We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mary Cards Coach House
Ranked #9 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxury and Value”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in Mary's suite for 4 nights. It is the smallest of the 3 available but we thought it was just fine. The breakfast provisions were top quality- enough to keep us going the whole day. The room was immaculate- spotlessly clean- and was serviced every day. Free wi-if too! I would stay again. Paula is friendly and helped us find a laundromat.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Not many reviews, so I was slightly apprehensive after booking. However, I needn't have worried, the room was lovely & the ornately carved 4 poster bed was gorgeous. You have to make your own breakfast, but everything you could possibly need is supplied - & no washing up! We had a very good meal in the restaurant across the road. The only downside was being bitten by mozzies on the walk back. So, yes, I would recommend this place & would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forfarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely experience and unique place to rest your head! My husband, and I had a wonderful time spending 4 nights in the coach house,surrounded by a lovely garden, and so close to many wonderful places in the forest. Paula was a perfect host, welcoming and accommodating, whilst still leaving us to our own devices and privacy. We'd love to come back and visit. Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Mary Cards for two nights for our 25th anniversary. It was a surprise and Paula (Host) allowed me to book the room in a way that my wife would not find out, which was great.

We stayed in the Baltic Suite, we entered via the unique passage into a nice cosy room. It did seem smaller than the pictures made it look but it was a good size. The Spa room was great, the kitchen was basic but good enough. The breakfast provisions were plentiful....enough for 4 days at least and heaps of variety. There was a balcony which was good, as it was warm whilst we were there. There was TV, Foxtel, DVD and selection of DVD movies...everything you need.

Shops, restaurants, supermarket and pubs all within walking distance. A really good base for a few days on the mountain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREGdMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place was unbelieveably romantic. We stayed in Mary's Suite for 3 nights and didn't want to leave. The setting was beautiful, a romantic English garden with a blue stone coach house and it was in walking distance to some great resteraunts, and only a few minutes drive away from all the attractions in the Dandenongs. The service was fantastic, and the included breakfast was awesome - bacon and eggs, a full loaf of bread, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, mushrooms, tomato, english muffins, everything you can think of. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scampede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights (24th and 25th September, 2012) in Mary's Suite for a romantic getaway. The suite is decadent and absolutely stunning, with beautiful Victorian-style furnishings (four poster bed, gorgeous wardrobe, wooden panelled ceilings etc.) and a lovely bathroom (with Earlsley and Windsor and L'Occitane products). The kitchen includes an oven, stovetop, microwave, fridge, kettle, some basic kitchen utensils, but no sink; dishes are washed daily (a tray is provided for you to leave dishes outside your door to be collected, washed and returned). While this is excellent service and very kind, we preferred to cook a few of our own meals and found it difficult to have enough dishes to use without washing them ourselves in the bathroom sink (however, this was a very minor issue and probably an idiosyncrasy unique to ourselves).

Complimentary breakfast is also included and is generous (when we arrived, there was a loaf of fluffy white bread (with lots of condiments), some raisin bread, some fruit, some baked beans, a huge variety of cereals, some yoghurts, a variety of different teas (there were a few mini jars of local tea leaves), milk and orange juice). While the site states that hot breakfast items (i.e. eggs, bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes) will also be included, this may vary depending on the price of your stay; these were not included for us as we were staying at a discounted rate ($130/night; $260 total) in their smallest suite.

Overall, this was far and away the best getaway we have had. The value for money is unsurpassed; I can think of nowhere in Melbourne city we could have stayed for $130/night in such luxury. Paula, the host, is a lovely lady, and very helpful and hospitable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
0.3 mi away
Olinda Country Cottages
Olinda Country Cottages
#7 of 13 in Olinda
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Annie Roe's Luxury Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cambridge Cottages
Cambridge Cottages
#5 of 13 in Olinda
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arnica Views
Arnica Views
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Cards Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Cards Coach House

Property: Mary Cards Coach House
Address: 1498 Mt Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mary Cards Coach House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mary Cards Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Cards Coach House Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing