We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in front of the lake... Awesome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Fyans Holiday Park
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Stayed in front of the lake... Awesome!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in front of the lake and Grampians mountain. It was a 2 bedroom cabin and a car parking just adjacent to the unit. The holiday park have all the facilities but laundry is common i.e there are 3 common laundry rooms are available around the holiday park. You have to use $2 to operate it.

As this holiday park is close to the lake and lot of trees around it , so beware of mosquitoes and don't forget to close the fly screens. My parents loved this place and I would recommend everyone to stay here at least one time.

Pros:
Beautiful view, clean cabins, well equipped kitchen, car parking and all other amenities

Cons:
No dishwasher, laundry inside the cabin (But these are not serious issues)

Room Tip: Choose Grampians View Cedar Units (2 bed room with Spa or without Spa). These units are just opposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onlyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    12
    8
    12
See reviews for
60
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This review relates to camping in the non-powered camping area. Last year our family booked into Lake Fyans Holiday Park because we wanted a family camping holiday during Easter in the Grampians but all the camping grounds in Halls Gap were booked out. Easter this year though we chose specifically to stay at Lake Fyans Holiday Park because of the positive experience we had had there the year before. Lake Fyans Holiday Park is a large caravan park that has all types of accommodation options: - cabins, powered van sites and an extensive camping area (powered and non-powered). Unless you book months in advance the only area available at Easter is the non-powered camping area (people were booking a year ahead while I was in reception). You also have to book for a minimum number of nights over Easter (five nights this year). It is fairly pricey for a site (about $40/couple and about $65/four adults). Booking is directly through their website. The camping area is “unstructured”; in other words, no marked sites. Just grab an area when you get there. The big advantage with the camping area is that there are numerous ground-level fireplaces just perfect for sitting around on a cold April night (wood can be purchased on site, or bring your own). If you are early you can site your tent next to one and virtually have it to yourself. There are two large covered recreation areas with ample seating, BBQs and powerpoints that people were constantly using to charge their mobile phones and ipods. It is recommended not to camp too close to the recreation areas because they are a bit of a hangout for groups of teenagers, who can be quite loud well into the night. The lake is a major attraction and there are many who fish or motor-boat on it. The Park is a few kilometres out of Halls Gap (the main tourist town) but still handy. Another interesting feature is the licensed bistro that serves meals Saturday night and Sunday morning. We had an enjoyable meal on Easter Saturday there.

Room Tip: Get there early for the best tent sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We were looking for a family-based holiday park in The Grampians, that offered good value 2 bedroom cabins, and this one popped up on Wotif.

The park is located on the shores of Lake Fyans, which is about halfway between Stawell and Hall's Gap.

The lake is currently quite full, and the boat ramp offers excellent access for fishing and other activities.

The Park has a medium sized pool, which had enough room for the 10 - 15 kids (ours included) who spent most of the afternoons there. There are numerous bbq's that are kept quite clean and cost around 40c - 60c per "cook-up" to use (in 20c lots).

The cabins are well appointed with solid beds and bunks and all the cutlery and crockery you'll need. We catered both of our nights, and didn't try the lakeside bistro on the Saturday evening.

Positives: Nice cabins with and places to relax. Good pool for kids. Beautiful views of the mountains over the lake.
Negatives: A little bit "in the middle of nowhere", so if you have forgotten anything it's around a 20m drive to Stawell. Beds could be considered quite hard, but that maybe good for some.

Notes for "newbies"... Don't sleep with your window open in the night.. The Corella Parrots congregate in the gum trees at around 6am, and make the most awful racket! Excellent for the early morning wake up... :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avonleanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

A family friendly park, very clean and well organized. Pool, kids play area and lovely view from the cabins.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamarpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Good things first; Large pitches, quiet location, nice pool, clean facilities.
Our stay was marred, however, by the attitude of one of the owners and their ambiguous policies. We followed their written camp fire policy and gathered dry wood cut off site only to find that the owner had collected the fire with our wood in it and was quite rude when we asked for it back. She also wanted $20 per night for the fire and told us that we could only burn the wood that they sold us, which was still green & smoked. We didn't use the fire on the next night as it was too windy, having said that we wished for the fire drum to be available for the duration of our stay. Nevertheless it was collected with the remainder of the wood that we had bought and the wood that we had collected.
Bob did come to see us after we complained and we discussed the ambiguity of the unwritten policy on providing fire drums and the written policy that we were following that was in the information that we were provided with and the information displayed throughout the campsite. Bobs info also differed from Milenas. Bob said that the hire of the firedrum was $5 per night and the purchase of the wood was $15 per bag. This lack of consistency and the fact that neither offered to return the wood that we had gathered or purchased really spoiled our experience.
We were also disappointed when we wished to use the camp kitchen on Thursday night to be told that we couldn't as a fishing party would be using it at the weekend. Again, according to Milena, a change of use that differed from the information displayed in the camp kitchen and seemed to suit the owner rather than the guest. Nobody was using the camp kitchen that evening and another family informed us that they were told to leave it! We had to use a smaller camp kitchen right on the other side of the camp site.
Wouldn't go back to this site again. We felt that we were more of an inconvenience than a paying guest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank AldingaCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pomonal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pomonal
4.6 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
6.4 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
5.3 mi away
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
5.4 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Fyans Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Fyans Holiday Park

Property: Lake Fyans Holiday Park
Address: 650 Mokepilly Rd | The Grampians, Pomonal, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap > Pomonal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pomonal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Fyans Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make this your best stay in the Grampians with Lake Fyans Holiday Park We look forward to welcoming you to the Grampians and Lake Fyans Holiday Park and invite you to experience superior red cedar unit or deluxe cabin accommodation, caravan park or camping holiday alternative. At Lake Fyans just sit back relax and surround yourself with the sounds of nature, or there is heaps to do. Halls Gap and the Grampians National Park are just 12 minutes drive away and Stawell, for shopping, is only 10 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Fyans Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Fyans Holiday Park Pomonal, Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing