We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night in one of the back motel type rooms. This is definitely 2 star accommodation. The bathroom you couldn't swing a mouse in let alone a cat. You wouldnt want to have a weight problem as you wouldnt get inf the shower as only half the door opens up. The room next door put their bathroom fan on and we thought a helicopter was landing close by. No table to go with the chairs in the room so we had to make cuppas inside the cupboard and a some mugs would have been nice like next door room had instead of the mini teacups that we had. Breakfast while a good serve our scrambled eggs were STONE cold and the male owner felt it ok to listen in on our conversation and pass comment that he had been listening to the sermon she had delivered ....RUDE BUGGAR...we were also to be quiet when we returned from our Blues train dinner as the other guests right s need to be respected HOWEVER the next morning our rights were not respected with the large group,that was there with their noise!!! Definitely WOULD NOT RETURN.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if you have to so that you don't get the noise from the walking up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

I took a deal on the internet and was not expecting very much. Upon arrival Peter made us feel very welcome, our room was small but ok and after a problem with the plumbing the first night ,we were upgraded to a suite in the original building which made our stay that much more enjoyable. If the hotel was fully booked it could be a little noisy as the walls in the back motel part are very thin but it is a guest house after all. The breakfasts were good and we participated in the devonshire teas which were available at the weekend, these were also delicious. Peter and Sue are great hosts and try to make every guest feel welcome . The location was good with restaurants within walking distance and a short drive to Queenscliff. There is a kitchen at the rear of the premises for guest use. If you enjoy experiencing the charm of yesteryear then this is for you.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original building will be much quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineCoastAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked the Point Lonsdale Guest House as a three night package and were not disappointed. Our hosts Peter and Sue were very helpful and made sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We were upgraded upon arrival into a two bedroom unit and the extra space was great - not sure if the single room would have been as good. Our stay was in the back "motel-style" section. We managed a game on the tennis court which was heaps of fun. There is a separate shared kitchen block out the back but it was quite smelly - probably being the end of winter means it probably hasn't been opened to the fresh air for a while. A fabulous location - just steps from the main shopping strip and beach. Few steps the other way to the lighthouse and beautiful rock pools. Really enjoyed the continental buffet breakfasts and had a chicken parmagiana on the Friday night as part of the package. The dining room is a delight. Being on the ground floor, the first night was really quiet but we had neighbours above us for the other two nights and you can hear every footstep on the ceiling. Overall really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: top floor would have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great place for an over night trip! Building was lovely for its age and peaceful and hopefully my noisy children did not annoy anyone as children get a little over excited when away on trips as the walls are not sound proof. Handy location to Bellarine train station and ferry plus shops, Rooms need an update. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeCountryVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent the weekend with relos who had been staying there and had an awesome time. Peter and Sue were so hospitable and enjoyed chit chatting!. Peter makes the 'best' fruit salad for breakfast and don't forget to tell him! The guesthouse was cosy, great location and we had a great time.

Room Tip: Room 18 has a kitchenette and verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we had a room out the back and it was very basic, certainly not romantic out here!
However it was quiet and in a nice spot

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights for our wedding anniversary,the hosts were amazing and did everything to be helpful beyond the norm. We originally booked online but when peter and sue found out it was our wedding anniversary they kindly upgraded our room to the captains cabin, recently re-furbished,made our stay extemely enjoyable. Yes, the other rooms are small but it is an historic guest house built in 1880's their is a lot of character to the old buildings. Be sure to pop into 'basils bar' and have a drink and chat with peter and sue and if your lucky ,like we were, some of the locals as well. Breakfast was great and don't forget Devonshire Tea in the afternoon. Overall 5 star service with a 5 star smile.

Room Tip: If its just to sleep the rooms are small but fine if your after a larger area the captains cabin is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Lonsdale
3 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
312 reviews
8.7 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Boat Ramp Motel
Boat Ramp Motel
#1 of 2 in Ocean Grove
29 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
151 reviews
2.9 mi away
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel

Address: 31 Point Lonsdale Rd, Point Lonsdale, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Point Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Price Range: $93 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing