We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing this is Closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe with a Vue - CLOSED

Cafe with a Vue
Cuisines: Australian
Description: Olinda Golf Course Cafe with a Vue
Restaurant details
Description: Olinda Golf Course Cafe with a Vue
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing this is Closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Well we took a walk from where we were staying to have a cuppa and tried to find this place that has a good rating.

Alas this place is closed by parks Victoria.

Looks like it has been for ages.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome view and great devonshire tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

$13.50 gets you a delightful dev tea. Nice big home made scones and so important real cream and strawb jam and heaps of both so important for a great dev tea. The cappuccino with it was nice too and piping hot which i always appreciate. I. cannot stand lukewarm coffee! The view is fab times 10. The place is tucked away next to the olinda golf course but is well worth finding as it beats all other places hands down i havent tried their other food but if as good as their scones then u are in for a treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shez177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome.e scones and view to die for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Had devonshire tea here in sept $13:50 the scones are amazing & heaps of fresh jam & cream with them. A super view and being so cold outside it was great that the place was toasty warm. Service was a bit slow but redeemed by the great scones!! 9:5/10

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shez177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kallista, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place for Locals to go for a feed in the Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have been living now in the hills for 12 years and have eaten everywhere. Now whilst there are great restaurants and cafe's around they are mostly focussed on tourists and located on a busy noisy road in a busy town etc. I used to simply not go out during the day to eat on the weekends up here because of having to negotiate the tourists, find parking and listen to all the traffic... until I found Cafe with a Vue. This cafe is at the golf course in Olinda just outside the town and has the best atmosphere I could want. Its roomy has views overlooking the golf course and is off the road so you don't see or hear any traffic. In fact when you are in the cafe you don't see any other buildings at all. The food is terrific I think the owner who is also the cook described it as farmhouse style. Anyway it is definetly homemade - you can taste it and a bowl of soup with bread is just $10. But what grabs me is the approach - they are there for the locals, for the community and I mean really community minded. Tourists are welcome don't get me wrong but after speaking with the owner now on several occasions I am convinced they are not going to sell out and that she is in it for quality and freshness I mean she bakes the scones daily and they are magnificent. So if you want to go somewhere that's quiet and GREAT value for money go there...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olinda, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast with the kids, generous meal size with extras and friendly too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Cafe with a vue is at the Olinda Golf Course. We were looking for somewhere for breakfast, but didn't want to pay a fortune at the 'tourist' places in Olinda so we thought we'd give Cafe with a Vue a go. We are so glad we did! We found a new favourite local place with good prices, generous serves and really friendly service. In fact the owner came out with an additional plate of toast and some extra bacon for us as well. We had a great meal. Nice slow combustion fireplace heats the place and creates nice atmosphere along with a few other old artefacts like Arnott Biscuit tins and other antiques. The rest of the restaraunt is a bit old, looks like the 70's, but what the hey when it is more than balanced out with great and generous service. Go visit and enjoy the outlook and the food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe with a Vue also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing