We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach NSW Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old and Tired”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Swayed as we were by Booking.com positive "reviews" we chose this establishment for our visit to Point Lonsdale.
Our room, as selected by Booking.com was totally unacceptable and we were prepared to forfeit our deposit, if necessary, and move on.
The host was very accommodating and offered a selection of rooms for us to choose from with the only acceptable one being that with two comfortable chairs to sit in. A basic, we think.
The guesthouse has a "Heath Robinson" feel about it as it morphs into a 70's style motel at the rear. Cleanliness is acknowledged but not a feature, as we opened windows to reveal the remains of years of entrapped insect remains.
Our wardrobeless room had a cleanish bathroom and a comfortable bed. The proximity to the itinerant offerings of the local restaurants was very handy.
We inspected an internet elusive B&B next door, at double the tariff, that offered absolutely sensational accommodation and included a gourmet breakfast.
That's our next stay. but like everything, it's all down to price in the end.

Room Tip: Room 16 has seating for 2 and a reasonably updated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElectrickBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here overnight and from the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. We stayed in the Captains Cabin and the room was great and spacious with its own balcony, kitchenette and living space. So peaceful.... we slept so well.
Breakfast the next morning was created by Peter who (along with wife Sue) greeted and chatted to all the guests in the lovely breakfast room at the front of the property and took time to appreciate each group of guests.

Peters breakfast was great too..... !

At a time when you can have experiences travelling with jaded hosts, that are "over it".... both Peter and Sue have a passion that is palpable, restored our faith in guesthouses, and truly are "mine hosts".

Thank you both.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eklasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We picked the Point Lonsdale guest house to stay in when my daughter and I went to the Queens Cliff music festival. I'm very glad we did. Peter & Sue "the owners" were very nice and nothing was to much trouble for them. The light globe above the bed was not working, as soon as I mentioned it, a new one was fitted. Likewise I required some extra coat hangers, no sooner said then done. The room and en suite were both adequate to our needs and very clean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. We had a full english breakfast every day which was above average as was the service. The variety of food would cater for the most pickiest of eaters, there was something for everyone, it was all very delicious. We have already booked our stay for next years music festival. I would recommend this very charming Guest House to anyone wanting an enjoyable break and value for money. Point Lonsdale is a lovely place to visit and the people I met who live there were exceptionally nice. The place has lovely vibes, and a beach worth looking at and I must not forget to mention the light house.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samford, QLD
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We loved our stay at the Point Lonsdale Guest House. It is a world away from the cookie-cutter motels and has a charm and character that comes from its fascinating history, decor, architectural style and the warm and welcoming hosts. Peter is hilarious in a Basil Fawlty kind of way and Sue served us the best seafood chowder I had ever tasted. Good value for money and a most memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

PLG is a great place to stay. It has enormous character. If you prefer the sterile environment of a major hotel chain then PLG may not be for you - but we love it. The management make this place - in fact on our last stay we intended to stay only one night, but when we found out Peter and Sue were way but coming back the next day, we changed our plans and booked in another night. We normally stay in a Family Room in the "motel". The 2 rooms have a lot of charm and character and are separated by a completely modern bathroom, so guests have the best of both worlds - normally the bathroom is a place you don't want so much "character". Definitely recommended and we hope to go back many times in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindtheGap1996to2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

For us this was a walk down memory lane, as we had been to this establishment many years ago when it was known as The Terminus Guest House. It is wonderful to see that the current owners have not succumbed to the pressure to modernise everything - here you can enjoy original decor and old fashioned service. For nostalgia, we elected to stay in one of the older rooms upstairs, despite the fact that it did not have it's own ensuite bathroom. You have exclusive use of a bathroom across the hallway and bathrobes are provided. Sue and Peter kindly gave us the option to change rooms but we were happy to go with our original choice and were not disappointed. The room was large and airy, with a sitting area and TV. Breakfast was delicious - homely and unpretentious. In the evening you can also opt to eat in and enjoy home made soup and toast for less than $10. The Queenscliff Bowling club has a good reputation and we enjoyed a lovely meal there for a very reasonable price.
Thanks Peter and Sue for being terrific hosts, and good sports with a great sense of humour!
We plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be noisier in summer with passing traffic and people heading to/from the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodtogo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Lonsdale
3.0 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
296 reviews
6.9 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
17.0 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
434 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
2.9 mi away
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel

Property: Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Address: 31 Point Lonsdale Rd, Point Lonsdale, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Point Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing