We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed and clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snug as a Bug Motel Omeo
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Omeo
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfy bed and clean room”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

After traveling from snowy mts in NSW we were hoping to get accommodation at Falls Creek. But hey, at 6pm Falls Creek was like a ghost town with nothing opened. We journeyed on through the beautiful scenery and windy roads to Omeo and found this sweet cottage divided into 4 or five rooms. Our room was just what we needed. Firm bed, very clean, great shower, great sleep. Early morning brought the workers out early so we were awoken by trucks with there pesty warning sounds as they backed out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the truck depot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

After a week's walking in Perisher Valley, we stayed here for a night on our way back to Melbourne.
We were in one of the 4 rooms in the 19th century style house at the back of the main building. It was very comfortable and well appointed except for the 19th century TV (an old CRT TV with a most odd set top box) which I never worked out how to use. All of the rooms have a delightful verandah and ours even had an outside sink which was very handy for washing beer glasses etc !
The rooms have very high ceilings which keep them wonderfully cool in summer although you would need very effective heating in winter.

Not cheap but nevertheless good value and thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaumaris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roomsOmeo, Owner at Snug as a Bug Motel Omeo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I'm sorry you didn't ask for directions of the use of the vast set top box for remote areas, it is very confusing and the goverment phamplet does not help. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We drove the Great Alpine Road over a week, and stopped in Omeo for a night. The owner of the place is so lovely and friendly, and really made us feel at home. The accommodation is in one of four separate rooms in a charming traditional wooden house with wraparound verandas covered in rose bushes - perfect for a cuppa in the morning!
The room was spacious and very comfortable, with all the modcons you'd need. We spent the day in the surrounding areas bushwalking, swimming and goldpannning. Omeo is a charming little country town which is off the usual tourist track, so not as busy as Bright and Beechworth. Highly recommend this place and accommodation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozinamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roomsOmeo, Owner at Snug as a Bug Motel Omeo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Country
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were met by manager in yard gardening, very friendly, informative, helpful.
Room was cosy, warm, comfortable. Able to sit outside watch sunset. nice and quiet. Walks tracks nearby. Animals welcome. Recommendations for eating very good also manager and family eating in same location. Very friendly. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Jan And Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Tucked in behind the main residence is an old converted house with four very spacious rooms. Microwave, cutlery and crockery provided. Clean, warm and comfortable. A surprisingly good place to stay on the Great Alpine Road and very reasonable rates. Eat at the pub across the road and your stay will be complete.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
584 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

It is dated and was the most expensive motel on our trip but the room was spacious, bed comfortable, there was some basic cooking facilities, there was cutlery and crockery, the shower was a little akward getting in and out but again the bathroom was spacious, it's also very quiet so you get a good night's sleep. This is a great place if you plan on staying a few more days. It's got a real homestead feel and all over was a nice motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I stopped over in Omeo for a one night stay; we hadn't booked anywhere and were lucky to find a bed at short notice. The owner's were away but had left the guest house in the hands of a couple who were regular visitors to the area and to Snug as a Bug. Our interim host was a very lovely lady who made us feel welcome immediately.

We had a choice of a room within the main building or a room in the cottage just behind the main building, and decided that we would stay downstairs in the main building/ reception house. The room was comfortable and warm, although extremely dated and the bathroom was incredibly tiny and reminded me of Japan. Even though most people would be out and about all day and hardly in their rooms, the rooms under the reception area could definitely do with a bit of a spruce up as it felt quite cavernous (albeit very clean) and old.

Purely from an aesthetic perspective, if i were to recommend anyone to stay there, i would strong suggest they stayed in a room in the cottage behind the reception house.

Room Tip: Try one of the cottage rooms as you have a nicer view than staying in one of the downstairs rooms of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dc_globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omeo
0.1 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 4 in Omeo
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omeo Motel
Omeo Motel
#2 of 4 in Omeo
56 reviews
22.6 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 1 in Ensay
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Age Hotel
Golden Age Hotel
#1 of 4 in Omeo
96 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Snug as a Bug Motel Omeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug as a Bug Motel Omeo

Property: Snug as a Bug Motel Omeo
Address: 188 Great Alpine Road | corner Creek Street, Omeo, Victoria 3898, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Omeo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Omeo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snug as a Bug Motel Omeo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Historic buildings all over 100 years restored. In the Guest House you will find the reception on the veranda on the Corner of Day Ave (Great Alpine Road) and Creek Street. Guest Rooms are on the ground floor with their own ensuite, this building was built as a temperance boarding House in 1879, it has a full kitchen and lounge room for guests staying in the Guest house only. Now with 2 family rooms available. At the rear of the property you will find our 4 lovely Motel units set in a relocated homestead built in Hinnomunjie in 1906 and moved to Omeo in 2001. We have 2 units with 1 queen bed units and 2 units with 1 queen bed and 1 single, Fridge, tea coffee, toaster and basic crockery and cutlery and out door cooking on the veranda, all rooms with their own ensuite. Martins Place our 2 room family unit, this was a shop in the main built over 100 years ago, and relocated prior to 1990, The front room has a Queen bed and a single with a foldout settee, the rear room has 3 single beds in it,a unique property with that feel of yester year, with it own bathroom. Basic cooking, toaster, fridge, cutlery and crockery and linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Snug as a Bug Motel Omeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug As a Bug Motel Omeo Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing