We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
BIG4 Beacon Resort(Queenscliff)(Great Value!)
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vue Grand Hotel(Queenscliff)
$122
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Boat Ramp Motel(Ocean Grove)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$89
$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$124
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sorrento Beach Motel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$120
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Moody's Motel(Blairgowrie)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson(Rye)(Great Value!)
$116
$103
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moonlight Bay Apartments(Rye)(Great Value!)
$122
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
43
56
22
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
56
22
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseacross the roaddining roomlight houseold world charmrooms are cleanfamily roomhosts suetable tennis tablefriendly servicebuffet breakfastguest kitchena great stayself caterclose to townolder style roomsfree nibbles
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 129 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have stayed at the guest house twice in the last twelve months.
It is opposite the beach, just up from the shops and restaurants and within a short stroll from the lighthouse.
It is a lovely old property that is well maintained with tennis courts, a pool, an outdoor kitchen for those who want to self cater and with ample parking.
Sue and Peter are helpful and friendly hosts who do a scrumptious dinner on Friday nights and a filling breakfast each morning.
We have had a family room in the motel which was clean and comfortable. The rooms open out onto the balcony and overlook the lawn to the pool. We have also stayed in the Captains Cabin which is upstairs, spacious and has a small kitchenette, comfortable chairs and foxtel and a view to the lighthouse.
This is not a modern five star property but a lovely historic guest house full of charm and character fun by friendly hosts. An enjoyable experience all round.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here because it was cheap close to the beach and quirky.

Having stayed there three nights we enjoyed ourselves in a nice little town that has not yet been spoilt with over development.

Whilst the accommodation was basic the bed was comfy the tv worked and really it was as it was described and at a fair price.

Short walk to the shops and the beach and will certainly be going back again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Looking to score points with the in-laws, I took it upon myself to find a late New Year booking in the Queenscliff / Point Lonsdale area for a 3-night stay Fortunately, and with the good graces of hosts Sue and Peter, we secured adjoining rooms on the first floor of the old guest house. We have stayed in historic properties on numerous occasions and I have commented on reviews on these that you need to make your booking with certain expectations as a given. The first of these is that you are staying in a property that is often on the historical register and consequently you need to curb your expectation of having 21st century, 5-star, fixtures and fittings. With this in mind, our accommodation was quite adequate for our needs. The room was serviced daily, and there was a good provision of tea and coffee making facilities. Where history impinges on comfort however, comes in the form of fairly sparse bathroom facilities, limited wardrobe/storage space, and as usual in older buildings, s shortage of power points for recharging the all-important phones and cameras. The Guesthouse is ideally located just a short walk from the Point Lonsdale shops, the Lighthouse, beach and jetty. To the rear of the Guesthouse Sue and Peter have provided for families in a big way, with a pool, tennis court, lawn-garden settings and a fully equipped community kitchen facility. Over the New Year, when you could expect to be paying high season restaurant prices, these provisions certainly helped in making the dollar go further. Having been in Queenscliff for New Year previously, and seeing how quiet is was, we did not expect much to happen in the smaller and more remote area of Pt Lonsdale - and we were not disappointed. Some fireworks going off some distance off along the beach had the two ladies heading off looking for their share of the 'ooh-aah'. However their midnight trek was to no avail and they returned somewhat disappointed. Having had a fairly late night followed by a full day on New Year's day, we decided to retire a little early. Our room, directly above the downstairs lounge, was filled through the early evening with wafting tones of a live musical performance which initially had my attention, but as the night drew on and the song selection hit on such 'go;den oldies' as "You are my sunshine"; "Oh Lonesome Me" and "Waltzing Matilda"; When the songster began "Take me Home" at 10.45pm. I was hoping that they finally would! All in all, the Point Lonsdale Guesthouse is somewhat quirky, but also quaint with very caring hosts who make sire that your stay is enjoyable. Certainly to be considered when staying on that part of the Bellerine Peninsula.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a common access to the old balcony - great place to sit and watch the world go by.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Swayed as we were by Booking.com positive "reviews" we chose this establishment for our visit to Point Lonsdale.
Our room, as selected by Booking.com was totally unacceptable and we were prepared to forfeit our deposit, if necessary, and move on.
The host was very accommodating and offered a selection of rooms for us to choose from with the only acceptable one being that with two comfortable chairs to sit in. A basic, we think.
The guesthouse has a "Heath Robinson" feel about it as it morphs into a 70's style motel at the rear. Cleanliness is acknowledged but not a feature, as we opened windows to reveal the remains of years of entrapped insect remains.
Our wardrobeless room had a cleanish bathroom and a comfortable bed. The proximity to the itinerant offerings of the local restaurants was very handy.
We inspected an internet elusive B&B next door, at double the tariff, that offered absolutely sensational accommodation and included a gourmet breakfast.
That's our next stay. but like everything, it's all down to price in the end.

Room Tip: Room 16 has seating for 2 and a reasonably updated bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectrickBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews