We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would give it 5 stars if the staff smiled”
Review of Fisherman's Wharf Pavillion - CLOSED

Fisherman's Wharf Pavillion
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sale, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“would give it 5 stars if the staff smiled”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

As a local l visit this café often. The food and coffee is always good. Pancakes are the very best and a huge serve. l do find some of the lunches a little prices especially the wraps, cakes and slices.
The main negative about this place is the staff are not at all welcoming, almost never smile, quite unfriendly and seem very stressed even is not at all busy.
The setting is perfect especially sitting outside on a nice day, we often say even as locals we feel as if we are on holidays while sitting down at the wharf watching the boats, people and the rest of the world go by.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gippyhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    32
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food for the price we paid”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a lunch at this nice restaurant. The quality was good. The staff very friendly. We come back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Finally : good coffee in Paynesville”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our family has had a house on Raymond Island (opposite Paynesville) for 35 years. When the current owners took over I was nearly brought to tears by a decent coffee. Specials board is always worth a read. View is brilliant - can sit there all day and people / boat watch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Flathead tails with a view!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Ate here recently, just walked in on a Sunday lunch with no booking and given table for 8 on the spot. Sat outside and enjoyed a beautiful view while dining on the freshest seafood around. Truly no fuss restaurant, the food is fresh and delicious, service prompt, staff welcoming and professional. They left us alone to enjoy our friends company - just perfect.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annetr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ignored”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived for lunch with a child and a pram. We finally seated ourselves inside and despite staff looking at us a few times we were never approached or greeted even though the place was only 1/4 full of patrons. We approached the counter where 3 staff were, one staffer looked up and continued to ignore us, when we spoke and asked a question we were given a dirty look and an abrupt answer. We got up and left. Very disappointed as on outside looks we thought it would be lovely. We are locals and we wont be going back !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ivyluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Wharf Pavillion also viewed

Paynesville, Gippsland
 
Paynesville, Gippsland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing