We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KOALAS!”
Review of Raymond Island

Raymond Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“KOALAS!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lots of fun. Take a bike so you can discover even more! The ferry is free for walkers and cyclists. We found it handy to have a bike so we could go right though and find more and more Koala's... we even saw an Echidna!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sammy-joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    65
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The koalas and bush walks on this island are great. Not many places you can get this close to koalas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wright0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A natural wonderland”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Raymond Island is one of our favourite places to take the kids. We ride bikes on the safe bike tracks and because there are hardly any cars it is where we taught our kids to ride bikes on the road. The ferry is free if you go by foot or bike and is $10 return trip by car. The playground is terrific and BBQ facilities always clean. We love walking along the boardwalk after we have gone on the koala trail and had a competition of how many koalas we can spot. Sit on the beach near the boardwalk and watch the boats cruise past. There are no shops or restaurants here but a great place to take fish and chips from the main land or a picnic lunch. We are big fans of Raymond Island,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TamaraCaptainsCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Koala Kountry!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a hidden gem this place is. There is a ferry that goes from Paynesville at 20 mins past, 20 mins to and on the hour. It is free for walkers and takes 5 mins. Once on the island there are posts to follow to find koalas but really it seems you can wander up any path/road and spot them. We saw 41 and we were only there 2 hrs. Saw a few mothers with babies. This is a great spot for tourists to see koalas to their hearts content. Paynesville also has some nice little eateries one being the Pickled Fig though I think it is shut Mon/Tues.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gaylegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Raymond island excellent”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Koalas just everywhere for all to see. Free boat taxi to take you over. Just beautiful place to visit. Wild kangaroos also if you venture further into the island

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymond Island also viewed

 

Been to Raymond Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing