a $10.00 late check out to leave his packed up camper trailer within the park to dry out after overnight rain (1 hr duration) no consideration given to our family after having spent well over $1000 during our stay. Due to the attitude of management on many trivial issues, of which he never offered an apology when proven wrong and always approached the women and when confronted at the office on issues sent the women staff out to discuss the matter of concern. I would recommend to think twice about staying here as there are better and cheaper parks within the Halls Gap/ Grampians area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pomonal hotels

Bendigo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great spot for Camping and fishing. The kids enjoyed their stay. However management were very rude and arrogant. Facilities were clean and camp sites were of good size. Beware of management and due to their rudeness and arrogance I would not recommend this holiday park there are plenty of other parks in the area that have better facilities etc.

Room Tip: Beware of management
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in an unpowered camp site with another family (separate tents). 4 adults and 5 kids aged between 5 and 8 between us. None of us had gone camping before so we really had no idea what we were in for. I think we were spoilt for this as our first camping trip! The camp sites were amazing! SO much space (mind you that did partially relate to us choosing a good spot!). We had room for our tents, a gazebo and the kids could play cricket and footy right in front of us. We were still a reasonable walk to the toilets etc. The amenities weren't completely amazing, but certainly adequate and clean so we were happy. Having the park situated right on Lake Fyans was an extra special bonus. We spent 3 nights there and didn't feel the need to go anywhere else, kids were happy playing by our camp site or in the lake or beach. They were barely interested in the pool or playground (which were fine, but they preferred the trees, sticks and the lake!). The web site honestly does not do this place justice, we had no idea we were going to find such a beautiful camping location, nor how gorgeous and kid friendly the lake was. We are definitely planning to come back, can't wait!
Our only complaint was the noise due to it being so busy (long weekend). Mind you, our camp site meant we were away from most of it at least and the park noise settled by midnight. The worst of all was across the road was "Planet Claire" (according to the sign). I really do hope this is not a regular occurrence, but on 2 of the nights there were young people playing EXTREMELY LOUD dance music till 2-3am and as a result a dog barked all night too (probably protesting to the noise!)!! No sleep was had by the adults as a result (kids didn't care) :(

Room Tip: We stayed on the road side of the camp site, the sound of passing vehicles was less than ideal (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Spent the long weekend at this park and they have many rules on noise,fires,speed,dogs,just to name a few. The only problem is they are not enforced. No noise after 10.30pm only loud music, yelling . No push bikes after dusk, only kids skidding around at 11.00 pm. If you are going to have rules enforce them .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hi - we split our trip - 3 nights Lake Fyans, 3 nights Lakeside - both have pluses and negatives. We had a two bedroom cabin I believe was $225 per night at Lake Fyans

Plus side
- great cabin!!! Large and clean - as cabins go one of the better
- the lake! Hidden treasure - sandy and is shallow for long way out so ideal for young kids and for people with boats. We'll be back for the Lake!


Down side
- we booked for bistro and when we turned up no table - rather than be apologetic and explain we got "what do you want me to do about it?" - on the flipside someone tracked us down next day to apologize
- way out of Halls Gap - too far for kids to ride
- staff somewhat unfriendly - I think they've been there too long
- your website undersells you - far better than your website shows
- pool too small

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pomonal
4.6 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
6.4 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
5.3 mi away
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Fyans Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Fyans Holiday Park

Property: Lake Fyans Holiday Park
Address: 650 Mokepilly Rd | The Grampians, Pomonal, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap > Pomonal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pomonal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Fyans Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make this your best stay in the Grampians with Lake Fyans Holiday Park We look forward to welcoming you to the Grampians and Lake Fyans Holiday Park and invite you to experience superior red cedar unit or deluxe cabin accommodation, caravan park or camping holiday alternative. At Lake Fyans just sit back relax and surround yourself with the sounds of nature, or there is heaps to do. Halls Gap and the Grampians National Park are just 12 minutes drive away and Stawell, for shopping, is only 10 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Lake Fyans Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Fyans Holiday Park Pomonal, Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing