We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast QLD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun friendly place to stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

After staying at a 'standard' motel the previous night, the Pt Lonsdale Guesthouse was such a contrast. Friendly and very obliging staff, small but very comfortable room, beautiful quiet location, great atmosphere, scrumptious breakfast, lots to praise. Others might think the rooms need a 'makeover' but what's the point of travelling to stay in rooms that are all the same. The different style only adds to the experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    51
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hosts were very friendly and a great hotel for a one night stay. In my opinion, the price is a bit steep for what you get. However, making a few small upgrades will help a lot. I do however recommend this hotel, especially for its old age charm and history. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a budget room. I do however recommend upgrading a bit, especially if you stay for more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luzelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melboune
Level Contributor
179 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I can remember a relative telling me years ago of her holidays here when it was the Terminus Guesthouse, and the front part of the building retains the charm of an earlier era (including the dining room and a sitting room for guests to use). It is centrally located, just a couple of minutes walk to the main attractions that Point Lonsdale offers (such as the lighthouse, Rip view lookout and a small group of shops). It's not a new building, but the rooms have everything required and are clean. The “motel” rooms in the rear wing aren't new, and the bathroom in our room was quite compact (although quite modern), but the beds are comfortable and the ground floor rooms have direct access to the garden. Although the clientele is probably mostly the “quiet and early to bed” type, sound-proofing isn't great and noise may be an issue in the probably rare situation of a loud group being present. The hosts are helpful (for example, we were invited to choose which room we preferred). Breakfast is an extra charge, but if you want to self-cater, a fully equipped kitchen is available on site, as is a pool and tennis court. Internet is available through a third party supplier, for a charge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our third time at the Pt .Lonsdale Guesthouse, and definitely not our last. Peter and Sue are lovely hosts, and made us feel very welcome and very much at ease, going the extra mile to make our stay as delightful as possible. We love the location, as walking tracks are right opposite and also steps to the beach and pier. Everything is just outside our doorstep, and it is only a short stroll to the shops. The Guesthouse is very clean, and to have a table-tennis table, tennis court, pool and spa just adds to it all. Fantastic! We always enjoy breakfast and the company of our hosts, who join us when possible. We look forward to coming back for another stay, and this time bringing our grandchildren with us. Thank you Peter and Sue for our great holiday breaks.

From Cheryl and Bob

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Cheryl407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

After buying what I thought was a bargain price deal through the Travel Auctions website, we arrived at the Point Lonsdale Guesthouse hotel and were greeted with an extremely friendly lady who showed us to our room. Honestly, she couldn't have been nicer.

The rooms though really need a makeover. Nothing massive, just a freshen up to bring them up-to-date. E.g. replace the wood panelling with painted white plasterboard.

Our accommodation was in a brick building behind the nice period building in the advertisments.

Overall though, the service made the experience. On balance, I think the price I paid for the accommodation on Travel Auctions was fair, rather than a steal. I would recommend this hotel for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_ela_alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We spent a weekend at Port Lonsdale Guest House/Motel with 18 friends and had a great time. We had access to the back kitchen which gave us a communal place to meet and eat. The service we received was excellent - Sue and Peter could not do enough for us and the little extras they did, made our stay so much fun. We arranged for them to prepare a meal for us, which was a roast dinner on Saturday night and we were served in the lovely old licensed dining room. The old worlde feel of the room and the delicious meal added a real bonus for what was a great weekend. We would strongly recommend it as a relaxed and happy place to stay, and ideal for groups. The rooms are comfortable, spotless and although the Guest House is old it is well preserved.
Well done Sue and Peter - you are the perfect hosts and we appreciated all you did for our group.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank integrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We love this place. We stayed here for the second time this year. It's affordable and the location is second to none - we specifically requested the budget room we had the first time as I love the view of the lighthouse from the bathroom. The rooms in the actual guesthouse are a little tired, but all the mod-cons are there. The price is very reasonable. The owners are friendly and the guy in particular is as big a character as the guesthouse! We had another amazing meal at Kelp restaurant, just down the road.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Lonsdale
3.0 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
291 reviews
6.9 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
17.0 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
431 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
2.9 mi away
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel

Property: Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Address: 31 Point Lonsdale Rd, Point Lonsdale, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Point Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing