We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain's Cove Paynesville Review”
Review of Captains Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captains Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in Apartment 9 for three nights in June 2014. The three bedroom apartment was in very good condition, very well furnished, clean and very quiet and secure. We would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Captains Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 145 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked in for 1 night and ended staying for 5 nights at this very special place with its 2 level villas, great office staff, heated pool (31 degrees), hire bikes, comfortable bed, huge living area and kitchen, 2 balconies facing the canal which feeds into the 60,000 hectare/150,000 Gippsland Lakes water wonderland, a private boat pontoon. The location is inviting, peaceful and relaxing, an easy walk to the main street, the canal has swans and ducks and there are plenty of excellent eating (we tried the pub and fishermen's cafe) and coffee options with a 10 minute walk to the main street.

Room Tip: Take your pick - all villas have the same outstanding water views/aspe ct
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Captains Cove was the perfect place for a mini break. Units were very clean. Kitchens set up really well and even had scanpan pots etc. Loved being in such a private and relaxing little area where you could enjoy your own pier with or without a boat. Plenty of ducks to feed for kids too. Staff could not have been friendlier. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently had four nights at Captains Cove and it has to be one of the best holiday locations we have been to in Victoria. To have our boat tied up to our own private jetty in front of our beautiful unit was sensational. The weather was perfect as was the service, location, views etc, etc. The one word that came to mind for both of us was "Paradise". We will be back and have recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights just after Easter and it was a delight. The views from the apartment are just sensational and the water is very relaxing to watch from the terrace/balcony of an evening (or any time of the day!) The apartment was immaculate from front door to back door and quite spacious. Ideal for families or a couple. The grounds were very well maintained without a blade of grass out of place. It is surprising that anyone could have any complaint about this fantastic place. All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful. On check-in we were given advice about local tourist sites. Hired bikes one day and they went out of their way to help us to ensure we were comfortable on the bikes. Well done to all the staff - fantastic effort - you should be proud of yourselves for the effort you put in to ensure the comfort of all guests. We had a thoroughly relaxing time and did not want to leave. It is approximately a 5 min walk to the main area of Paynesville for cafes etc and Raymond Island Ferry. We had no problem with the wifi at all - no dropouts and available whenever we required it. Linen and towels were all good quality which you don't find everywhere.

Room Tip: Any apartment would be good here - they all have great views of the cove
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyhound804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Sometimes when you book online when you get there it's nothing like they say but not Captains Cove it was everything and more . From the moment we arrived the girls at reception were so helpful and friendly. Our apartment just gorgeous and really clean something I look for. And mooring our boat out the front was magic hardly used the car. Can't wait to go back!!!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in a 3brm unit. Everything was very clean, great shower and bed. Although the wifi is free, it's not very good and drops out too much. Staff very friendly and gave good advice on what to do locally. Close to the shops and restaurants.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynesville
0.2 mi away
Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments
8.0 mi away
The Riversleigh
The Riversleigh
#1 of 13 in Bairnsdale
168 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Mitchell River Tavern
Mitchell River Tavern
#2 of 13 in Bairnsdale
115 reviews
13.8 mi away
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Esplanade Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
564 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Moorings at Metung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Cove

Address: 19 Mitchell St, Paynesville, Victoria 3880, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Paynesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynesville
Price Range: $153 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captains Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star absolute waterfront apartments on the magnificent Gippsland Lakes & Paynesville canals. Captains Cove offers a unique, relaxing holiday. Tucked away on the Paynesville canals the choice of fishing, boating or just taking in the views is all you will have to contemplate. Spacious 1,2 or 3 bedroom options, 2 bathrooms, Fully self contained, BBQ on your own deck, Private jetties, Tennis court, Indoor heated swimming pool, kayak & bike hire, Free Wi-Fi & a short walk to Paynesville's shops, cafes & Raymond Island ferry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Captains Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing