We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Koalas paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raymond Island

Raymond Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Koalas paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you want to see koalas go there. The ferry is for free (you can park your car opossite to the ferry pier, behind a shop) and the native residents will advise you where exactly to go. Really a nice place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hanka Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    62
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Koalas everywhere!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

koalas everywhere!! the walk was fantastic and easy, well looked after track, friendly locals even show you where the baby koalas are!! we went twice and on the first walk we saw 17 koalas and on the second day we saw 25. Highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fussyfoody17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a great island - always wanted to see it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We drove around to get a feel for the place and discovered some lovely secluded beaches with very clear water and some nice looking homes. Some of the roads were gravel and very narrow but we enjoyed our time there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place is a hiden paradise not many people know of it.plenty of koalas kangaroos birds bush walks beaches.its the best and well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank ritah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Koalas + in the wild, and very accessible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you're travelling at "tourist pace" from Melbourne to Sydney, you might be overnighting in Bairnsdale. An early afternoon stop will give you plenty of time to take a side trip to Raymond Island, where people with a great affinity for koalas can overdose!!!

Take route C604 south to Paynesville, then get on the the well-signed ferry to Raymond Island. The ferry costs $10 (return) and takes about 10 minutes. It runs 7 am to 11 pm. The ticket taker/ferry captain will, if you ask him nicely, give you a map of the island, with the areas of koala residence clearly indicated.

Once on the island, when you have reached the koala areas, get out of your car and walk around. There is a koala in every 5th/6th eucalyptus tree. They are territorial!!

We spent an hour looking for and finding these photo-demanding critters. They are very easy to find. Still haven't managed to edit out any bad pix from the many we took!

We have enjoyed visiting several parks/sanctuaries where koalas are well cared for. But this was different... we were in their territory!

Lots of roos and wallabies on the island, along with countless varieties of birds. But the koalas won the day. A highly recommended side trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stamperbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymond Island also viewed

Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 

Been to Raymond Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing