We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, sensational location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Ocean Road Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a powered site with two dogs for $35 p/n. We arrived and were offered a number of sites to choose - personally I like having the choice. The site we picked was right on the river, with loud crashing ocean waves providing the backdrop to fall asleep to. The river front sites are beautiful, but when the wind picks up, are crazy windy. The facilities are spotless, a little dated, but nicely presented. Well stocked and clean campers kitchen, and games room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 161 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

A lovely little park right by the water. Dean and Sarah were both very helpful both on the phone and whilst at the park.
If you're after bright lights, nightlife, uninterrupted wifi, shopping strips and crowded beaches maybe try Warnambool or head to Bali. If you're after a picture perfect small (very small) coastal town to get away to relax, go for a stroll, have a swim, fish, explore the coastline then this is the place for you.

We stayed in one of the basic cabins which was more than enough. Comfortable beds, linen supplied, great shower and room for the car right out front.
From talking to many of the other people at the park it seems that 80% of the guests there are local (withing 1-2 hours distance from the park) and come back religiously each year. They must be doing something right.

I read an early review on here in regards to the pub/hotel/motel across the road and the food there. Please pay no attention to this. You can get a great feed over there. It may not be "fine cuisine" but it isn't far from it and reasonably priced. Also just a hint, the ice at the pub is only $2.50 a bag compared to $4 at the park so stroll across the street and get it there.
The main shopping strip (an easy 5 min stroll) of Peterborough consists of 2 stores than in combination can meet your needs. They aren't that cheap but what do you expect in such a small town. If you need to replenish the fridge pop into either Port Campbell, Timboon or Warnambool (a longer drive of around 45 mins). We did Warnambool as on the way into the main township there is a Woolworths and a Dan Murphy's on the right. It also gave us the opportunity to see the sites there on a day trip.

There is plenty of shallow water in the river for young kids to have a swim or beaches in the area for the bigger kids. Just on the bigger kids..... the only gripe I would have is that they left empty cans of UDL and the walking tracks and in the trees on the foreshore. Some parents really need to educate their kids better. The last thing needed is for such a beautiful place to littered by our youth.
BTW, this didn't affect noise levels or sleep (our cabin quite close by) of an evening. I'm pretty sure the teens just sat out there and chatted/giggled.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wawoftam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I read several reveiws before choosing a caravan park for our road trip and was very excited when found this one as it had great reveiews and the pictures looked fantastic on arrival to the town we looked for a grocery shop amd it was tiny with not much variety at all very small town and people are not friendly when going into the carvan park ladie at the desk was friendly but after that no one els was on a first look showers and toilets look clean but the showers had an excessive amount of mold in them and the floor is all broken and moldy. Wifi dosent work properly cutts out or has lowest signal bar for $50 for one night on a powered site we expected more but we found this place very drery and dull I wouldnt book again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happycampers92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Owner at Great Ocean Road Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi not so "Happycampers92"
Thanks for your post on TripAdvisor, and yes, we are proud to have previously received great reviews. The township of Peterborough is one of the smallest & last untouched towns on the Great Ocean Road - that's why our guests love it & keep returning. However, we cannot comment on the variety offered in one of our local stores, nor should it be used as a black mark against our business. I am glad that the lady on the desk at the Park was friendly as it was me, but am surprised that you found other guests in the Park not so friendly - we have received comments on a daily basis over the peak season how friendly and helpful everyone in the Park is. Re our free wi-fi, yes, we are experiencing difficulties at the moment - unfortunately, we are one of the small Australian towns that has poor signal strengths at times, but we are also operating at 100% capacity & have many, many people using the wi-fi at the same time. Finally, regarding our shower cleanliness. Please be assured that we have no mould - our staff scrub the showers from walls to floors on a daily basis with the best cleaning products in order that we keep our high standard of cleanliness. The black you are referring to is the colour pigment used in the shower base sealant - it is definitely not mould. We would have been more than happy to address any of the issues with you at the time had you brought them to our attention. But at the end of the day, we understand that you cannot please everyone all the time! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The staff were super friendly and helpful, with great facilities and great location close to the beach. The park was very kid friendly with lots of families staying there over the new year period. We organised to stay here last minute and had a great few days. The 5 minute drive down to the bay of matyrs and bay of islands at sunset was spectacular.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great place in a fantastic location. We stayed in a cabin with our two young kids. The cabin had recently been fitted out with new kitchen, bathroom, etc. It was very clean and well above our expectations. The kitchen had everything we needed and the kids loved the jumping pillow and the lawned areas to run around on. We didn't use the communal cooking facilities but these looked excellent as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A fantastic stop over a quiet caravan park to regenerise. The amenities are very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the caravan sites are grassed and shaded. I would recommend this caravan park to any traveller who are travelling along the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night while on the Great Ocean Road, 3 families, and I wish we could have stayed longer. Each family had a 2 bedroom cabin and they were first class, so much nicer than we'd expected. Clean, warm, really well equipped and modern. Very welcoming, even down to the complimentary tea and coffee. More like we would have expected from a hotel.

The park in general is very good with great facilities, the kids especially liked the playground and the jumping pillow. The only very small criticism would be the games room was a bit inferior to the rest of the park, the video games weren't in great condition. But that's a minor grumble and overall we were exceedingly happy and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this park to others.

Thanks for a great stay, we hope to come back! From The Venters, Eachers and Sylvesters.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 9 which was lovely with 2 double rooms, cabins 8 and 10 have a double plus twin i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaVenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
12.6 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
6.3 mi away
Port Campbell Holiday Park
Port Campbell Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Port Campbell
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seahorse Coastal Villas
Seahorse Coastal Villas
#2 of 2 in Peterborough
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Southern Ocean Motor Inn
Southern Ocean Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Campbell
118 reviews
6.3 mi away
Port Campbell Hostel
Port Campbell Hostel
#2 of 8 in Port Campbell
293 reviews
6.5 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ocean Road Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ocean Road Tourist Park

Address: Cnr Great Ocean Road & Irvine Street, Peterborough, Victoria 3270, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Peterborough
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Peterborough
Price Range: $91 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Ocean Road Tourist Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to use as your base on the Great Ocean Road & only 10 minutes west of Port Campbell. 150 m to beach & opposite the Hotel. Spectacular coastal scenery including 12 Apostles, Loch Ard Gorge, Bay of Islands and London Bridge. Close to Otway Fly, cheese & chocolate factories & winery. Accommodation including Riverfront, Spa, Deluxe & Standard Cabins and grassed powered & unpowerdd sites. Modern amenities including disabled facilities, children’s playground & jumping pillow, Camp Kitchen, internet kiosk, camp fires welcome. TV reception available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Great Ocean Road Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ocean Road Tourist Park Peterborough, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing