We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay and clean”

Countryman Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Countryman Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orbost
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

En suite small appeared to be unfinished on the renovations. Clean but furniture tired.Advised to go to local club for dinner which was good value for dinner and in walking distance. Good place to stay for one night but would not recommend an extended stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in this motel with family, room is nice but a bit small for a family. Price is slightly higher than other competitor in Orbost itself. Overall not bad.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank NeerajVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

In December my partner and I drove from Sydney to Melbourne. We made it as far as Orbost after a slow day of driving. There wasn't much of an option for hotels, so I was pleasantly surprised to find the Countryman just off the highway. Better still they had a restaurant on site. We told the manager we would like to eat, so the kitchen stayed open for us. We enjoyed a great meal, and some drinks. Didn't have any complaints about the price or food.
Breakfast in the morning arrived on time, and was very tasty. If you need somewhere to put your head down for a night or two, this is a great option for a quiet country location.

Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenno_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Whilst not a big statement as Orbost doesn't have many options! We have stayed in both the town's motels family room's and can attest this is the best option. The room has a tiled entrance that has a table, fridge and microwave. It is supplied with crockery and glasses as well. From the entrance is two separate bedrooms - one with three (!) singles and a TV (no air conditioning :( the other has a double and a fold out couch. The main bedroom is air conditioned albeit with a noisy older style unit. Bed's were a bit tired but adequate. No pool but a good and clean bbq area. Motel complex quiet but centrally located. Restauarant was open and whilst we didnt dine there the menu was well priced and relatively popular in a town with few eating options. Owners and staff friendly, property well maintained. Room price a bit on the high side.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here for one nite a few days before Xmas - but paid $120 - which for a country motel was pretty pricey. the room was ok - it was reasonably big room - pretty dated but the bed was comfy and thats all i really needed. from locals i hear it is the pick of the two motels. Neither were available on any cheap accommodation websites - so i guess if you are going to stay in orbost phone them both first. I didnt eat any meals - so cannot comment on them

Room Tip: all face a big quadrangle so easy parking outside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Appreciated the large spa bath. You pay a little more for these spa rooms but worth it. Excellent size and ambience. Great reverse-cycle aircon. Great large flat screen TV. Good bed. Clean and good supply of plates, wine glasses etc... tea and coffee. Nicely and tastefully decked out. Lighting in the bathroom could have been warmer. Homey and welcoming room. Nice sofa, bedside tables and etc....

Good bistro, although the lighting was a bit on the flouro cold side. Food was more than acceptable as opposed to some of the reviews below, although it would've been nice to have been offered dessert - we got in "late" - by this we mean 7.30pm. Kitchen tends to close by 8pm. Good service otherwise. Mark up on wine list minimal.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the larger rooms as they are elevated and away from the the rest of the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Stayed at this motel after after being caught in the Vic fires due to road closures, was charged $90 a night in basic double room, dirty carpet, smelly room, Orbost town was without power so suffered through a very hot night without aircon or any other amenities, have checked web site since returning home to find it advertised at $44 a night, we feel we were taken advantage of due to our circumstances, everyone forced to stay that night felt the same......... RIPED OFF, we would have been better off sleeping on a park bench under a tree and a lot more comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AussieLoveasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orbost
0.5 mi away
Orbost Motel
Orbost Motel
#1 of 2 in Orbost
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Roads Motor Inn
3.3 mi away
Snowy River Lodge Motel
Snowy River Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Newmerella
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryman Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman Motor Inn

Address: Corner Livingstone & Salisbury Street, Orbost, Victoria 3888, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Orbost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orbost
Price Range: $100 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 23 rooms all of which are ground floor. We have a choice of 6 x standard rooms, 8 x deluxe rooms, 6 x spa suites, 2 x 2 bedroom family rooms and 1 x 1 bedroom family room. We are walking distance to the town centre and all facilities. We have our own Restaurant, Banjo's which is open Monday through to Friday. We are open for special functions upon request. We have free Wi fi and Foxtel to all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Countryman Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing