We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners trying there best”
Review of Paynesville Hotel

Paynesville Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Restaurants in Paynesville
Price range: $12 - $67
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“New owners trying there best”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Dining room was fully booked fir a boat race so we ate in the bar,food was cheap but unfortunately was cold,would have been great if it was hot,the new openers are trying to improve things hough

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ritah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    38
    22
    17
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad start for the new Manager”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have been coming to this pub since I moved to the area 4 years ago. Its always been a bit hit or miss with food but my last experience (Saturday 8th March 2014) was by far the worst. I ordered a chicken dish and the chicken was raw in the middle. Not a major issue normally, however when I took the dish back the Chef made a big show of throwing it in the bin. At the same time, a waiter took in another patrons dish (steak) that wasn't cooked the way it was ordered, but rather than just deal with it, the Chef decided to throw the dish including the plate accross the room. Absolutely disgraceful behaviour for a Chef in any restaurant let alone a Country pub that relies heavily on repeat business. In response I cancelled my replacement order and got a refund. If the new Hotel Manager wants to make a good go of this place, he needs to get rid of tthis toxic individual. A couple who were about to order also witnessed the Chefs childish outburst and decided to take thier business elsewhere.

A positive note to end, Kerrie and Kelly were both fantastic and professional which would have been extremely difficult in the cirmcumstances

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great country pub with water views”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Please ignore all the negative reviews here and just try this for yourselves. We have enjoyed a drink or two and many meals here over the past 30 years. This is a pub and as such is a bit casual - just what you want in a pub! Beer always goes down well and I have always enjoyed their chicken parmas! This is not a flash restaurant, but has large eating area out the back and can cater for big groups. I have never been disappointed and will continue to enjoy this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annetr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disgraceful. ”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

8 people visited for dinner. Disgraceful.

Totally. Disgraceful.

Manager couldn't give a stuff

2 meals returned. Disgusting food

Staff complained about management

One meal forgotten completely. Can do much better in paynesville

Not happy. Worst dinner experience we have had for a long time

Helpful?
Thank jamo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went to the pub on the last night of our trip, great service and good food. very friendly staff and great atmosphere

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlisonMeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paynesville Hotel also viewed

Paynesville, Gippsland
 

Been to Paynesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing