We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
BIG4 Beacon Resort(Queenscliff)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vue Grand Hotel(Queenscliff)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Boat Ramp Motel(Ocean Grove)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Moody's Motel(Blairgowrie)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
40
55
22
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
55
22
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseacross the roaddining roomlight houseold world charmrooms are cleanfamily roomhosts suetable tennis tablefriendly servicebuffet breakfastguest kitchena great stayself caterclose to townolder style roomsfree nibbles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 124 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a large & impressive 1880s two storey building , the way the gentry used to live then , but the way we all want to live now. Real pleasure to stay here , out of season fortunately as you probably wouldn't be able to get a room , in season. Our rooms had good bathroom , comfortable bed ,fridge , TV & own private verandah with leisure furniture. We also had excess to very well furnished & generous guests lounge room & one of the best furnished dining rooms you could expect to find anywhere. Well received at booking in & great breakfast next morning.
Located just behind the beach , lighthouse & HISTORIC DEFENCE fortresses plus Nat Parks jetty of large scale but in dangerous for boating area. You can walk to everywhere from this place,good modern village with pleasant shops, good childrens entertainment park & all opposite the beach. Dining options were close to nil being out of season but short car trip to Queenscliff had everything you could ask for. Local Bowling Club (surprisingly) had best meal options. All within easy drive from car ferry to Sorrento, but in safe, sound & quiet location. We loved it.

Room Tip: WE thought downstairs rooms were the better option & not too far from the street for convenience. Place advertised as Guest House, B&B ,hotel & Motel. This is a large & expansive building so nice to have a choice of rooms ,out of season. We enjoyed it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaybee022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This historic guest house is high on our list of favourite accommodations after five weeks of car travel in Australia. This old charming inn is steeped in history, immediately evident as one enters the main door. Indeed, it is like stepping back in time as one is drawn into the grand sitting room of years gone by.

We chose to stay in the main hotel and are happy we did so. Our unit had a separate living area with adequate space which is not always the case in older historic establishments. It was very quiet, and we slept well in the comfy bed, surrounded by ambiance and secrets of the past. And we slept late too! making us late for our delicious breakfast in yet another grand room, the dining room. This is a room to remember filled with gorgeous antiques.

Sue and Peter are warm and welcoming hosts. When two days earlier I had phoned to explain a mistake, my error! with our booking Peter was accommodating. We are Canadians and had just arrived in Australia, so I really appreciated his accepting attitude as he changed our booking without any bother. He also took time to chat with us during breakfast. We enjoyed his company immensely and fun sense of humour too. Also he kindly offered to take our photo in this majestic room. And one more thing, when Peter found our bag - which we'd left behind- filled with important documents he phoned us immediately to arrange for pick up.

The location of the hotel is excellent, just a quick stroll to restaurants, the beach and pier with spectacular views of the riptide. Also a quick drive to Queenscliffe.

We wish we had stayed longer. Staying at Point Lonsdale Guest House was a memorable experience. Thank you Sue and Peter for all your help and the warm welcome to Australia.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a lovely stay - yes - its old (spidey webs and all) but not without character, for some reason you feel instantly relaxed by the "basic-ness" of the amenities once you realise you are not in the throes of 5 star 2014 modernisation. Everything is within walking distance - 5-10 minutes - beach, light house, restaurant, cafes, supermarket, chemist, fashion shops, You arrive, park the car & just relax. Our Light House captains cabin: nautical themed, large and adequate (there is nothing fancy). The bed comfortable, only issue bright sunshine streamed in as soon as the sun rose in the morning with two portholes & a small sunroof above the bed! Time to get up and explore the beach. Room service (restricted hours) was OK, unfortunately when we checked in old coffee granules from the previous guests were still in the coffee maker and a dirty Tee towel had been left in the doorway (first impressions not so good); however the guesthouse was very quiet & peaceful. Putting into perspective this is a historical guesthouse - we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenbyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have stayed at the guest house twice in the last twelve months.
It is opposite the beach, just up from the shops and restaurants and within a short stroll from the lighthouse.
It is a lovely old property that is well maintained with tennis courts, a pool, an outdoor kitchen for those who want to self cater and with ample parking.
Sue and Peter are helpful and friendly hosts who do a scrumptious dinner on Friday nights and a filling breakfast each morning.
We have had a family room in the motel which was clean and comfortable. The rooms open out onto the balcony and overlook the lawn to the pool. We have also stayed in the Captains Cabin which is upstairs, spacious and has a small kitchenette, comfortable chairs and foxtel and a view to the lighthouse.
This is not a modern five star property but a lovely historic guest house full of charm and character fun by friendly hosts. An enjoyable experience all round.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here because it was cheap close to the beach and quirky.

Having stayed there three nights we enjoyed ourselves in a nice little town that has not yet been spoilt with over development.

Whilst the accommodation was basic the bed was comfy the tv worked and really it was as it was described and at a fair price.

Short walk to the shops and the beach and will certainly be going back again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews